Print Print

Bars for people with food allergies

Posted on August 14th, 2007 by Alison Read 8 Comments - Add Your Own »

larabarcherry.jpgEnergy bars, nutrition bars, granola bars, trail bars – everyone is crazy about bars! They are a great on-the-go snack for adults and kids, but what about people with gluten intolerance and/or food allergies? Many energy bars contain wheat flour, commercial oats or barley malt, so they are not gluten-free. Many contain nuts, peanuts, dairy, soy, or even egg, making them off-limits for people with these allergies. Instead of wading through the bar world on your own, let me help you! Here are some gluten-free bars, that are free of other allergens as well:

  • LaraBars – a blend of unsweetened fruits, nuts and spices
    • “LÄRABAR is completely gluten-free, which we confirm with Gliadin testing. Our packaging bears the CSA Celiac approved gluten-free symbol. LÄRABAR is gluten, dairy, soy and corn free. LÄRABAR is also peanut free and produced in a peanut-free facility. However, we cannot guarantee that our ingredients have not come in contact with peanuts prior to reaching our manufacturing facility.”
  • Aunt Candice Protein Bars – soft, dense, moist and chewy
    • “Our products are gluten and casein free and also soy, corn, peanut and yeast free.”
  • Oskri Organics Sesame Bars – crunchy and sweet, almost like candy, with either date syrup or molasses
    • “Our Sesame Bars are absolutely gluten free.”
  • Nature’s Path Envirokidz Crispy Rice Bars – light and crispy
    • “May contain traces of peanuts, tree nuts, soy, or dairy ingredients.” Be aware that each flavor actually contains some of these allergens, not just traces, so read the labels thoroughly.
  • NoNuttin’ Granola Bars – yes, that’s right, a real granola bar – with gluten-free oats!
  • Gorge Delights Pear Bars – all fruit
    • wheat, dairy, nut & gluten free”
  • Glutino Breakfast Bars – cereal crust on the outside and chewy fruit filling
    • “May Contain: Traces of peanuts, tree nuts and soy.”
  • Enjoy Life Snack Bars – dense and chewy
    • “no gluten, no wheat, no dairy, no peanuts, no tree nuts, no egg, no soy, no fish, no shellfish, no casein, no potato, no sesame, no sulfites, made with care in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free bakery.”

Is there a bar that is free of common allergens that you would recommend to others? Post your comments here.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments

  1. Thank you, THANK YOU, for this post!

  2. Thank you for the list. As school starts up again, it’s nice to have things the kids and I can munch on as we head off to classes.

    Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

  3. I haven’t tried them, but there is also:

    http://www.allerenergy.com – another nut-free one!
    http://www.autismndi.com

    Great idea for a post, I just did one on snackable items for food allergies, gluten-free, vegan, etc. Some more info on bars may be in order! Thanks!

  4. We eat the Tiger Milk bars by the ton. Trader Joe’s sells them for 69 cents each, which is the best deal I’ve found.
    The peanut butter crunch ARE NOT gluten free.

  5. Kristin and Sheltie Girl,
    You’re welcome – I thought it was about time I figured this all out since my daughter is fascinated with bars!

    Alisa and Steph,
    Thanks for your suggestions!
    FYI for people with multiple sensitivities – the Tiger’s Milk contains milk, soy, peanuts and tree nuts.

  6. We all love the taste of these bars! Kroger’s sells them and this past week they were on sale for 10 for $10!!

  7. OOps, shows I didn’t read the post! I just saw “Larabar” at the top of the page and figured I didn’t need to read the article, cause we love Larabars! Anyway, my son is 12 and he really likes them. (he does eat healthier than most 12yo though)

  8. Yum, Larabars are good – some flavors better than others. Watch out for the occassional shell or pit fragment.

Post a Comment