Print Print

Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison Read 65 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweenwitch1THE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST:
Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy List 2010

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! It’s that time of year again — the decorations are starting to appear, the scary costumes are peering out of store windows, and my children are already excited and talking about the candy they get to eat. Halloween is coming, but don’t get spooked! I have made things easy for you again this year with a list of Halloween candy available, both mainstream and specialty, and their gluten-free and allergen-free status.

Each candy shows if it contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not present in any of the candies on this list.) Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List
Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts
    • Contains: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin, “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Free of: none of top 8!
    • Contains: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil, “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen Statement (via web Oct 09): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin. We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.
Gluten Statement: Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs
  • Rain-Blo Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts
  • Atomic Fireball
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits

    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Smarties
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sweetarts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein
  • Now and Later regular
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk, eggs
    • Contains: soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil, on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

FERRARA PAN

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Do you process and pack products that contain allergens? We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), manufactured on the same equipment that manufactures almonds”
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mounds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin
  • Reese’s
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: soy, peanuts, milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via email Oct 09): Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free and OU kosher. There are no eggs, fish or shellfish. Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor. Otherwise no soy products. Some packages still on the market will carry an allergy statement “made in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts”.  The company no longer processes peanuts but some packages may remain in retail. It’s best the check the package to be sure. Also one new collection of flavors Jelly Belly SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are your candies gluten-free? The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • 3 Musketeers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way
    • Free of: tree nuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Twix
    • Free of: tree nuts, eggs, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, “may contain peanuts”
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Contains: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): read their policy on allergen labeling

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Crunch
    • Free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt), “made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Raisinets
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, “made on equipment that also processes peanuts”
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein, “made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy (see note below)

Allergen Info: *A note about soy. Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction.  Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk.  Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products.  Please check the back panel for country of origin.

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Charms Flat Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots, including Bat Dots, Candy Corn Dots and Ghost Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Mints Inside Outs:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), contains milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Babies Caramel Apple:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, contains egg
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

    Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

Here is a list of natural and specialty candy companies – great for kids with food allergies!

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Our products are only made from DAIRY FREE and TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our products so there is no chance for cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): This product does not contain the following eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, egg-free, and sesame-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Lollipops, Cotton Candy, Hard Candies, Chocolate Meltdowns
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At Pure Fun™, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure Fun™ is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure Fun™ brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge and candy corn all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are any of the major allergens, including peanuts or tree nuts, used in your product?  No, plus our plant does not produce anything
with tree-nuts or peanuts. YummyEarth’s organic lollipops and drops are enjoyed by corn sensitive people around the world.

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.

Comments

  1. Thanks so much for this info, Alison! I love that it covers all the allergens, not just gluten. I’ll pass the info along to my group. ;-)

    Shirley

  2. Special thanks to both you and Sheila for all you do for us and once more thanks for the goody bag that I won.
    This is a great list. I’m sure we’ll all use it from time to time.
    Patsy

  3. This is an incredible list – thank you so much for doing all this research! Many of my clients will benefit from this!

  4. Thank you so much for compiling this extensive list. I do homeday care, and have a child with egg allergies. I also teach Sunday school and have a child with egg allergies. It is really hard for me to give trearts for fear of egg content. Now I can be at ease!

  5. Some of the Pure Fun Candies may not be considered nut free by some, some are made in a seperate room, but same building as nuts

  6. Hi,

    We have been giving out Divvies to ALL trick or treaters because their BingGo Chocolate Bars are the most special and taste the best. Our neighborhood is THE HOTSPOT at Halloween, and our home always gets the BEST HOUSE for trick or treating award ever since we starting giving away Divvies!

    Allie

  7. This list was a smiley on a gloomy difficult day! Thank you for your expert advice. As a celiac I hang onto the lists and share what info I can. My daughter teaches special ed so I make sure it is available to any children who have intolerances. Dee

  8. Thank you for all of your hard work. This time of year so many people try to avoid going out because they think they can’t eat anything. You have given them a resource that will help them in years to come. I am posting your list on familyfoodies.com and linking to your complete list. Family Foodies has never had a GF writer before and I am interning so I want their entire community to be aware of the resources available. Sure Foods Living is definately on that list!

  9. This list is very confusing – in the description of what it is free of it will say gluten – then it will say it contains wheat.

    I had posted a link to this site on my site but will remove it because I do not want to confuse my forum members.

  10. JP,
    Point taken – I changed the title of this post to include the word “status” so as not to mislead that this entire list is gluten-free. For a gluten-free list, you can consult the Quick List. I apologize for any confusion.

  11. Bless you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. When you list candy bars, such as Snickers, for example, are you referring to the full size or Halloween fun size? I have read that ingredients and gluten content can differ.

    Thanks for pulling this together. It’s a great reference/starting point…

  13. Wendy,
    I checked what is in the stores now for Halloween, so most of what I checked are the minis. I am not aware of any on this list that have different ingredients in full size vs. mini size (although I too have heard this). If anyone knows of a specific example, please let me know!

  14. Wendy,
    You are correct that the ingredients and gluten content can be different in the same product but in different sizes. This all comes down to where the said product was produced, because larger manufacturers have several facilities around the world.

    Alison,
    I hate to rain on your parade (because I do understand the time and devotion it takes to compile lists like this), but Hershey’s not only won’t list non-wheat sources of gluten on their labels, but also do not consider them a top allergen & therefore do not apply top allergen protocol to avoid cross-contamination of these into their products.

    My friend and I have created a resource where celiacs and gluten-free consumers can find the most reliable and up-to-date ‘gluten free’ product information. Starting in November 2009 we will come out with a product list of over 15,000 products sold in the USA or in Canada. Check out http://www.myglutenFacts.com top learn more.

  15. Alison:

    Thanks for a great list, and thanks for including our Boom Choco Boom chocolate bars on the list. We really appreciate it, and look forward to everyone being bale to have a safe, and Happy Halloween.

    Enjoy Life Team

  16. Josh,
    Don’t worry… you’re not raining on my parade. Thousands of people have found this list to be a helpful starting point to beginning their Halloween planning.

    If you could provide real examples of the large vs. the minis where one contains gluten and one does not that would be more helpful.

    Also, I have confirmed yet again with Hershey that if there is a gluten-containing ingredient, it will be listed clearly on the label. I personally verified the products I have listed by reading the labels myself. In addition, Hershey provided me with a partial list of products that they confirm are gluten-free right now. This does not mean that the others are not — one has to read the label to check on the others (which I did). The partial gluten-free list provided by Hershey is:
    Plain Milk Chocolate Kisses
    Plain Milk Chocolate Bar
    Plain Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds
    Jolly Rancher hard candies and lollies
    York Peppermint Patty

    At least you got to plug your website!

  17. Enjoy Life Team,
    I think your bars are great! Thanks for all that do for the allergy community!

  18. This is an awesome list! Thanks so much!

  19. Hi Alison,

    When it comes to different gluten statuses for different sizes it’s not only a matter of one format having gluten and the other not, there are also other ‘gluten statuses’ that are equally important. For example, one of the grocers in my region, like most grocers, has its own private label line of products. Different sizes of the ‘same’ peanut butter are manufactured by different suppliers and therefore produced under different conditions. Only the bar code can differentiate between the format made in a gluten free facility and the one made on shared equipment.

    There are hundreds of examples like this throughout grocery store shelves. I prefer not listing such examples on a blog since it would make it difficult to update the information when it changes.

    For an example of different sizes of the ‘same’ product with & without gluten, contact Heinz USA and Heinz Canada and ask them for their allergen information on Worcestershire sauces. I bring up a cross border example because travel between the USA and Canada is very common, and a lot of people wouldn’t think twice that the bottle of Worcestershire sauce used on the opposite side of the border is not the same sauce used back home, even though the bottle is the same.

    As for Hershey’s, ask them the following question: If the artificial flavoring used in their product were to change to include malt, would you see a difference on the label? I think the answer may surprise you.

    For years Hershey’s telephone reps have been providing this partial list to consumers over the phone, yet never in writing… did you ever stop to ask why?

    Also, considering that there are other products that do contain gluten manufactured at the same facility, wouldn’t it be necessary that Hershey’s consider all sources of gluten (not just wheat) as top allergens to minimize the risk of cross contamination before we advise GF dieters that these products are safe to eat?

    My website aside, I really enjoy chatting about the gluten free industry and searching for all of the gluten facts. Feel free to drop me a line whenever.

    Have a happy and safe Halloween!

  20. This list is great but you have Smarties listed as GF….not sure about how they make them in the US but in Canada, the label VERY CLEARLY says “Wheat Flour.”

  21. I know this takes alot of time to compile and THANKS! Would you be willing to make a candy list for all of the holidays? My daughter is super sensitve to gluten and the last comprehensive GF candy list that we have is from 2007. Again…thanks for all of your hard work.

  22. Hi Alison,
    I have an online store and have three more manufacturers for your readers to check out: Cookies..for Me?, Glee Gum and Candy Tree. I put together a list of them on my website: http://www.allergiesandme.com/Halloween-Treats.
    Thanks for taking the time to make this list, it is very helpful to everyone. Happy Halloween!
    Jamie Stern
    Owner, Allergiesandme.com

  23. Mars Milky Way Dark does not contain malt like the regular Milky Way so it can be added to your GF candy list.

  24. Suzanne,
    Smarties in the US and Canada are different candies. This list is for US candy only.

  25. Josh,
    I’m not debating that products can be different — just looking for a concrete candy example. People aren’t coming here to look for info about Canadian Worcestershire sauce right now!

  26. Thanks this is so helpful :)

  27. A HUGE thank you for putting all this information together! My daughter has allergies to Gluten, wheat, eggs, peanuts, soy and milk so I was panicing a bit wondering what she could have at Halloween time. This is a great help!

    Thanks again!

  28. Lee,
    Really? I think the malt is in the filling of Milky Way – I will have to check on that. Thanks.

  29. Alison,

    I have seen that Hershey’s full size chocolate bar is peanut free, yet the minis throughout the year and especially during the holidays usually say “processed on the same equipment as peanuts”. Not sure about the other candies. thanks for the list!!!!

    Kristin D.

  30. What a great list! Thank you so much. It my daughters first Halloween where she can eat candy but hse’s allergic to eggs. This was a great help.

  31. US Smarties really GF???…..ROAD TRIP coming up!!!!!

  32. Thank you, thank you, thank you for creating this list. It was our “go to” this Halloween and it has been a success!!

  33. Thank you so much for putting this list together. I can appreciate how much work you put into this, and it is greatly appreciated by this Mama of a gluten and casein free child.

    Again, thank you.

  34. Very helpful candy list!!!!
    But, I am fairly sure that Tootsie rolls and Tootsie pops are cross contaminated with egg and egg may be present—sometimes it says on their labels but sometimes not. But best to avoid, in my opinion.

  35. Thank you for this information! This is our first Halloween for my son and I to be gluten free and for me being dairy free also. Your list is such a relief because there were a few things I wasn’t sure of! Thanks again!

  36. This is an incredible list. I wish I had found it sooner, but at least my son can have a more robust list of choices. I am currently writing a book on food allergies so this list is very helpful. Thank you!

  37. I can’t thank you enough for this list and my daughter will be so thrilled! She’s had severe food allergies since birth and we now have some new “safe” stuff to add to our food list :)

  38. Thank you so much for such a complete list! It was a great resource for my celiac and allergic children!

  39. Thank you for such a great list! My 2 year old has milk, nut, and soy allergies and I was so glad to find your list tonight! I now know what candy he can taste! You just made my Halloween!

  40. Hi I noticed on your list under the catergory Jelly Belly that you do not have the buttered popcorn flavour as not edible for celiac’s. It is the one flavour that we can not eat. Thanks for this list. It is awesome for us to refer too. I was just diagnosed two months ago and it is nice to be able to have a go too list like this.

  41. Thank you so much for this valuable information!

  42. I have a grandson who is alergic to wheat, soy, dairy, eggs, and peanuts. I have not been able to find a safe brand of corn starch. Can you, please, direct me?

    Thank you very much!

    Arlene

  43. Arlene,
    There shouldn’t be any problem with cornstarch. Have you found an unsafe brand? I am not aware of any that are not considered safe.

  44. You forgot Sixlets candies and Whoppers. They are peanut free.

  45. Thank you so much for compiling this list. It has been EXTREMELY helpful to me in providing my child’s school safe candy options.

  46. I don’t know what Sixlets are, but Whoppers are not gluten-free — I only include gluten-free foods on this website! But good info for others looking for just peanut-free — thanks.

  47. wonderful list! thanks so much! will there be a 2010 “update” list???

    thanks!!

  48. Yes, there will be a 2010 list coming soon!

  49. great, cant wait! thanks!!!!!!

  50. Thanks for this list!! My 3 year old was at the movies with dad today and was eating chewy mini sweet tarts. Who knew they had egg!?!? He promptly vomited all over himself, dad and surrounding area. LESSON LEARNED!! Will be referencing this list with Halloween a week away. THANKS!!

  51. This Website is amazing! i want to know which candies and sweets i can have becasue of celiac. thanks <3

  52. thank -you ! i have Celiac disease which is gluten allergy . now i know what i can/can’t have !!!

  53. alicia anop – isn’t it hard sometimes? this makes it easier!! i get sad when i see people eat wheat , and if you think you can’t eat at mc.Donald’s you can !!! you can’t eat cinnabon , icecream cones , but you can have Sundaes !!! for burgers you just don’t have the bun ! And you can’t have nuggets , but you can have fries !!!!
    Ask for more questions if you have Celiac .

  54. Thank you so much for this information.

  55. Thank you so much for taking the time to compile this list. My son will be soooo excited when he finds out about all of the “yummies” he can still eat!!!

  56. Thank you very much for this! It is especially helpful that you differentiated between soy lecithin and soybean oil in the list, as I cannot have the oil, but can have lecithin in small amounts.

    Cheers!!
    Anna

  57. I was double-checking a gum to see if it was made at a nut facility for my 1st grade daughter who has a peanut allergy & your website came up. I love your website!

  58. Hi Becky! Great to see you here! Thanks for the compliment. I will be publishing a list for this year too.

  59. Thank you!

  60. Alison, you are amazing! I’ve been gluten free for a few months now. (Should have been for years, but recently actually switched my diet.) I love, love, love sweets. I have found it hard to read all of the labels because they aren’t always clear. (Like when ‘various spices’ is listed in the ingredients. Why can’t they just list all that were used separately!?!) This is a very dangerous list for me! I’m in 7th heaven now!!

    Sarah M.

  61. great website…
    re: please confirm with the Hershey company… i am under the impression that several of their candy bars/kisses which used to have vanilla listed, now list vanillin – which is sourced from wheat.

    thanks

  62. Great List. Manufacturing plants change, but this is a great guide. I do think it’s better to just avoid the tootsie rolls and Hershey’s minis for my daughter due to the egg and nut warnings people have mentioned above. I saw something that agreed with them but I don’t have the sources. Still, this is a very exhaustive list and I congratulate you on putting this out there. It made sorting my daughter’s Halloween candy very quick this year instead of going to each company I was unsure of like I did last year. (That may have been when I saw those other warnings.)

  63. Wow you have done a great amount of work and it is greatly appreciated as I too have kids who are allergic to milk and are celiac. I have noticed a few changes have taken place with Wonka and I am unclear about Smarties.
    Thank you very much for all of your hard work.
    Michelle

    Just reasonably they now process Wonka candy in a plant that processes Wheat and Milk and are labelled as may contain traces of. Just thought I would let you know. Thanks

    WONKA
    • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    o Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    o Contains: None of top 8 allergens
    • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    o Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    o Contains: egg
    • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    o Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    o Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew

    If I am not mistaken Smarties are made with Milk Chocolate? Are these a different Smarties? Thank you
    • Smarties
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

  64. Michelle,
    Smarties in Canada are different than the ones in the U.S. My list is for the U.S. only.

  65. The rest of the time. I am blessed It’s stable, likely benign, and truly started letting my nutrition slip even more. I even made pancakes a few weeks on low carb Dieting For Dummies. All carbonated alcoholic beverages, including beer and champagne should be avoided or limited. The glycemic index should be a handful and vegetables and meat should be balanced.

Post a Comment