- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -
Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011
Posted By Alison On Oct 4, 2011 @ In Candy,Holidays/Special Events,Products | 40 Comments
THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 GUIDE.
The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! I’ve updated the list to reflect ingredient changes, current manufacturers statements by web/phone, and I added some phone numbers so you don’t have to search them yourself if you have a question.
Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)
Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.
NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.
AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)
Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads Bars do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.
Allergen info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.
AMERICAN LICORICE CO. (located in Union City, CA 866-442-2783)
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): American Licorice products do not contain peanuts, tree nuts or sesame and peanut oil is not used in the manufacture any of our products. Red Vines® products do not contain peanuts. Peanut and/or peanut oil is not used to manufacture any of our products.
ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS
ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)
Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2011): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.
BAZOOKA (located in New York, NY 800-489-9149)
CE DE CANDY (located in New Jersey 908-964-0660)
Allergen Statement (via web Sept 2011): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from most of the known allergens, except Bubble Gum Smarties®, which contain soy lecithin. All products are free of milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts and wheat. Smarties® products are safe to eat for kids with peanut allergies.
We sell our products to different “re-baggers” as well as various retail outlets. A re-bagger buys products from many different companies and puts them in their own packaging. Only these re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, or other known allergens. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities, and the allergen information on this page applies to that product. Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free, and that product is safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.
FARLEY’S AND SATHERS (located in Minnesota 888-247-9855)
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.
Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2011): Farleys & Sathers thoroughly cleans the lines in between each run of each type of candy. For example, they wouldn’t clean in between candy corn and mellowcremes because they are the same type of candy, but they would clean before making the next type, like something with chocolate or nuts.
FERRARA PAN (located in Illinois 708-366-0500)
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.
Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures.
The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.
Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.
Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy
FLIX (located in Niles, ILL 847-647-1370)
FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY (800-735-4979 x224)
GALERIE (located in Hebron, KY 859-538-8500)
Allergen Info (via web Oct 11): As is the case with most food products, there is a potential for the presence of allergens, including, but not limited to: dairy, gluten, and nuts. This information is always called out on all of our products in the nutritional and ingredient information area. For more information, please contact Customer Service at 859.538.8500 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): Goetze’s caramel products (Caramel Cream® and Cow Tales®) do NOT contain Peanuts or other tree nuts. These products are manufactured in a facility that is Nut Free. As stated on all of our current packaging, our products contain the following allergen statement as required by law. CONTAINS WHEAT, MILK AND SOY INGREDIENTS.
Please Note: While the Caramel Creams® Theater Box and the Mini Cow Tales® Theater Box are manufactured and individually wrapped and sealed in a Nut Free facility, the packages may on occasion, be inserted into cartons in a separate facility on equipment that also packages products containing peanuts and tree nuts. Boxes are labeled appropriately, as such.
Gluten-Free Info (via web Oct 2011): Most Haribo products are gluten free. The following Haribo products are NOT gluten free: Black Licorice Wheels, Red Licorice Wheels, Sour S’ghetti, Fruity Pasta, Brixx, Konfekt and Pontefract Cakes.
Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Haribo products are manufactured in facilities that do not handle peanuts. Most Haribo products are casein free. The exceptions are Haribo Strawberries & Cream and Konfekt.
HERR’S (located in Nottingham, PA 610-932-9330)
HERSHEY (located in Hershey, PA 800-468-1714)
Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2011):
If there is gluten in the ingredients, including wheat, rye, oats, barley or malt, it will be listed on the ingredient label. HOWEVER, if something lists “natural flavors”, it may contain gluten because they buy ingredients from other companies and it is proprietary information.
Gluten Free (via web Sept 2011) - a food bearing this claim does not does not contain the protein from a wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods. The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision.
Allergen Info (via phone recording and web Sept 2011):
We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.
Allergens (via web Sept 2011) – An allergen is food or food component that can result in an adverse reaction involving the body’s immune system. The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company ensures that the ingredient statements are accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable.
IMPACT CONFECTIONS, Littleton, CO 303-626-2222
Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2011): Warheads candies are gluten-free and contain none of the top allergens. Ingredient List
JELLY BELLY (located in Fairfield, CA 1-800-522-3267)
Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011):
All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011):
Please continue to carefully check all ingredient statements on packages and bulk bins for peanut ingredients. We discontinued Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly beans (this flavor contained peanut butter and peanut flour) however, it is possible this flavor may still be included in packages sold in retail stores until inventories are depleted.
None of the other flavors of Jelly Belly beans contain peanuts as an ingredient. We no longer process peanuts in our manufacturing plants.
JUST BORN (located in Bethlehem, PA 1-888-645-3453)
Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011): The modified food starch that we use in our jelly bean type candies is corn starch. We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere. For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453.
Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2011):
Peeps Marshmallows now have a “may contain milk” statement because they started making chocolate-covered Peeps. According to the phone rep, the plain Peeps are made on different belts than the chocolate-covered ones, but they put the statement because they are in the same facility.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011):
Do your candies contain any of the top 8 allergens? (Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy, Wheat)? Because product formulations can change at any time, we encourage consumers to refer to our package labels for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information. We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA on our label. Moreover, we voluntarily add advisory statements to our packages to alert consumers to potential cross contamination risk. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere. For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll free at 1-888-645-3453.
KELLOGG’S (located in Battle Creek, MI 800-962-1413)
Gluten-Free info (via phone rep Oct 2011): Even though Kellogg’s has made a gluten-free Rice Krispies, they will still have the original Rice Krispies (it is not being replaced). Same goes for the Rice Krispies Treats, so both are on the shelves depending on store and region. The cereal and treats WITH gluten are in blue packaging. The cereal and treats WITHOUT gluten are in yellow packaging.
KRAFT FOODS (including CADBURY ADAMS) 877-535-5666
Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011): We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help plan their meals and diets. Therefore, it has been a long standing policy for all Kraft and Nabisco products to list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statement. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye). Other ingredients that contain gluten are: Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Mir or Farina (also known as Far or Farro).
Gluten-Free Info (via customer service rep Oct 2011): All gluten ingredients will be called out on the label.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010): read their policy on allergen labeling
MELSTER, Littleton, CO 303-626-2222
Allergen info (via web Sept 2011): Ingredient List (includes other holiday candies)
NECCO (located in Revere, MA 781-485-4500)
Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011):
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: Necco Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix
In addition, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, ULTRAMINTS are also gluten free.
NESTLE (located in PA, 800-225-2270)
Allergen Info (via customer rep on phone Sept 2011): If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.
OAK LEAF (877.261.7887)
Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Oak Leaf products are made in a peanut and tree nut free facility.
PEZ (located in Orange, CT 203.795.0531)
Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): PEZ Candy is tree nut, peanut & gluten free. PEZ is the only product we run on our lines. There is no chance of cross-contamination. None of the following items are used in the manufacturing of PEZ Candy:
Barley, oats, wheat, triticale and products of these
Crustaceans, shellfish, and products of these
Egg and egg products
Fish and fish products
Legumes, peas, peanuts, soybeans and products of these
Milk and milk products (lactose included), dairy
Tree nuts, poppy seeds, sesame seeds and products of these
Sulfites in concentrations of 10 ppm or more
R.M. PALMER COMPANY (located in Reading, PA, 610 372-8971)
View all Palmer Halloween treats.
Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011): Our products that do NOT contain “cookies” or “crisp rice” are gluten-free. However, ALL of our products are manufactured on machinery that also manufactures products WITH gluten.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): Some of our products do contain eggs. The icing decorations that are attached to some of our hand-decorated items contain egg albumen. All of our products are produced on machinery that also processes items that contain peanuts and tree nuts.
** As with these and ALL allergen issues, it is important to read the ingredients statement on each of our products. Product packaging is constantly being updated to comply with all food nutritional and ingredients labeling regulations. Of course, we have procedures in place for our production lines to prevent any cross-contamination of our products.
WARNING via customer service rep: If you have a severe peanut or nut allergy, it is advised to not eat any R.M. Palmer candies.
RUSSELL STOVER (located in Kansas City, MO 800-777-4028)
Gluten-Free Info (via web 2011): To the best of our knowledge, our products are gluten free – with the exception of products containing cookies, such as S’mores and Cookies and Creams. These products contain a small amount of gluten, and ingredient labels indicate clearly that they contain wheat. Be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make other products. So we can’t completely rule out the possibility of cross-contamination, despite efforts to prevent it.
SPANGLER (located in Bryan, OH 419-636-4221)
Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): We make every effort to make sure consumers can be 100%confident that our products are free of the top common allergens, including;gluten, wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish* Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. Thesoy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergicreaction. Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.**Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk. Dum Dum ChewyPops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of otherproducts. Please check the back panel for country of origin and allergen statement. The gum base used in Dum DumGum Pops is manufactured on the same equipment as products with soy.
5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.
1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.
In today’s candy market it is a regular practice for retailers to have their own store’s private label bag (bags sold at that store only). Some of these private label bags contain Spangler lollipops and/or Circus Peanuts, due to our good quality and reputation. In most of these situations, we do not pack these items ourselves but the retailer or a customer of ours purchases and repackages our items.
These are the same quality pops that we provide in our own Spangler branded bags, but the allergen free claim may be different as these companies often package other items containing peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, wheat gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, or soy in their facilities. Trace elements of these allergens could come into contact with our items.
To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, always check the back of the item you are purchasing for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have the following identifiers:
(1) Spangler logo on the front of the bag.
(2) Graphics of bag as shown on the Spangler Candy company website at www.spanglercandy.com.
(3) Current Spangler allergen statement: “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat, soy, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.”
(4) Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.
(5) UPC code begins with “0 30800″. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.
TOOTSIE (located in Chicago, IL 773-838-3400)
Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2011): At this time, all of our confections are gluten free with the exception of Andes cookies. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.
WELCH’S (located in Concord, MA 800-340-6870)
WRIGLEY (MARS is parent company) (located in Peoria, ILL 1-800-974-4539)
Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2011): All Wrigley products are gluten-free EXCEPT for Altoids Smalls Peppermint and Hubba Bubba Gummy Tape. Both contain wheat.
Allergen Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2011): All Wrigley products are free of top 8 allergens EXCEPT: Altoids Smalls Peppermint (wheat), Hubba Bubba Gummy Tape (wheat), gum (soy lecithin), Lifesavers Hard Candy (soy lecithin in some flavors), and CremeSavers (milk). There are no peanuts, tree nuts or eggs in any products and no chance of cross-contamination. The Dark Chocolate Dipped Altoids from last year have been discontinued.
WONKA (part of Nestle) (located in PA, 800-225-2270)
Allergen Info (via email Sept 2011):
We consider “gluten free” to mean no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. In other words, if a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as “made on equipment” or “facility that also processes wheat etc… “, we do not consider that product to be gluten free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.
At the end of this email, I have included a link to our gluten free product list. I hope that you find this list to be helpful!
Also, labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.
Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.
Allergen Info (via customer rep on phone Sept 2011): If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.
NATURAL AND ORGANIC CANDY
If you can’t find them in your stores, you can order them from NaturalCandyStore.com.
AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (located in Westlake, OH 440-570-6359)(www.amandasown.com)
Note: last day to order Halloween items is October 24th.
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): Our chocolate products are all natural and only made from DAIRY FREE, TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate. The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients. We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free! Our suppliers have certifications from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) stating that their facilities are dairy-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, egg-free, gluten-free and sesame-free. There are no other products in our facility, so there is NO chance for any cross contamination from any other food allergens.
ANNIE’S (located in Berkeley, CA 800-288-1089)
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2010):
This product does not contain the top eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.
CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (located in Eugene, OR 541-607-9073) (www.chocolatedecadence.com)
Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): All products listed for sale on this website are made in a plant that processes soy, peanuts, other tree nuts, wheat products, and dairy. Our chocolates are processed on equipment previously used to process milk chocolate.
CRISPY CAT (888-421-2032)
DIVVIES (located in South Salem, NY 914-533-0333) (www.divvies.com)
Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, and egg-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.
ENJOY LIFE (located in Schiller Park, IL 847-260-0300) (www.enjoylifefoods.com)
Allergen info (via web Oct 2011): All Enjoy Life foods are specially made to be free of the eight most common allergens. That means they contain NO wheat/gluten, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish or shellfish–the allergens that account for 90% of all food allergic reactions in the United States. Enjoy Life products are also made without casein, potato, sesame and sulfites. Our products are made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free bakery
GLEE GUM (located in Providence, RI 401.351.6415) (www.gleegum.com)
Allergen info (via web Oct 2011): Glee Gum is: Vegetarian, Additive Free, Lactose Free, Dairy Free, Wheat Free, Gluten Free, Casein Free, Egg Free, Yeast Free, Nut Free, and Peanut Free. All Glee Gum is soy free. Please note, however, that other products containing soy lecithin are processed in the same facility as Glee Gum.
INDIE CANDY (located in Mountain Brook, AL 205-835-0094) (www.indiecandy.com)
Allergen info (via web Oct 2011): Our gourmet, allergen free candy is made in our kitchen that is free of peanuts, treenuts, soy, dairy or casein, wheat or gluten, fish or shellfish, or eggs. Our allergen free treats include chocolate candy, lollipops, gummi bears, jelly beans, marshmallows, cotton candy, and special holiday treats for Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s Day and Easter.
PURE FUN (866-534-8071) (www.organiccandy.com)
Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): At Pure FunTM, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure FunTM is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure FunTM brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.
SUN CUPS (located in Boulder, CO 303.589.6700)
Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): we’ve created a 100% nut- and gluten-free manufacturing shop, and our entire supply chain is completely nut- and gluten-free.
SURF SWEETS (Tru Sweets located in Wheeling, IL (224) 676-1070) (www.surfsweets.com)
Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011):
All of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. All of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts. Our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.
VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (located in Grand Isle, VT 1-888-468-8373) (www.vermontnutfree.com)
Allergen Info (via web Oct 2011): Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy. We do not use any coconut or sesame products in any of our processes.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items. The Skippers and Jelly Beans are also free of contact with egg ingredients.
Regarding soy: All of our products contain soy lecithin as an ingredient. Our Granola Bars contain roasted soybeans as an ingredient. MetaBall is processed and packaged on the same equipment. Very soon our small chocolate bars as well as the mini bars (all 3 flavors) will be wrapped on the same flow wrapper and will be labeled as packaged on shared equipment with dairy, soy and wheat.
YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)
Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Plant does not produce anything with tree-nuts or peanuts.
Article printed from Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living: http://surefoodsliving.com
URL to article: http://surefoodsliving.com/2011/10/halloween-candy-list-gluten-free-allergen-free-2011/
Copyright © 2010 Sure Foods Living - gluten-free and allergen-free living. All rights reserved.