Print Print

Animal cookies for the allergic child

Posted on September 26th, 2007 by Alison Read 7 Comments - Add Your Own »

kinnikritters.gifAll is quiet in my house this afternoon… ahhh. But wait — something is amiss, for I have a 3 year old, not napping, somewhere around here. I eventually find her in the pantry, where she turns to look at me with a guilty (but cute) little face. She is holding what is left of a box of animal cookies. And that is my testimonial for the KinniKritters Animal Cookies made by Kinnikinnick Foods in Canada.

Not only are they gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free and free of soy flour (they do contain soy lecithin), they are shaped like animals, as animal cookies should be, and they are tasty. I used to give her the Envirokidz Vanilla Animal Cookies (which are square by the way), and they are yummy, but contain soy flour. As I am now removing soy from her diet, I was thrilled to find KinniKritters, and even more thrilled that she loves them. She rarely even gets cookies, but at least I have these for those necessary occasions (you know — bribes).

Where to buy? If you can’t find them in a store near you, try Allergy Grocer or Glutenfree.com.

Ingredients: Sugar, pea starch, potato starch, palm fruit oil (non hydrogenated), white rice flour, tapioca starch, water, glucose, pea protein, sodium carboxy methylcellulose, vanilla flavor, salt, pea fibre, guar gum, inulin, ammonium bicarbonate(90), sodium bicarbonate, soy lecithin.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments

  1. Does Kinnikinnick bill these as soy free? My soy allergic daughter reacts to lecithin & oil.

  2. Shannon,
    No, they don’t – I will clarify that. Thanks for pointing that out.

  3. I’ve seen companies bill products as soy free (haven’t noticed it with dairy, aside from the whole “non-dairy” thing) when they actually have some form of soy. Thanks for the clarification!

  4. I am so excited! I have mourned the loss of animal crackers for my allergic son (for whom soy lecithin is not an issue), and this is great news. I have seen a lot of “inulin” lately, especially in jars of baby food, and I thought it was derived from milk. What is it, exactly?

  5. Kristin,
    Great question – I have never thought about inulin before. I looked it up on Wikipedia. It is a natural soluble fiber found in several different plants, such as chicory root, jicama and onion. It sounds like it is good for you!

  6. Oooh, I haven’t seen these yet! Thanks :)

  7. These are AMAZING – I’m the gluten free one – the mama – and I love these animal crackers – they are almost as good as the Barnums animal crackers with the animals on the package from when I was a kid!

Post a Comment