- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -

More Chex cereals are now gluten-free (but watch out for peanuts)

Posted By Alison On Mar 16, 2009 @ In Products | 29 Comments

It was almost one year ago that I reported that Rice Chex was re-formulated to be gluten-free. Now it looks like some more gluten-free Chex cereals are coming to stores near you. Some people have found them already.

I spoke with General Mills customer service today to confirm that Corn Chex, Cinnamon Chex, Strawberry Chex, and Honey Nut Chex have also been re-formulated to be gluten-free. The General Mills representative said that if any of their cereals are gluten-free it will be clearly marked on the front and side of the box and that some cereals may be rolled out in only some parts of the country at first. UPDATE: Gluten-free versions of Chex will officially be available on June 1st. Thanks to The Gluten-Free Homemaker for this detail!

While these new cereal options are great for the gluten-free crowd, people with other food allergies beware! Strawberry Chex and Cinnamon Chex list soy, milk and peanut on their labels. Back in October of 2008 when Allergy Moms’ Gina Clowes wrote about General Mills putting peanut flour in their cereals, the Director of Consumer Affairs for General Mills responded with:

“Each variety of cereal (or any product in the grocery) should be looked at as unique. Rice Chex cereal is made in a facility that does not process peanut ingredients and is, therefore, not labeled as containing peanuts. It is also gluten-free. The Strawberry Chex cereal, while containing Rce Chex cereal as a component, is blended in a facility that also processes products that contain peanut flour. Even though we don’t use peanut as ingredient in Strawberry Chex, we include it on the ingredient list due to the possibility of cross contamination and the severity of peanut allergies. We then highlight peanut as an allergen in bold print at the end of the ingredient information on the package.

My point was, you can confidently continue to enjoy Chex cereal varieties, and others, that do not list peanuts as an allergen on the package. If there is any chance of peanut ingredients being in the package, we will label it accordingly. With all food products, we urge people with food allergies to always read the ingredient label to check for the presence of ingredients that should be avoided.”


Article printed from Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living: http://surefoodsliving.com

URL to article: http://surefoodsliving.com/2009/03/more-chex-cereals-are-now-gluten-free-but-watch-out-for-peanuts/

Copyright © 2010 Sure Foods Living - gluten-free and allergen-free living. All rights reserved.