- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -

Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2010

Posted By Alison On Oct 3, 2010 @ In Celiac Disease,Dairy Allergy,Egg Allergy,Food Allergies,Gluten Intolerance,Holidays/Special Events,Peanuts/Nuts Allergy,Products,Wheat Allergy | 73 Comments

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011

Here’s the list you’ve been looking for… but first, you get to see the giant spider I made in my yard last year for Halloween! The Home Depot guys cutting the black pipe to my specifications thought I was crazy! The spider is coming out again this year with some modifications (furry perhaps?)

Now on to the candy…

Each candy shows if its ingredients contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen. I called many of the manufacturers and/or checked their websites for gluten and allergen information,which I have noted at the end of each manufacturer’s section. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work!

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
    • Ingredients contain: no top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Packaged in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars and Airheads Bars Sour
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, wheat starch
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

AMERICAN LICORICE CO.

  • Sour Punch Twists
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Ingredients free of: none of top 8!
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”
  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2010): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.

CADBURY ADAMS (now part of Kraft Foods)

  • Swedish Fish
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2010): If there is gluten in a product, it will not be hidden and the words wheat, barley, rye or oats will be called out on the label.

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties (only USA, not Canada), Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Note: Smarties refers to the US brand, not the Canadian Smarties

Allergen Statement (via web Sept 2010): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin. We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.
Gluten Statement: Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers

    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes

    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Now and Later regular
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin and oil)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing eggs.”
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Heide candies — Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Cool Grape, Red Raspberry Dollars, Wild Cherry
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2010):
The following Farley’s and Sathers candies contain gluten: Malted Milk Balls , Bridge Mix, Caramel Creams, Red Laces, Red Twists, Black and Red Bites.

(via web Sept 2010): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

FERRARA PAN

  • Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement on Red Hots: “These products were manufactured in a facility where peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): Do you process and pack products that contain allergens? We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.” This is a product of China.
  • Gummy Body Parts
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.” This is a product of China.

GOETZE’S

  • Caramel Creams

    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soybean oil, milk

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat, Halloween Kit Kat
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts”
  • Twizzlers
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soy lecithin
  • Whoppers
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds”
  • Milk Chocolate Bars with Almonds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes peanuts”
  • Milk Duds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Ingredients free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Almond Joy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Baby Ruth
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Jolly Rancher Doubles, Pops and Mini-Stix
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Reese’s
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Take 5
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, peanuts, milk, soybean oil and lecithin
  • Pay Day
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy, egg
  • York Peppermint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, egg, soy lecithin
  • Cookies ‘n’ Creme
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, wheat/gluten, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds.”

Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2010):
If there is gluten in the ingredients, including wheat, rye, oat, barley or malt, it will be listed on the ingredient label.

Allergen Info (via phone recording and web  Sept 2010):
How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

IMPACT CONFECTIONS

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes

    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy

    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “Deproteinized soybean oil”
    • Package statement: “WARNING: Eating multiple pieces within a short time period may cause a temporary irritation to sensitive tongues and mouths.”

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2010):
All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
We work very closely with all of our ingredient suppliers to ensure that all ingredients are free of dairy.

Please continue to carefully check all ingredient statements on packages and bulk bins for peanut ingredients.  We discontinued Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly beans (this flavor contained peanut butter and peanut flour) however, it is possible this flavor may still be included in packages sold in retail stores until inventories are depleted.

None of the other flavors of Jelly Belly beans contain peanuts as an ingredient.  We no longer process peanuts in our manufacturing plants.

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Peeps Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and coconut. Gluten-free.”

Gluten-Free Info (via phone Sept 2010):
All of our candies are gluten-free. The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
Do your candies contain any of the top 8 allergens? (Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy, Wheat)? Because product formulations can change at any time, we encourage consumers to refer to our package labels for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.  We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA on our label.  Moreover, we voluntarily add advisory statements to our packages to alert consumers to potential cross contamination risk.

KELLOGG’S

  • Rice Krispies Treats Mini Squares

    • Ingredients free of: wheat, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soybean oil and lecithin

MARS

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain almonds”
  • Snickers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, egg, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
    • Package statement: “May contain almonds”
  • 3 Musketeers and 3 Musketeers Mint
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Dove Milk Chocolate and Dove Dark Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Dove Peanut Butter
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain tree nuts”
  • Twix
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”

Gluten-Free Info (via phone recording Sept 2010): The following products do not contain gluten: All M&Ms products with the exception of M&Ms pretzels, all Milky Way products with the exception of Milky Way Bar, Snickers and Snickers Dark Bars, all Dove chocolate products, Munch Bar.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): read their policy on allergen labeling

NECCO

  • SkyBar Twilight Saga Chocolate Truffle Heart
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Processed on equipment which also processes eggs, peanuts and tree nuts.”
  • SkyBar Twilight Saga Peanut Butter Wolf
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Processed on equipment which also processes eggs and tree nuts.”
  • SkyBar Twilight Saga Caramel Cullen Medallion
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Processed on equipment which also processes eggs, peanuts and tree nuts.”
  • Mary Janes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk and eggs.”
  • Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses (orange wrapper like taffy with no ingredients)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk and eggs.”
  • Wafers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2010):
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: Necco Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix. In addition, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, ULTRAMINTS are also gluten free.

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Butterfinger Crisp
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Butterfinger Snackerz
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes nuts (hazelnut) and egg.”
  • Crunch
    • Ingredients free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt)
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • 100 Grand
    • Ingredients free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, eggs and soy.”
  • Raisinets
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts”
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soybean oil and soy lecithin

PEARSON’S

  • Mint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean lecithin and soy protein
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that processes peanuts and milk containing products.”

POPCORN EXPRESSIONS

  • Kettle Corn Snack Bags
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Produced in a facility that uses peanuts, almonds, pecans, cashews, walnuts and milk.”

R.M. PALMER COMPANY

  • Palmer Tricky Treats — Googly Eyes, Boneheads, Pumpkin Patch
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Creepy Peepers (white wrapped balls that look like eyeballs with various colors of eyes and red veins — no ingredients listed on individual pieces)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Cookies n’ Scream (orange, black and green wrapped chocolate with screaming skeleton faces on them — no ingredients listed on individual pieces)
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Peppermint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Double Crisp Tombstone Treats
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”

View all Palmer Halloween treats.

RIVIERA

  • Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of the top 8 allergens

RUSSELL STOVER

  • Marshmallow Pumpkin, Orange Marshmallow Pumpkin, Marshmallow Football
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.”
  • Coconut Cream Pumpkin
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, egg
    • Package statement: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.”

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes, Shrek Ogreheads
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy (see note below)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):

We have contacted our suppliers on the ingredients we use, including sugar, corn syrup, citric, malic, lactic acid, ascorbic acid, artificial flavors & colors, starch, release agents, and processing aids. These products do not contain the gluten protein that causes a problem for people with Celiac Sprue.

*A note about soy. Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction. Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk. Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products. Please check the back panel for country of origin.

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and lecithin, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops, Sweet Pops, Zip-A-Dee Mini Pops, Fluffy Stuff Pops, Flat Pops, Mini-Pops
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and soy lecithin
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil
  • Junior Mints:
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soy protein, “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soy protein, milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum, Tear Jerker Sour Bubble Gum
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Cry Baby Sour Gumballs, Dubble Bubble Twist Wrap, Assorted Gumballs
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies and Sugar Mama:
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
  • Caramel Apple Pops:
    • Ingredients free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and lecithin

    Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2010): At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts.

    Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Skittles, Skittle Sour and Skittle Crazy Cores
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular and Sweet and Sour
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2010): None of the above products contain gluten or the top 8 allergens (except for soy lecithin in gum) and there is no cross contact with the top 8 allergens, except for Altoids Dark Chocolate Dipped Mints, which contains a warning for nuts and wheat.

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Runts, Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds, Spree
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Sweetarts)
  • Chewy Runts, Chewy Gobstopper, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Chewy Tart N Tiny, Chewy Spree
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: egg
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Giant Chewy Sweetarts)
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil and lecithin
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs
    • Ingredients free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes milk.” (Gummy Bugs)
  • Giant Chewy Nerds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts, milk, wheat and soy.”

Allergen Info (via email Sept 2010):
All of our Wonka® Exceptional Chocolates do not contain gluten , however they are made on shared equipment.

Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens, such as gluten, are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by its common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

Here is a list of natural and specialty candy companies – great for kids with food allergies!

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)

    Note: last day to order Halloween items is October 22.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): All of our products (chocolate and non-chocolate) are dairy-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, egg-free, gluten-free and sesame-free. Our suppliers have certifications from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) stating that their
facilities are dairy-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, egg-free, gluten-free and sesame-free.
There are no other products in our facility, so there is NO chance for any cross contamination from any other food allergens. Our chocolate contains soy lecithin, however, the soy protein has been removed.

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
This product does not contain the top eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Ingredients free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

CRISPY CAT

  • Mint Coconut Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)
  • Toasted Almond Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Chocolate Marshmallow Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, egg-free, and sesame-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

    Allergen info (via web Sept 2010): Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

INDIE CANDY (www.indiecandy.com)

  • Halloween Chocolate Lollipops, Halloween Crystal Lollipops, Halloween Gummies
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

    Allergen info (via web Sept 2010): Our in house artisan candies are free of Big 8 allergens: peanuts, treenuts, wheat, soy, dairy, fish and shellfish. There are no Big 8 allergens in the kitchen at all.

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Halloween Pure Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Ingredient statement: “Manufactured in a segregated area of a facility that may product products containing nuts.”

    Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): At Pure Fun™, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure Fun™ is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure Fun™ brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Ingredients free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge and candy corn all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are any of the major allergens, including peanuts or tree nuts, used in your product? No, plus our plant does not produce anything
with tree-nuts or peanuts. YummyEarth’s organic lollipops and drops are enjoyed by corn sensitive people around the world.

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Article printed from Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living: http://surefoodsliving.com

URL to article: http://surefoodsliving.com/2010/10/halloween-candy-list-gluten-free-allergen-free-status-2010/

Copyright © 2010 Sure Foods Living - gluten-free and allergen-free living. All rights reserved.