Print Print

Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011

Posted on October 4th, 2011 by Alison Read 40 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 GUIDE.

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! I’ve updated the list to reflect ingredient changes, current manufacturers statements by web/phone, and I added some phone numbers so you don’t have to search them yourself if you have a question.

witchywoman21Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen.  To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Need a short list? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, wheat starch

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads Bars do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.

AMERICAN LICORICE CO. (located in Union City, CA 866-442-2783)

  • Sour Punch Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws, Sip n Chews
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Red Vines – all varieties, including Black, Natural and Fruit Vines
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): American Licorice products do not contain peanuts, tree nuts or sesame and peanut oil is not used in the manufacture any of our products. Red Vines® products do not contain peanuts. Peanut and/or peanut oil is not used to manufacture any of our products.

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

  • Kettle Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Certified gluten-free”

 

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts.”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2011): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.

BAZOOKA (located in New York, NY 800-489-9149)

  • Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

CE DE CANDY (located in New Jersey 908-964-0660)

  • Smarties (only USA, not Canada), Giant Smarties, Mega Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops, Giant Smarties Pops, Candy Necklance
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Note: Smarties refers to the US brand, not the Canadian Smarties

Allergen Statement (via web Sept 2011): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from most of the known allergens, except Bubble Gum Smarties®, which contain soy lecithin. All products are free of milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts and wheat. Smarties® products are safe to eat for kids with peanut allergies.

We sell our products to different “re-baggers” as well as various retail outlets. A re-bagger buys products from many different companies and puts them in their own packaging. Only these re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, or other known allergens. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities, and the allergen information on this page applies to that product. Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free, and that product is safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS (located in Minnesota 888-247-9855)

  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn(not flavored candy corns – see below)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy may be present in the manufacturing or packaging area.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy may be present in the manufacturing or packaging area.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy may be present in the manufacturing or packaging area.”
  • Brach’s Indian Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy may be present in the manufacturing or packaging area.”
  • Flooders
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Heide candies – Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Red Raspberry Dollars, Red Hot Dollars Wild Cherry, Heide Gummi Bears
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Now and Later regular
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin and oil)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing eggs.”
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Rain-Blo Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2011): Farleys & Sathers thoroughly cleans the lines in between each run of each type of candy. For example, they wouldn’t clean in between candy corn and mellowcremes because they are the same type of candy, but they would clean before making the next type, like something with chocolate or nuts.

FERRARA PAN (located in Illinois 708-366-0500)

  • Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement on Red Hots: “These products were manufactured in a facility where peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures.

The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

FLIX (located in Niles, ILL 847-647-1370)

  • Disney Lollipop Rings
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY (800-735-4979 x224)

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.” This is a product of China.
  • Marvel Super Hero Candy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement on some: “Made in a facility that processes soy.”

GALERIE (located in Hebron, KY 859-538-8500)

  • Star Wars Lollipops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin

Allergen Info (via web Oct 11): As is the case with most food products, there is a potential for the presence of allergens, including, but not limited to: dairy, gluten, and nuts. This information is always called out on all of our products in the nutritional and ingredient information area. For more information, please contact Customer Service at 859.538.8500 or customerservice@galerieusa.com.

GOETZE’S

  • Caramel Creams
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soybean oil, milk

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): Goetze’s caramel products (Caramel Cream® and Cow Tales®) do NOT contain Peanuts or other tree nuts. These products are manufactured in a facility that is Nut Free. As stated on all of our current packaging, our products contain the following allergen statement as required by law. CONTAINS WHEAT, MILK AND SOY INGREDIENTS.

Please Note: While the Caramel Creams® Theater Box and the Mini Cow Tales® Theater Box are manufactured and individually wrapped and sealed in a Nut Free facility, the packages may on occasion, be inserted into cartons in a separate facility on equipment that also packages products containing peanuts and tree nuts. Boxes are labeled appropriately, as such.

HARIBO

  • Gold-Bears
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free Info (via web Oct 2011): Most Haribo products are gluten free. The following Haribo products are NOT gluten free: Black Licorice Wheels, Red Licorice Wheels, Sour S’ghetti, Fruity Pasta, Brixx, Konfekt and Pontefract Cakes.

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Haribo products are manufactured in facilities that do not handle peanuts. Most Haribo products are casein free. The exceptions are Haribo Strawberries & Cream and Konfekt.

HERR’S (located in Nottingham, PA 610-932-9330)

  • Chocolate Mini Pretzels
    • Ingredients free of:, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts”

HERSHEY (located in Hershey, PA 800-468-1714)

  • Almond Joy
    • Ingredients free of: egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “natural flavors” which could be gluten (see company statement)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Bliss, White Chocolate Bliss
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts, gluten/wheat, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”
  • Cookies ‘n’ Creme
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, wheat/gluten, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds.”
  • Good & Fruity
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Good & Plenty
    • Ingredients free of:, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Heath Minis
    • Ingredients free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Jolly Rancher Doubles, Pops, Mini-Stix, and Fruit Chews
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Kisses Air Delight
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made on the same equipment that processes tree nuts.”
  • Kisses Almond
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, almonds
  • Kisses Pumpkin Spice
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made on the same equipment that processes peanuts.”
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds”
  • Milk Chocolate Bars with Almonds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes peanuts”
  • Milk Duds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Mounds
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean lecithin, “natural flavors” which could be gluten (see company statement)
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Pay Day
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy, egg
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Reese’s Pieces
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Reese’sFast Break Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: egg, soy lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Rolo
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Take 5
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, peanuts, milk, soybean oil and lecithin
  • Twizzlers
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • York Peppermint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, egg, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.”

Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2011):
If there is gluten in the ingredients, including wheat, rye, oats, barley or malt, it will be listed on the ingredient label. HOWEVER, if something lists “natural flavors”, it may contain gluten because they buy ingredients from other companies and it is proprietary information.

Gluten Free (via web Sept 2011) - a food bearing this claim does not does not contain the protein from a wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods. The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision.

Allergen Info (via phone recording and web  Sept 2011):
We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

Allergens (via web Sept 2011) – An allergen is food or food component that can result in an adverse reaction involving the body’s immune system. The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company ensures that the ingredient statements are accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable.

IMPACT CONFECTIONS, Littleton, CO 303-626-2222

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes, Warheads Double Drops, Grubs, Juniors, QBZ, Sour Spray, Spray with Lollipop
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “Deproteinized soybean oil”
    • Package statement: “WARNING: Eating multiple pieces within a short time period may cause a temporary irritation to sensitive tongues and mouths.”
  • Alien Pop, Baseball Pop, Basketball Pop, Boo Pop, Carousel Pop, ColorBlaster Pop, Football Pop, Happy Heart Pop, Hoppin’ Pop, Lickin’ Lips Pop, Lolliday Pop, Lollinotes, Pop-A-Bear, Soccer Pop, Alien Glow Pop, Buggin’ Glow Pop, Burstin Bits, Ghostly Glow Pop, Hot Tamales Spray, Ice Cream Dipper (Blue Raspberry, Strawberry), Mike and Ike Spray, Sidewalk Chalk, Sno-Cone, Soda Pop, Twist and Glow, Twist and Glow Heart, Twist and Glow Pumpkin, Gummy Brush Paint Shop, Lollipop Paint Shop
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
  • Bubble Gum Burstin’ Bits
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Ice Cream Dipper (Cherry Cream, Vanilla Cream)
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soybean oil, soy lecithin

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2011): Warheads candies are gluten-free and contain none of the top allergens. Ingredient List

JELLY BELLY (located in Fairfield, CA 1-800-522-3267)

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011):
All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011):
Please continue to carefully check all ingredient statements on packages and bulk bins for peanut ingredients.  We discontinued Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly beans (this flavor contained peanut butter and peanut flour) however, it is possible this flavor may still be included in packages sold in retail stores until inventories are depleted.

None of the other flavors of Jelly Belly beans contain peanuts as an ingredient.  We no longer process peanuts in our manufacturing plants.

 

JUST BORN (located in Bethlehem, PA 1-888-645-3453)

  • Hot Tamales
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • “Gluten-Free” on package
  • Mike & Ike
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • “Gluten-Free” on package
  • Peanut Chews Original and Milk Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”, “May contain milk” (see Allergen Info below)
  • Peeps Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and coconut. Gluten-free.”

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011): The modified food starch that we use in our jelly bean type candies is corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453.

Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2011):
Peeps Marshmallows now have a “may contain milk” statement because they started making chocolate-covered Peeps. According to the phone rep, the plain Peeps are made on different belts than the chocolate-covered ones, but they put the statement because they are in the same facility.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011):
Do your candies contain any of the top 8 allergens? (Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy, Wheat)? Because product formulations can change at any time, we encourage consumers to refer to our package labels for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.  We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA on our label.  Moreover, we voluntarily add advisory statements to our packages to alert consumers to potential cross contamination risk.  This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging.  Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll free at 1-888-645-3453.

KELLOGG’S (located in Battle Creek, MI 800-962-1413)

  • Rice Krispies Treats Mini Squares Original
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soybean oil and lecithin
  • Rice Krispies Treats Mini Squares Gluten Free
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and lecithin

Gluten-Free info (via phone rep Oct 2011): Even though Kellogg’s has made a gluten-free Rice Krispies, they will still have the original Rice Krispies (it is not being replaced). Same goes for the Rice Krispies Treats, so both are on the shelves depending on store and region. The cereal and treats WITH gluten are in blue packaging. The cereal and treats WITHOUT gluten are in yellow packaging.

KRAFT FOODS (including CADBURY ADAMS) 877-535-5666

  • Jet-Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Swedish Fish
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011): We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help plan their meals and diets. Therefore, it has been a long standing policy for all Kraft and Nabisco products to list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statement. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye). Other ingredients that contain gluten are: Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Mir or Farina (also known as Far or Farro).

MARS (800-551-0704)

  • 3 Musketeers and 3 Musketeers Mint
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Dove Milk Chocolate, Dove Dark Chocolate, Dove Caramel Milk Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Dove Peanut Butter
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain tree nuts”
  • M & Ms Coconut
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts, tree nuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: milk
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, almonds and wheat”
  • M & Ms Plain
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • M & Ms Mint Thrills
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts and almonds”
  • M & Ms Peanut , M & Ms Peanut Butter
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, soy, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts
    • Package statement: “May contain almonds”
  • M & Ms Pretzel
    • Ingredients free of: egg, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (wheat and barley malt), milk, soybean oil, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Simply Caramel
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain egg”
  • Snickers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, egg, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
    • Package statement: “May contain almonds”
  • Snickers Almond
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: tree nuts, milk, egg, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Twix
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”

Gluten-Free Info (via customer service rep Oct 2011): All gluten ingredients will be called out on the label.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): read their policy on allergen labeling

MELSTER, Littleton, CO 303-626-2222

  • Peanut Butter Kisses
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, gluten
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soy protein, milk
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”

Allergen info (via web Sept 2011): Ingredient List (includes other holiday candies)

 

NECCO (located in Revere, MA 781-485-4500)

  • Mary Janes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk and eggs.”
  • Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses (orange wrapper like taffy with no ingredients)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that also processes tree nuts, milk and eggs.”
  • Necco Wafers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011):
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: Necco Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix

In addition, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, ULTRAMINTS are also gluten free.

NESTLE (located in PA, 800-225-2270)

  • 100 Grand
    • Ingredients free of:tree nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, eggs and soy.”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soybean oil and soy lecithin
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Butterfinger
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Butterfinger Crisp
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Butterfinger Snackerz
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes nuts (hazelnut) and egg.”
  • Crunch
    • Ingredients free of:tree nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt)
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Kit Kat, Halloween Kit Kat, White Kit Kat
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts”
  • Raisinets
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten,tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts”

Allergen Info (via customer rep on phone Sept 2011): If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.

OAK LEAF (877.261.7887)

  • Sixlets Candy Coated Chocolate Flavored Candy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: milk
    • Package statement: “Gluten-Free. Processed in a facility that does not process nuts.”
  • Pumpkin Faces Bubble Gum, Spooky Eyes Bubble Gum, Gumballs
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Gluten-Free. Processed in a facility that does not process nuts.”

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Oak Leaf products are made in a peanut and tree nut free facility.

PEZ (located in Orange, CT 203.795.0531)

  • Pez, Pez Sourz
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy oil
    • Package statement: “Peanut, tree nut and gluten-free.”

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): PEZ Candy is tree nut, peanut & gluten free. PEZ is the only product we run on our lines. There is no chance of cross-contamination. None of the following items are used in the manufacturing of PEZ Candy:

Barley, oats, wheat, triticale and products of these
Crustaceans, shellfish, and products of these

Egg and egg products
Fish and fish products

Legumes, peas, peanuts, soybeans and products of these

Milk and milk products (lactose included), dairy

Tree nuts, poppy seeds, sesame seeds and products of these

Sulfites in concentrations of 10 ppm or more

R.M. PALMER COMPANY   (located in Reading, PA, 610 372-8971)

  • Palmer Tricky Treats – Googly Eyes, Boneheads, Pumpkin Discs
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Peanut Butter Creepy Peepers (white wrapped balls that look like eyeballs with various colors of eyes and red veins – no ingredients listed on individual pieces)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Peppermint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Double Crisp Creepy Crawlies
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”

View all Palmer Halloween treats.

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011): Our products that do NOT contain “cookies” or “crisp rice” are gluten-free. However, ALL of our products are manufactured on machinery that also manufactures products WITH gluten.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): Some of our products do contain eggs. The icing decorations that are attached to some of our hand-decorated items contain egg albumen. All of our products are produced on machinery that also processes items that contain peanuts and tree nuts.

** As with these and ALL allergen issues, it is important to read the ingredients statement on each of our products. Product packaging is constantly being updated to comply with all food nutritional and ingredients labeling regulations. Of course, we have procedures in place for our production lines to prevent any cross-contamination of our products.

WARNING via customer service rep: If you have a severe peanut or nut allergy, it is advised to not eat any R.M. Palmer candies.

RIVIERA

  • Spooky Candy Rings(eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of the top 8 allergens
  • Gummy Body Parts(fingers, noses), Creepy Meals, Halloween Gummies (Spiders, Pumpkins, Ghosts, Witches)
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: Gluten/wheat due to glucose syrup, which some packages have, but others do not
    • Package statement: “Contains wheat. Manufactured in a facility that processes eggs, milk, peanuts, soybean and tree nuts.”

RUSSELL STOVER (located in Kansas City, MO 800-777-4028)

  • Marshmallow Pumpkin, Orange Marshmallow Pumpkin, Marshmallow Football
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.”
  • Coconut Cream Pumpkin
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, egg
    • Package statement: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.”

Gluten-Free Info (via web 2011): To the best of our knowledge, our products are gluten free – with the exception of products containing cookies, such as S’mores and Cookies and Creams. These products contain a small amount of gluten, and ingredient labels indicate clearly that they contain wheat. Be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make other products. So we can’t completely rule out the possibility of cross-contamination, despite efforts to prevent it.

SPANGLER (located in Bryan, OH 419-636-4221)

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes, Shrek Ogreheads
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy (see note below)

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): We make every effort to make sure consumers can be 100%confident that our products are free of the top common allergens, including;gluten, wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish* Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. Thesoy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergicreaction. Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.**Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk. Dum Dum ChewyPops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of otherproducts. Please check the back panel for country of origin and allergen statement. The gum base used in Dum DumGum Pops is manufactured on the same equipment as products with soy.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.

2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.

3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.

4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.

5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

In today’s candy market it is a regular practice for retailers to have their own store’s private label bag (bags sold at that store only). Some of these private label bags contain Spangler lollipops and/or Circus Peanuts, due to our good quality and reputation. In most of these situations, we do not pack these items ourselves but the retailer or a customer of ours purchases and repackages our items.

These are the same quality pops that we provide in our own Spangler branded bags, but the allergen free claim may be different as these companies often package other items containing peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, wheat gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, or soy in their facilities. Trace elements of these allergens could come into contact with our items.

To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, always check the back of the item you are purchasing for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have the following identifiers:

(1) Spangler logo on the front of the bag.

(2) Graphics of bag as shown on the Spangler Candy company website at www.spanglercandy.com.

(3) Current Spangler allergen statement: “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat, soy, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.”

(4) Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.

(5) UPC code begins with “0 30800″. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.

STORCK

  • Riesen
    • Ingredients free of: tree nut, peanut, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Processed in a facility where peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds and other tree nuts are present”

 

 

TOOTSIE (located in Chicago, IL 773-838-3400)

  • Andes Crème de Menthe
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Caramel Apple Pops:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and lecithin
  • Charleston Chew(including minis)
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, soy lecithin and soy protein, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops, Sweet Pops, Zip-A-Dee Mini Pops, Fluffy Stuff Pops, Flat Pops, Mini-Pops
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum, Tear Jerker Sour Bubble Gum, Charms Blow Pop Bubble Gum, Dubble Bubble Twist, Cry Baby Sour Gumballs, Gumballs, Painterz
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: “soy may be present”
  • Junior Mints:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soy protein, “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soy protein, milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or gluten.”
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or gluten.”
  • Sugar Babies and Sugar Mama:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011): At this time, all of our confections are gluten free with the exception of Andes cookies. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.

WELCH’S (located in Concord, MA 800-340-6870)

  • Fruit Snacks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”

WRIGLEY (MARS is parent company) (located in Peoria, ILL 1-800-974-4539)

  • Altoids (except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • CremeSavers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: milk
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop, Bubble Tape
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)
  • Hubba Bubba Gummy Tape
    • Ingredients free of:, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular and Sweet and Sour
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Skittles, Skittle Sour and Skittle Crazy Cores
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Starburst
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”

Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2011): All Wrigley products are gluten-free EXCEPT for Altoids Smalls Peppermint and Hubba Bubba Gummy Tape. Both contain wheat.

Allergen Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2011): All Wrigley products are free of top 8 allergens EXCEPT: Altoids Smalls Peppermint (wheat), Hubba Bubba Gummy Tape (wheat), gum (soy lecithin), Lifesavers Hard Candy (soy lecithin in some flavors), and CremeSavers (milk). There are no peanuts, tree nuts or eggs in any products and no chance of cross-contamination. The Dark Chocolate Dipped Altoids from last year have been discontinued.

WONKA (part of Nestle) (located in PA, 800-225-2270)

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Nerds, Pixy Stix, Runts, Spree (Original), Sweetarts (regular)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes egg and wheat.” (Sweetarts, Nerds)
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Chewy Spree
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: egg
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Giant Chewy Sweetarts)
  • Laffy Taffy (Not Stretchy)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil and lecithin
  • Kazoozles
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes egg.”
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes milk.” (Gummy Bugs)
  • Giant Chewy Nerds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts, milk, wheat and soy.”

Allergen Info (via email Sept 2011):
We consider “gluten free” to mean no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. In other words, if a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as “made on equipment” or “facility that also processes wheat etc… “, we do not consider that product to be gluten free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.

At the end of this email, I have included a link to our gluten free product list. I hope that you find this list to be helpful!

Also, labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

http://nestle-consumerservices.casupport.com/eglutenfree.pdf

Allergen Info (via customer rep on phone Sept 2011): If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.

NATURAL AND ORGANIC CANDY
If you can’t find them in your stores, you can order them from NaturalCandyStore.com.

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (located in Westlake, OH 440-570-6359)(www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)

Note: last day to order Halloween items is October 24th.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): Our chocolate products are all natural and only made from DAIRY FREE, TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free! Our suppliers have certifications from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) stating that their facilities are dairy-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, egg-free, gluten-free and sesame-free. There are no other products in our facility, so there is NO chance for any cross contamination from any other food allergens.

ANNIE’S (located in Berkeley, CA 800-288-1089)

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks(Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
This product does not contain the top eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CANDY TREE

  • Twists, Lariats, Laces, Bites, Lollipops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (located in Eugene, OR 541-607-9073) (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Ingredients free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin), some contain tree nuts, peanuts

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): All products listed for sale on this website are made in a plant that processes soy, peanuts, other tree nuts, wheat products, and dairy.  Our chocolates are processed on equipment previously used to process milk chocolate.

CRISPY CAT (888-421-2032)

  • Mint Coconut Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)
  • Toasted Almond Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Chocolate Sundae Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soy (lecithin)
    • Contains peanut and soy. Manufactured on equipment that also processes products containing tree nuts, milk, wheat and egg. Good manufacturing practices and preventive procedures are in place to avoid cross contamination.

DIVVIES (located in South Salem, NY 914-533-0333) (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, and egg-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (located in Schiller Park, IL 847-260-0300) (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar, Mini Chocolate Chips, Mega Chunks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via web Oct 2011): All Enjoy Life foods are specially made to be free of the eight most common allergens. That means they contain NO wheat/gluten, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish or shellfish–the allergens that account for 90% of all food allergic reactions in the United States. Enjoy Life products are also made without casein, potato, sesame and sulfites. Our products are made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free bakery

GLEE GUM (located in Providence, RI 401.351.6415) (www.gleegum.com)

  • Glee Gum, Wee Glee
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via web Oct 2011): Glee Gum is: Vegetarian, Additive Free, Lactose Free, Dairy Free, Wheat Free, Gluten Free, Casein Free, Egg Free, Yeast Free, Nut Free, and Peanut Free. All Glee Gum is soy free. Please note, however, that other products containing soy lecithin are processed in the same facility as Glee Gum.

INDIE CANDY (located in Mountain Brook, AL 205-835-0094) (www.indiecandy.com)

  • Halloween Chocolate Lollipops, Halloween Crystal Lollipops, Halloween Gummies
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via web Oct 2011): Our gourmet, allergen free candy is made in our kitchen that is free of peanuts, treenuts, soy, dairy or casein, wheat or gluten, fish or shellfish, or eggs. Our allergen free treats include chocolate candy, lollipops, gummi bears, jelly beans, marshmallows, cotton candy, and special holiday treats for Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day and Easter.

PURE FUN (866-534-8071) (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Halloween Pure Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Ingredient statement: “Manufactured in a segregated area of a facility that may produce products containing nuts.”

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): At Pure FunTM, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure FunTM is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure FunTM brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SUN CUPS (located in Boulder, CO 303.589.6700)

  • Dark Chocolate Cups, Milk Chocolate Cups, Caramel Cups, Mint Cups (sunflower seed butter cups alternative to peanut butter cups)

    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: milk
    • Other products in our shop contain soy lecithin

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): we’ve created a 100% nut- and gluten-free manufacturing shop, and our entire supply chain is completely nut- and gluten-free.

SURF SWEETS (Tru Sweets located in Wheeling, IL (224) 676-1070) (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011):
All of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. All of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts. Our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.

Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (located in Grand Isle, VT 1-888-468-8373) (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy. We do not use any coconut or sesame products in any of our processes.

Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.

Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items. The Skippers and Jelly Beans are also free of contact with egg ingredients.

Regarding soy: All of our products contain soy lecithin as an ingredient. Our Granola Bars contain roasted soybeans as an ingredient. MetaBall is processed and packaged on the same equipment. Very soon our small chocolate bars as well as the mini bars (all 3 flavors) will be wrapped on the same flow wrapper and will be labeled as packaged on shared equipment with dairy, soy and wheat.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Plant does not produce anything with tree-nuts or peanuts.

Happy Halloween!

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments

  1. Thank you so much for all the hard work you did for this list!! I greatly appreciate it. My son is 5 y/o and has a severe peanut allergy. This year, guided by your list and our own research, we’ve allowed him to try some candy! He’s tried Pez for the first time and tonight, we let him try a twizzler! He said: “I think I am in heaven!” We haven’t trusted any candy and now there is such a joy knowing there are so many options available to him. We’ve always avoided ANY item that doesn’t have any kind of allergen statement… we figured if they don’t put it on there, they obviously don’t care and we shouldn’t trust the product. Now, we’ve learned to look at the websites, call and research what others have done and it’s wonderful! Not that he’ll be eating much candy, but now we have options for him to have a treat here and there. Again, thank you for all the hard work you put into this list. It’s made countless people stress a little less. Happy Halloween!

  2. Thank you for your hard work putting together this awesome comprehensive list!

    I’ll definitely be linking up in Halloween guest posts I’m writing as well as sharing on my FB/Twitter pages.

    THIS IS AWESOME!

    Much love from my Candy Heart to yours ;)

  3. Thank you so much for putting this together. My 2 year old is really allergic to peanuts and nuts, so this will be very helpful!

  4. Thank you so much for this list! This will be the first Halloween since finding out about our 10 year old son’s allergy to wheat and soy. Your hard work will make him so happy!!!!!

  5. Great list – Is would be great to add details like:
    FD&C food colorings – they make kids hyperactive. .
    MSG, Hydrolized Protein – also a problem
    High fructose corn syrup
    Corn free is also important for families with kids with seizures…
    Lead – don’t laugh – a lot of candy that comes to us from Mexico has high levels…
    Here is a site that knows about the issues with food colorings and preservatives.
    http://www.indiecandy.com/aboutus.asp
    Thank you for this resource.

  6. Thank you Thank you Thank You!!!! Your hard work is GREATLY appreciated. I have a good handle on what my allergic kid can eat, but this is a great resource for me to share with my neighbors and family that want to give mine (and other allergic people) candy at Halloween and other holidays. You Rock!

  7. Awesome!! Thank you once again!!

  8. Thank you for this! This is the best list I’ve found. My 2 year old and 6 year old were just diagnosed with Celiac and it’s been (and will continue to be) quite a journey to learn what they can and can’t eat and this makes Halloween with a new diagnosis so much easier!

  9. Thanks for your efforts. I don’t have kids, but as someone who has a very severe lactose intolerance, I would like to be sensitive to other people’s needs. I think we all should buy candies that are as allergen-free as possible.

    I can only imagine how sad kids with allergies must be having to watch Mom throw out most of what they get at Halloween.

    How nice it is to have this list! I shared this on my FB page.

  10. My son’s friend has gluten and dairy allergy’s and this really helped me for giving him a halloween treat bag!

  11. Hi Sue,
    I would love to be able to list every ingredient — but until there is an easier way than looking directly at the packages (many companies do not have ingredient info on their websites and won’t give over the phone), I have to do what I can! Thanks for the suggestions.

  12. Thank you so much for this list! I check it every year for my daughter who has a peanut/treenut allergy. I love the idea of every parent not having to reinvent the wheel – you have done a great service!

  13. Thank you soooo much for putting together this information!

  14. What a blessing your hard work has been to me and our 2yr old little guy!!! Thank you so much!! Our son is allergic to peanuts and garlic. One day you will be blessed for what you do!

  15. Going through the loot my daughter brought home & looking to see if you have pixie stix on the list. Maybe I over looked them…well this mon is off to bed I will search it again tomorrow :)

  16. Wow, you rock! Thank you SO much from the parent of a tree nut allergy sufferer on Halloween! I appreciate your hard work on this list!!

    (You should know that the link on the page http://surefoodsliving.com/category/halloween-candy-lists/ to your excellent 2011 list is broken — it contains “category/” and I think that’s what’s breaking it.)

  17. Thank you so much for this information, you’re the best source for checking our Halloween candy!

  18. Kimmie Candy Company is a US manufacture of panned candies we are Gluten and Peanut free

  19. This is my Go-To list for candy on holidays. I wanted to tell you thanks and give you a great big ((hug)) for making this list! Love it! I share this with everyone!

  20. I’m doing my own type of research for my body. I’m cutting out areas of gluten when I can. This was a great list for someone who loves a piece of chocolate after lunch everyday. Now I know which is better to have. Thanks so much!

  21. Do you know of any corn free candy? Thanks Need something to trade for with corn intol. daughter. thanks.

  22. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. PAULETTE

  23. We have a new gluten free dairy free Halloween candy gift box available on our site (already edited to ensure it is safe for celiacs!) at http://soluckygifts.com/products-page/new/so-its-halloween-gluten-free-dairy-free/

    Nakeysha- Indie Candy has corn free candy.

  24. Thank you soooo much for this!!! It saved me HUGE amounts of time looking up this information. Our school is nut free and trying to find candy, especially in combo packs is hard. I appreciate all the leg work you did on this!!!!

  25. Are you sure that your candy list is accurate? I have read that if the ingredients state that it contains “Natural Flavor, natural flavors, or natural flavorings”, it most likely contains soy.

    Also, I have been buying sour punch candy for my kids who have a soy allergy, and today I found out that on a different size package it states that it does contain soy. It is listed in the ingredients.

    If you can find out for certain about what I have just said, I would really appreciate it. I have 3 kids under five, who would love to eat some candy.

    Thank you.

  26. Thank you for all your hard work! We have a household full of allergies wheat, soy, dairy! We so appreciate the time and effort that you spent putting this list together!

  27. Thank you for this list! I found the link to the quick-list from here and I was able to pull it up on the fly when we were out Trick or Treating. When will you do your next update? Would be glad to help if you need it. This was an AMAZING tool and I definitely plan on printing it out and putting it in a safe place.

  28. I have a 6 mo old daughter with a severe milk/soy allergy. I am strictly nursing so I haven’t had a piece of gum or candy since I found out of her allergy 5 1/2 months ago. This does seem like a wonderful guide but am somewhat skeptical only because a lot of candy and gum includes the words “natural flavors”. Soy and casein (milk protein) are often hidden under natural flavors. I will use this sheet as a guide from now on but will also follow up with company if I see these words in the ingredients just to play it safe. You have done an amazing job researching all of this…thank you!!

  29. I can’t thank you enough for your hard work and research This Site has been a lifesaver I have an almost 2 year old who is allergic to gluten, dairy, and soy and your site has been so helpful I am planning her 2nd birthday party this month and was searching for allergen free candy and ran across your site. Thank you again ….you are now pinned to my favorites and will spread the word about this site.

  30. You’re welcome Tasha! Thanks for the nice comment!

  31. Thank you so much for this candy list. You just made life with celiac disease so much easier. I am new at gluten free so still learning. Thanks so much!!!

  32. This is a fantastic list for those with allergies, but also for parents such as myself, whose children attend peanut-free schools and have to be sensitive to the other allergies in each classroom. I noticed that much of your info was last updated in 2011; do you have any plans to add more recent updates? I know that would be a lot of work. Again, thank you for the work you’ve already done on this.

    Marietta

  33. Hi Marietta,
    I took last year off from updating the list because I went on a big trip in September and couldn’t do it, but I am planning on updating it this year!

  34. I didn’t read through all of the comments so this may have been addressed. You listed mounds as bring tree but free however coconut is considered a tree nut and therefore not safe.

  35. I LOVE SURE LIVING .COM

  36. Wow! Thank you so much for your hard work! I just found it I have a bad soy allergy and egg yolks and have been stressing there wasn’t any type of candy that I would be able to eat especially at the movies. Fyi those of you who have a soy allergy the “butter” that goes on your popcorn is 100% soybean oil. I Realize it’s not candy but we tend to buy both at the movies.

  37. Thanks SOOOOOO much for all the research you did to put this list together. It is GREATLY appreciated! I was looking to find if Jujubes candies are gluten-free. Under the Ferrara Candy Co. they list Jujus. Are they the same thing as the Jujubes that come in a movie-size green box? Please let me know. Thanks again for all of your hard work and the time you put in to compiling this list! I am an elementary school teacher and this list comes in VERY handy around Halloween!!!

  38. Hi Nicole and Phyllis,
    My 2014 list will be out soon.
    Phyllis – Jujubes are gluten-free. They do have a package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”

  39. Hi there, this is a great list and I have paseed it on to my friends. I did want to mention that quite a lot of candies have gelatin in them, which can come from a cow, pork, or fish source. I have come to find out that quite a few treats I wa going to give my child, had gelatin made from fish. If it is not in the ingredients, you can call the manufacturer and ask. My son is allergic to fish and seafood, so this is a major allergen that sneaks into things like candy, cookies, ice cream, dressings, sauces, etc without om realizing it!!

  40. Hi Bridgett,
    By law, food companies have to list “fish” as an ingredient if it is present. Vitamins and supplements are not regulated the same way, but if it is a packaged food product, it must say “fish” or “shellfish” in the ingredient list or in the allergen statement.

Post a Comment