- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -
See’s Candies Allergy Information
Posted By Alison On Dec 21, 2008 @ In Dairy Allergy,Egg Allergy,Gluten Intolerance,Holidays/Special Events,Peanuts/Nuts Allergy,Products,Soy Allergy,Wheat Allergy | 12 Comments
When I think of the holidays, I think of See’s Candies. Every year at our big family gathering, we open the boxes of assorted chocolates and pass them around during the gift-opening frenzy. When I was little I was guilty of taking a bite of one, and if I didn’t like it, putting it back in the box — but everyone has done this, right?
When I started to be gluten-free I was wary of eating any of the candies, but now there is good news from See’s for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance! On 12/20/08, I received the following information via email regarding gluten and the top 8 allergens:
“In response to your request for information about the presence of gluten in our candies, our Quality Assurance Manager has advised that we have reformulated our products and eliminated wheat as a direct ingredient in all of our candies packed in standard boxes. Some of our packaging for our Awesome Candy Bars still lists flour (wheat) however this is no longer the case. We also do not use rye, barley, oats or malt as ingredients in our candies. Therefore, none of our Custom Mix pieces contain gluten as a direct ingredient and cross contact is no longer a possibility. This would include our Peanut Brittle, Krispys, and our Sugar Free products.
You may have noticed that we do have some products which are manufactured for us. Some of these items that do not contain gluten are our Milk Chocolate Drops, Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips, Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Foil Novelties, Sugar Sticks and Sour Chews. As we’ve noted, most of our products are gluten free.
However, we do have a few items which our Quality Assurance Department does not consider to be gluten free because of their decorations or they are produced in a facility that processes gluten. These are all decorated Creams (decoration), Springtime Truffles (decoration), Egg Nog Truffles (decoration), all Climber Canes, Puppet Canes and Candy Canes, and the 3 oz. Bordeaux, Chocolate Walnut, and Dark Raspberry Hearts (decorations). Also, all of our decorated Easter Eggs may contain gluten because of their decorations. The only decorated Easter Eggs that would not contain gluten are our 9.5 oz. decorated Rocky Road Egg and our 13.5 oz. decorated Chocolate Butter with Pecans Egg.
In addition to the information above, we wish to advise that the distilled apple cider vinegar used in our Butterscotch Lollypops and Little Pops is grain based.”
“Our Quality Assurance Department has advised us that our Dairy Free products would be:
By Dairy Free we mean no milk, milk fat, butter or cream would be used in making these products.”
“Our Quality Assurance Department has advised us that we use Soy Lecithin in all of our milk, dark, and white chocolate pieces. The only pieces that do not contain soy as a direct ingredient are:
Most of these pieces are produced in the same facility and share the same candy lines. While our kitchens are kept very clean it is possible that the pieces listed above may contain traces of soy from other pieces. The Sour Bats, Sour Bunnies, Sour Hearts and Sour Stars state they contain trace amounts of soy on their packaging however this is no longer the case for these items. They are produced in a facility that is now soy free.”
“Our Quality Assurance Department advises that the following pieces do not contain eggs or egg whites as a direct ingredient:
Lollypops & Little Pops:
All Year Novelties:
Valentine’s Day items:
Most of the candies listed above are produced in the same facility and share the same equipment as the candies that contain eggs or egg whites as a direct ingredient. Our kitchens are kept very clean, but it is impossible to guarantee that the pieces listed will not contain trace amounts of eggs. Therefore, while some items do not contain eggs as part of their recipe all of our candies may contain trace amounts of eggs.”
“In reference to your question regarding pieces without nuts, we offer the following information. We use the same machinery for some of our candy pieces and most of our candy pieces are produced in the same facility. Our kitchens are kept very clean, but it is impossible to guarantee that a small particle of a nut will not become airborne and land on a piece of candy that is not supposed to have nuts. Therefore, while some items do not contain nuts, nut oils, or nut pastes as part of their recipe all items manufactured by See’s Candies may contain traces of nuts including peanuts.
There are only a few candies that we would recommend for people who are allergic to nuts. The following pieces are produced in facilities that do not process any items that contain nuts:
“Finally, we do not use shellfish or fish as an ingredient in any of our products.”
Thank you, See’s, for taking the time to make such a list. Several other chocolate companies I called could not provide me with this information.
Article printed from Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living: http://surefoodsliving.com
URL to article: http://surefoodsliving.com/2008/12/sees-candies-allergy-information/
Copyright © 2010 Sure Foods Living - gluten-free and allergen-free living. All rights reserved.