Print Print

Halloween candy for kids with food allergies (2008)

Posted on October 7th, 2008 by Alison Read 28 Comments - Add Your Own »

***Please see the new Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2009!

Ghosts and goblins? They’re not scary compared to the feeling of having your allergic child collect potentially dangerous candy on Halloween. Last year I worked through my anxiety by writing an article titled How to have an allergy-free Halloween where I shared 4 approaches for making Halloween a safe night. I included ideas like offering stickers and toys instead of candy as part of trick or treat — and if you can trick your kid into wanting something other than candy, then witch hats off to you!

smarties.jpg

This year I am writing only about candy, candy, CANDY! Let’s face it — all the mainstream candy is crap, but other kids are eating it and our kids want it too. So for one night a year, why not just let them go for it? Just make sure it is SAFE.

Here is a list of the most common Halloween candies available to make it easier for parents, teachers, neighbors, relatives and friends of children with celiac disease, gluten intolerance, and food allergies. Each candy shows if it contains wheat/gluten, dairy, soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not present in any of the candies on this list.) But please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything!

In a hurry? Check out the Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Candy Quick List!

WONKA
Company allergen statement

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

JELLY BELLY
Company allergen statement

  • Jelly Beans
    • Free of: nut, wheat/gluten, dairy, egg, soy
    • Contains: peanut-containing jelly beans produced on same equipment

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Smarties Lollies
    • Free of: peanut, nut, wheat/gluten, dairy, egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

TOOTSIE
Company allergen statement

  • Charleston Chew
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: dairy, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, dairy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble bubble gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

MARS
Company allergen statement

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: dairy, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, dairy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, dairy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

SPANGLER CANDY
Company allergen statement

  • Dum Dum Pops (regular)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nut, peanut, soy, dairy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

HERSHEY
Company allergen statement

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”dairy
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: milk
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin

WRIGLEY
Company allergen statement

  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S
Company allergen statement

On packages it states “manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast, Rain-Blo pops, Atomic Fireball, Jawbreakers, Gummi Bears, Sour Brite Crawlers, Smarties, Sweetarts, Jujufruits
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens (see package allergen statement above)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of egg, wheat, peanuts and/or tree nuts”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts, sunflower seeds, milk, soy, eggs and wheat”

JUST BORN
Company allergen statement

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

FERRARA PAN
Company allergen statement

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Looking for an alternative to the candy found in most stores? Try these brands for allergen-free chocolates and candies:

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)
Company allergen statement

  • BinGo! Divvine Cholate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, dairy, egg, soy (lecithin)

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: dairy, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Lollipops and Candy Drops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Comments

  1. This is a great list. Thank you for compiling it, complete with links to the manufacturer’s allergen info. Very helpful! Thanks!

  2. THANK YOU! My son who still eats sugar but not gluten could just kiss you. – Diane Eblin

  3. This is great, thank you so much..

  4. FYI – Brach’s will not commit to any of their candy being gluten free. While this does not necessarily mean that any of their candy has gluten in it, Jelly Belly and Target brand candy corn are truly “gluten free” options. Why support a company that is not interested in providing any certainty about its ingredients?

  5. WOW! That is a great list.

    Thank you!
    CristyM

  6. My son and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts. I was dreading starting this daunting task.

    Happy Halloween! Jane

  7. Thanks for the list! Some of these I knew but hadn’t checked on in a while. Thanks for confirming that they are still safe.

  8. thank you so much for publishing this info! It makes it easy to know what I can buy before I even go to the store. this is such awesome information for any of us who have food allergies! thank you again!

  9. Thank you so much! It is great to find a list that includes the top 8 allergens and gluten. You saved me a ton of time!

  10. Love this! Posting it to BabyCenter today!

  11. Thanks so much! This is sooo helpful!

  12. My kids were just diagnosed with dairy, gluten, and egg allergies, among others. I am SO grateful to you for giving me a way to say “yes” so some, and negotiate ‘candy for books’ for the rest.

    Thank you very much for your kind service!!

  13. Thanks for publishing this list. My children were recently diagnosed with celiac and this makes it much easier to determine which candy they can be allowed to have after trick or treating!

  14. Thank you so much! The only question/correction that I have is Wonka’s Laffy Taffy which has egg albumen listed as an ingredient. Other than that you have been a complete lifesaver!

  15. This is great information. Our family dissects the labels and websites after getting candies from Halloween, b-days, and school to make sure certain candies are peanut free. I will still be in the habit of looking at the candy labels, but this sure helps a lot. I think I may consolidate this list and give it to my son’s teacher to help her find peanut free candies for special occasions in class.

  16. This was a great help as we tried to find out if Valentine’s Day candy was alright to eat. It is important to remember, however, that ingredients and manufacturing practices are constantly changing making label checking still a must.

  17. This site has great information. My son is allergic to soy lethicin (not soy oil or soy protein)which is in a lot of candies. (we found out he was allergic on Halloween after eating candy corn) This information helped me and his teachers buy candy that won’t be a danger to him. But we still check every label

  18. This list was so helpful! being a teenager its so hard not to be able to eat candy with my friends, but now I know what ones I can eat.

  19. THANK YOU!!!
    i recently foulnd out im allergic to dairy, wheat/gluten, egg, and many fruits. Atleast i know i can have rice and various candies,thanks!

  20. Thank you for this list. My son was recently diagnosed with egg, potato, and milk allergies. Since he is two I wanted to supply people with candy that he can have, so this list is a God send for me. Thank you so much!

  21. Thank you!!!! I am going to use this on Halloween and pass it on to my son’s preschool!!

  22. Just wanted to point out Smarties in Canada are NOT gluten free. I don’t know about USA Smaties, but here they’re chocolate covered in a shell of candy. These in Canada are not gluten free, as they contain wheat flour. Great list, thank you soooooo much!

  23. Please refer to the new list that is being updated for 2010 – coming in October!

  24. Wonderful list. I did a post on just this and was glad to find your web site. I linked back to you on that post.
    http://leclaw.blogspot.com/2010/10/halloween-for-kids-with-food-allergies.html

    thanks so much for compiling this list!

  25. thank-you Alison! i have been looking for a site as good as yours! my 4 yr old boy has “anaphalactic food allergies to milk, egg & nuts…& other allergies. It is very hard everyday, managing & dealing…& yes HOPING for the best everyday of his life!-sounds like you ARE doing a great job-hang in there & here’s to us all!

  26. Thanks Marni! Good luck — it is hard, but as awareness grows, it is becoming easier.

  27. great list I think I’ll only get safe candy so anyone can eat. I’ve also toyed with the idea of tiny play doh for the younger ones but those can cause allergy reactions because of the gluten.

    So this year candy (safe candy (and vegan: in case we get stuck with leftovers so I can munch) and pencils.

    great post!!!

  28. Hershey Kisses show that they have soy (lecithin)in them.

Post a Comment