- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -

Halloween candy for kids with food allergies (2008)

Posted By Alison On Oct 7, 2008 @ In Babies & Kids,Food Allergies,Gluten Intolerance,Holidays/Special Events,Products | 28 Comments

***Please see the new Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2009!

Ghosts and goblins? They’re not scary compared to the feeling of having your allergic child collect potentially dangerous candy on Halloween. Last year I worked through my anxiety by writing an article titled How to have an allergy-free Halloween where I shared 4 approaches for making Halloween a safe night. I included ideas like offering stickers and toys instead of candy as part of trick or treat — and if you can trick your kid into wanting something other than candy, then witch hats off to you!

This year I am writing only about candy, candy, CANDY! Let’s face it — all the mainstream candy is crap, but other kids are eating it and our kids want it too. So for one night a year, why not just let them go for it? Just make sure it is SAFE.

Here is a list of the most common Halloween candies available to make it easier for parents, teachers, neighbors, relatives and friends of children with celiac disease, gluten intolerance, and food allergies. Each candy shows if it contains wheat/gluten, dairy, soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not present in any of the candies on this list.) But please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything!

In a hurry? Check out the Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Candy Quick List!

WONKA
Company allergen statement

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

JELLY BELLY
Company allergen statement

  • Jelly Beans
    • Free of: nut, wheat/gluten, dairy, egg, soy
    • Contains: peanut-containing jelly beans produced on same equipment

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Smarties Lollies
    • Free of: peanut, nut, wheat/gluten, dairy, egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

TOOTSIE
Company allergen statement

  • Charleston Chew
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: dairy, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, dairy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble bubble gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

MARS
Company allergen statement

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: dairy, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: dairy, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, dairy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, dairy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

SPANGLER CANDY
Company allergen statement

  • Dum Dum Pops (regular)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nut, peanut, soy, dairy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

HERSHEY
Company allergen statement

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”dairy
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: milk
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin

WRIGLEY
Company allergen statement

  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S
Company allergen statement

On packages it states “manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast, Rain-Blo pops, Atomic Fireball, Jawbreakers, Gummi Bears, Sour Brite Crawlers, Smarties, Sweetarts, Jujufruits
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens (see package allergen statement above)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of egg, wheat, peanuts and/or tree nuts”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts, sunflower seeds, milk, soy, eggs and wheat”

JUST BORN
Company allergen statement

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

FERRARA PAN
Company allergen statement

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Looking for an alternative to the candy found in most stores? Try these brands for allergen-free chocolates and candies:

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)
Company allergen statement

  • BinGo! Divvine Cholate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, dairy, egg, soy (lecithin)

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: dairy, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)
Company allergen statement

  • Lollipops and Candy Drops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, dairy, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Article printed from Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living: http://surefoodsliving.com

URL to article: http://surefoodsliving.com/2008/10/halloween-candy-for-kids-with-food-allergies/

Copyright © 2010 Sure Foods Living - gluten-free and allergen-free living. All rights reserved.