- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -

Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Guide 2013

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2014 GUIDE.

The ultimate gluten-free allergen-free Halloween Candy Guide is back! I’ve updated the list in 2013 to reflect ingredient changes and current manufacturers statements by web and phone. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, tree nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I included coconut where I saw it on a label but not as a tree nut since most allergy organizations do not consider coconut to be a tree nut. (The FDA, however, has required coconut to be labeled as a tree nut.)

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Need a short list? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2013
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2013

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2013): Airheads Bars do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2013): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.

AMERICAN LICORICE CO. (located in Union City, CA 866-442-2783)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): American Licorice products do not contain peanuts, tree nuts or sesame. American Licorice products are manufactured in a nut free facility.

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): All of our popcorn is popped in a facility where every effort is made to ensure products and facilities are nut-free (we are not certified nut-free). The popcorn for our Holidrizzle items is then transferred to a facility that drizzles chocolate over the product. This facility also processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2013): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. All other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, come into contact with flour used in the Look bars.

BAZOOKA CANDY BRANDS (TOPPS COMPANY) (located in New York, NY 800-489-9149)

CE DE CANDY (located in New Jersey 908-964-0660)

Allergen Statement (via web Sept 2013): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from most of the known allergens. All products are free of milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy. Smarties® products are safe to eat for kids with peanut allergies.

Smarties® are gluten-free and vegan! You can find more information on our gluten-free and vegan pages.

We sell our products to different “re-baggers” as well as various retail outlets. A re-bagger buys products from many different companies and puts them in their own packaging. Only these re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, or other known allergens. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities, and the allergen information on this page applies to that product.

Gluten-Free Statement (via web Sept 2013): All Smarties® products are gluten-free and safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.  Furthermore, Smarties® products are manufactured in facilities that produce exclusively gluten-free candies.

Note: If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

Smarties Gummies ingredients are gluten-free, but because they are made in a facility that processes other ingredients, they may contain traces of peanut, milk, wheat and soy and are not recommended for those with Celiac Disease.

CVS Brand

FERRARA CANDY COMPANY (Farley and Sather’s has been purchased by Ferrara, now located in Oakbrook Terrace, IL 888-247-9855)

Gluten-Free Info (verified via email Sept. 2013): Gluten-free products: Ferrara products contain only Corn Gluten.  Ferrara products contain no wheat, rye, barley or oats.  Here is a list of candies you can enjoy:

Atomic Fireballs
All Gummies (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc)
Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
Berry Chewy Lemonhead
Tropical Chewy Lemonhead
Grape Head
Cherry Head
Cherry Sours
Juju’s
Jujy’s
Jelly Beans
Bob’s Sweet Stripes
Boston Baked Beans (contains peanuts)
Brach’s brand Wild ‘N Fruity Gummi Worms
Brach’s Cinnamon Disks
Brach’s Lemon Drops (Kosher)
Fruit Snacks (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
Gumballs
Jawbreakers / Jawbusters
Red Hot’s

The Candy Corn is technically a gluten free product.  The reason it’s not on the gluten free list is that it is manufactured in a facility that contains wheat.

Allergen Info (verified via email Sept. 2013): Ferrara Candy Company takes allergen issues seriously.  Packages must be labeled appropriately for potential allergens.  The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) guidelines suggest labeling for at least the “Big 8” allergies.

Product  labels for product manufactured and/or packaged on lines in which other products containing any of the “Big 8” will contain an allergen statement.  Allergens listed explicitly in the ingredients may not be listed dually in the allergen statement.

Ferrara Candy Company maintains several manufacturing and packaging facilities.  While some of these facilities are nut free or free from some or all of the “Big 8” allergens, others are not.  In addition, processes may change from time to time.  Please refer to the packaging, as the packaging contains the most current ingredient and allergen statements.  Packaging is updated anytime a change is made to the production location of any item.

Due to constant changes in manufacturing and packaging, Ferrara Candy Company is not able to offer a list of allergen affected items.

FERRERO (Somerset, NJ 732-764-9300)

Gluten Free Info (via web Sept 2013): Tic Tac® mints do not contain any ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat, barley, rye, oats or triticale.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): Tic Tac® mints do not contain peanuts or other tree nuts. In addition, Tic Tac mints are not manufactured on the same equipment as peanut or other tree nut containing products.

FLIX (located in Niles, IL 847-647-1370)

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY (800-735-4979 x224)

GALERIE (located in Hebron, KY 859-538-8500)

GOETZE’S CANDY COMPANY (Baltimore, MD 410-342-2010)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): Goetze’s caramel products (Caramel Cream® and Cow Tales®) do NOT contain Peanuts or other tree nuts. These products are manufactured in a facility that is Nut Free.

HARIBO

Gluten-Free Info (via web Oct 2013): The following Haribo products contain wheat flour: Sour S’ghetti, Fruity Pasta,  Black Licorice Wheels, and Red Licorice Wheels. 

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2013): Strawberries & Cream contain milk.

HERSHEY (located in Hershey, PA 800-468-1714)

Gluten-Free Info (via phone Sept 2013):
If there is gluten in the ingredients, including wheat, rye, oats, barley or malt, it will be listed on the ingredient label.

Gluten Free (via web Sept 2013) – A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Please note, this list is not all inclusive as we have other products that do not have gluten containing ingredients.

ALMOND JOY and MOUNDS Bars – ALL
HERSHEY’S – BAKING Chips
HERSHEY’S Butterscotch Chips
HERSHEY’S Cinnamon Chips
HERSHEY’S KISSES MINI KISSES Milk Chocolate
HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Chips
HERSHEY’S MINI CHIPS Semi-Sweet Chocolate
HERSHEY’S Premier White Chips
HERSHEY’S Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Chips
HERSHEY’S SUGAR FREE Chocolate Chips
REESE’S Peanut Butter Chips
HERSHEY’S – Baking Bars
HERSHEY’S Semi Sweet Baking Bar
HERSHEY’S – Cocoa
HERSHEY’S Cocoa
HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Cocoa
DAGOBA Baking and Beverages – ALL
HEATH Bars – ALL
HERSHEY’S KISSES and NUGGETS
HERSHEY’S KISSES Milk Chocolate
HERSHEY’S KISSES Filled Chocolates – ALL
HERSHEY’S NUGGETS Candies – ALL
HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bar
HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only)
HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45oz only)
HERSHEY’S Syrup and REESE’S Toppings
HERSHEY’S Caramel Syrup
HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup
HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup with Calcium
HERSHEY’S Chocolate Sugar Free Syrup
HERSHEY’S Lite Chocolate Syrup
HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Syrup
HERSHEY’S Strawberry Syrup
REESE’S Chocolate Peanut Butter Topping
REESE’S Peanut Butter Cups – ALL Except Seasonal Shaped Items
SCHARFFEN BERGER – ALL
SKOR
SKOR Toffee Bar
YORK Peppermint Pattie – ALL

Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2013):
We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

IMPACT CONFECTIONS  (Littleton, CO 303-626-2222)

JELLY BELLY (located in Fairfield, CA 1-800-522-3267)

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2013):
All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch. We make over 150 different candies and a few of our products use gluten-containing ingredients. These items include Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Deluxe Mix, Seasonal Malt Balls, Licorice Bridge Mix, and Licorice Pastels.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013):
We follow good manufacturing practices and have a stringent allergen management program. None of the products that we currently manufacture contain peanuts as an ingredient.  We no longer process peanuts in our manufacturing plants. In 2009 we discontinued Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly beans (this flavor contained peanut butter and peanut flour).
Our jelly beans and other confections that are manufactured and distributed in the USA are made in plants that process tree nuts: almonds, walnuts, cashews and pecans.  All our plants use coconut (a tree nut allergen in the USA) as an ingredient. Please read the package Ingredient Label and bulk bins to see if a specific tree nut is present.

JUST BORN (located in Bethlehem, PA 1-888-645-3453)

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2013): The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.  However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013):
Do your candies contain any of the top 8 allergens? (Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy, Wheat)? Because product formulations can change at any time, we encourage consumers to refer to our package labels for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.  We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA on our label.  Additionally, for the safety of our consumers, it is our policy to voluntarily add advisory statements to our packages to alert consumers to any potential cross contamination risk.  Therefore, if there is a risk of cross contamination with any of these major food allergens, we would include an allergen alert on our package.  This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging.  Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, please call our Consumer Relations Team toll free at 1-888-645-3453.

Allergen Info (via phone Sept 2013): Peeps Marshmallows now have a “may contain milk” statement because they are made in the same facility as Chocolate Covered Peeps, but they are made in a separate area on separate lines. Peanut Chews are made in a separate facility than the other candies.

KRAFT FOODS (including CADBURY ADAMS) 877-535-5666

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2013): If a Kraft Foods product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, even when present in small amount.

MARS (800-551-0704)

Gluten-Free Info (via customer service rep Sept 2013): All gluten ingredients will be called out on the label.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): We will always declare the presence of any of the top allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, soy, wheat, fish and crustacean shellfish) whenever they are part of the recipe regardless of the source (e.g., flavors, spices, colors, other minor ingredients, etc.). Mars Allergen Policy

MONDELEZ INTERNATIONAL

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2013): For labeling purposes, Mondelēz International includes wheat, barley, rye and oats as sources of gluten. Our packages identify gluten by listing these common sources. Other grains that contain gluten are triticale, spelt, kamut, mir and farina, and if these grains are included in our products, they will also be labeled. However you should know that we do not guarantee that our products are gluten-free because we sometimes purchase flavoring, color or spice ingredients from suppliers who do not list every possible source of gluten beyond what is required by law. For Mondelēz International -branded products that contain vinegar, information from our vinegar suppliers assures us that the vinegar we use in our products is gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2013): Mondelēz International is aware of the seriousness of allergens, and takes great pride in making sure its products are safe, wholesome and properly labeled. Our products are produced and labeled in compliance with FDA Good Manufacturing Practices and labeling requirements. When labeling products, we consider all possible sources of the eight major allergens recognized by the FDA. These are the proteins from wheat, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish and shellfish. Mondelēz International also labels for additional allergens including celery, lupin, some seeds (sesame, sunflower, poppyseed, and cottonseed), and sulfites.

NECCO (located in Revere, MA 781-485-4500)

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2013):
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: Necco Wafers, Necco Chocolate Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint, Wintergreen & Spearmint Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix, Candy House Candy Buttons, Banana Split Chews, Mint Julep Chews, Wintergreen Patty, Nonpareils and Chocolate Stars, Skybars, Necco Conversation Hearts.

NESTLE (located in PA, 800-225-2270)

Gluten Free Info (via customer service rep Sept 2013):
We consider “gluten free” to mean no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. In other words, if a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as “made on equipment” or “facility that also processes wheat etc… “, we do not consider that product to be gluten free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.

All gluten-containing ingredients would be listed on the label.

Allergen Info (via customer service rep Sept 2013): labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.

OAK LEAF (877.261.7887)

PEARSON CANDY

PEZ (located in Orange, CT 203.795.0531)

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): To the best of our knowledge our product does not contain allergens as defined by Codex. The Codex list comes from the World Health Organization. It is a list of the “Big 8 Allergens”. It is the reference list that our suppliers use to answer allergen questions. PEZ is the only product we run on our lines. There is no chance of cross-contamination. PEZ Candy is tree nut, peanut & gluten free.

POP ROCKS (Atlanta, GA, 770-399-1776)

R.M. PALMER COMPANY   (located in Reading, PA, 610 372-8971)

Creepy Peepers are white wrapped balls that look like eyeballs with various colors of eyes and red veins – no ingredients listed on individual pieces

Twisted Pumpkins are individually wrapped balls in an orange jack-o-lantern wrapper.

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2013): Our products that do NOT contain “cookies” or “crisp rice” are gluten-free. However, ALL of our products are manufactured on machinery that also manufactures products WITH gluten.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): Some of our products do contain eggs. The icing decorations that are attached to some of our hand-decorated items contain egg albumen. All of our products are produced on machinery that also processes items that contain peanuts and tree nuts.

** As with these and ALL allergen issues, it is important to read the ingredients statement on each of our products. Product packaging is constantly being updated to comply with all food nutritional and ingredients labeling regulations. Of course, we have procedures in place for our production lines to prevent any cross-contamination of our products.

RUSSELL STOVER (located in Kansas City, MO 800-777-4028)

Gluten-Free Info (via web 2013): Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’Mores and the Cookies and Cream Rabbit, clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make our other products. So, we can’t rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free.

SPANGLER (located in Bryan, OH 419-636-4221)

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction. Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk. Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products. Please check the back panel for country of origin and allergen statement. The gum base used in Dum Dum Gum Pops is manufactured on the same equipment as products with soy lecithin. Therefore, we list soy lecithin as an ingredient because we cannot guarantee it will not be in the product.

Five Ways We Make Sure Our Products Are Allergy-Free

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify the ingredients they provideare allergy-free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Allergen Statements on Re-bagged Items:
In today’s candy market it is a regular practice for retailers to have their own store’s private label bag. In most of these situations, we do not pack these items ourselves but the retailer or a customer of ours purchases and repackages our items.

The allergen free claim may be different as these companies often package other items that may contain peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, wheat, gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, or soy in their facilities. Trace elements of these allergens could come into contact with our items.

To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, check the back of the item you are purchasing for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have the following identifiers:

  1. Graphics of bag as shown on the Spangler Candy company website at www.spanglercandy.com.
  2. Current Spangler allergen statement: “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.”
  3. Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.
  4. UPC code begins with “0 30800”. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.

STORCK

TOOTSIE (located in Chicago, IL 773-838-3400)

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2013): At this time, all of our confections are gluten free with the exception of Andes cookies. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products..

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities.

WELCH’S (located in Concord, MA 800-340-6870)

WRIGLEY (MARS is parent company) (located in Peoria, ILL 1-800-974-4539)

Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2013): All Wrigley products are gluten-free EXCEPT for Altoids Smalls Peppermint which contains wheat.

Allergen Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2013): All Wrigley products are free of top 8 allergens EXCEPT: Altoids Smalls Peppermint (wheat), gum (soy lecithin), Lifesavers Hard Candy (soy lecithin in some flavors), and CremeSavers (milk). There are no peanuts, tree nuts or eggs the facility.

WONKA (part of Nestle) (located in PA, 800-225-2270)

Gluten Free Info (via customer service rep Sept 2013):
We consider “gluten free” to mean no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. In other words, if a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as “made on equipment” or “facility that also processes wheat etc… “, we do not consider that product to be gluten free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.

All gluten-containing ingredients would be listed on the label.

Allergen Info (via customer service rep Sept 2013): labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.

ZOMBEE

NATURAL AND ORGANIC CANDY
If you can’t find them in your stores, you can order them from NaturalCandyStore.com.

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (located in Westlake, OH 440-570-6359)(www.amandasown.com)

Note: last day to order Halloween items is October 23rd or until supplies last.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): Our chocolate products are all natural and only made from DAIRY FREE, TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our ingredients to prevent cross-contamination. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!

ANNIE’S (located in Berkeley, CA 800-288-1089)

CANDY TREE (available for purchase online)

DIVVIES (located in South Salem, NY 914-533-0333) (www.divvies.com)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2013): All Divvies candy are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, and egg-free.

ENJOY LIFE (located in Schiller Park, IL 847-260-0300) (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

Allergen info (via web Oct 2013): Our foods are made without wheat or any other source of gluten (i.e., barley and rye). We have created a dedicated gluten-free facility where we bake all our own goodies. We require all ingredient suppliers to fill out non-contamination certificates, and we perform routine gluten rapid tests for extra assurance. Our foods are completely free of nuts. No peanuts or tree nuts enter our dedicated production facility. For extra security, we perform peanut rapid tests to ensure the highest levels of safety and quality. All of our products are dairy-free, including dairy sugars (lactose) and dairy protein (casein), so people with lactose or casein allergies/intolerances can eat freely! Our chocolate chips and chunks are produced in a dedicated gluten-free and nut-free facility. These chips are also dairy-free and soy-free. While they are produced in a plant that processes dairy, the chips and chunks are produced on a dedicated line, in a dedicated room, to ensure that there is no chance for dairy cross-contamination. We test down to 2.5 parts per million for dairy to ensure the highest levels of safety and quality.

GLEE GUM (located in Providence, RI 401.351.6415) (www.gleegum.com)

Allergen info (via web Oct 2013): All Glee Gum is: Vegetarian, Non-GMO Project Verified, Certified Kosher, Additive Free, Dairy Free, Wheat Free, Gluten Free, Egg Free, Yeast Free, Nut Free, and Peanut Free. Soy is Present in the Facility.

INDIE CANDY (located in Mountain Brook, AL 205-835-0094) (www.indiecandy.com)

Allergen info (via web Oct 2013): ALL of Indie Candy’s products are made without any Big 9 allergen ingredients (or derived ingredients) and we don’t have any big 9 allergens in our facility. So if you are avoiding milk/casein, wheat/gluten, soy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish or sesame, any product on our site will be appropriate. Indie Candy is a dedicated big 8 allergen free (and sesame) facility. We do not work with any big 8 allergens or their derivatives.

PURE FUN (866-534-8071) (www.purefun.ca)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2013): At Pure FunTM, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure FunTM is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure FunTM brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SUN CUPS (located in Boulder, CO 303.589.6700)

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Oct 2013): Does not contain soy, gluten, peanuts or tree nuts. Our facilities are nut- and gluten-free.

SURF SWEETS (Tru Sweets located in Wheeling, IL (224) 676-1070) (www.surfsweets.com)

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Oct 2013):
All Surf Sweets are made and packaged in a facility free of the 10 most common food allergens, including dairy/casein, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, soy, fish, shellfish, sesame and sulfites. Our products are both manufactured without wheat and made in a facility that is free of wheat, making them suitable for people with celiac disease or following a gluten-free diet. (Note: we do random testing on finished product down to 5PPM for gluten and have never had a positive test result.)

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (located in Grand Isle, VT 1-888-468-8373) (www.vermontnutfree.com)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 2013): Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy. We do not use any coconut or sesame products in any of our processes.

Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.

Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items. The Skippers and Jelly Beans are also free of contact with egg ingredients.

Regarding soy: All of our products contain soy lecithin as an ingredient. Our Granola Bars contain roasted soybeans as an ingredient. MetaBall is processed and packaged on the same equipment. Very soon our small chocolate bars as well as the mini bars (all 3 flavors) will be wrapped on the same flow wrapper and will be labeled as packaged on shared equipment with dairy, soy and wheat.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Our facilities are free of peanuts, tree nuts, gluten, dairy, wheat, soy, sesame, shellfish, and eggs.  The equipment is thoroughly washed before making YumEarth organic candy, but the equipment is not cleaned between flavors, so please know there is a risk that a trace amount of berry juice from one flavor may touch another flavor during production.

Be Sociable, Share!