Print Print

Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014

Posted on October 4th, 2014 by Alison Read 13 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2015 GUIDE.

This is a quick list of allergen-free Halloween candy for 2014. This list includes candies that do not contain gluten or the top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish or shellfish) as an ingredient. I have listed coconut separately since I don’t consider it a tree nut (nor do most allergy organizations), but I recognize that there are coconut allergies. I also listed sesame if stated on the label (sesame is becoming a more common allergen). If there is an allergen warning on the package, I included it.

StarburstFor the complete listing of allergens and company statements see the Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide 2014.

For a quick list of candies that are gluten-free, see the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014.
For a list of natural and organic candies, see the Natural & Organic Halloween Candy List 2014.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients. This list is meant as a guide only.

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Fun Pops Scooby Doo
    • Packaged on equipment that also packages egg, soy and dairy-containing products. Processed in a facility that also handles peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bites
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil

BEE International (located in Chula Vista, CA 619-710-1800)

  • Zombee Bloody Bites (glow in the dark plastic fangs with oozing candy blood bags)
    • Made in a facility that also processes milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts

CE DE CANDY (Smarties)

  • Smarties, Giant Smarties, Mega Smarties, Theater Box Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Mega Tropical Lollies, Smarties Pops, Giant Smarties Pops, Candy Necklace

COLOMBINA (customer.service@colombina.com)

  • Scary EyeBalls Bubble Gum
    • Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, eggs, nuts, milk and wheat

CVS Brand

  • Candy Bracelet with Pendant

FERRARA CANDY COMPANY

  • Black Forest Mini Gummy Bears, Black Forest Gummy Worms, Little Monsters Fruit Snacks
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Brach’s Candy Corn
    • Ingredients contain: sesame oil
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Brach’s Pumpkin Spice Candy Corn
    • Ingredients contain: sesame oil
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Brach’s Candy Corn Gummies
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Ingredients contain: sesame oil
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Super Bubble Gum
    • This product is produced in a facility where eggs are used in the production of other products
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Sour Brite Eggs
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Trolli Big Bold Bears, Trolli Evil Twins
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Lemonhead, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Redhead Chewy
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Red Hots
    • This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products
  • Jawbusters
    • This product was distributed to a facility that also manufactures milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy in the production of other products

FERRERO

  • Tic Tacs

FLIX

  • Spooky Lip Pops Lollipops, Angry Birds Lollipops, Gummy Boo Bands
  • Bag of Boogers Gummies
    • Manufactured in a facility that processes gluten (wheat), milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and soy
  • Monsters, Inc. Character Candies, Lollipops and Marshmallow Eyeballs
    • Manufactured in a facility that processes walnuts, almonds, milk and eggs

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY

  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Gummy Candy Pizza
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
    • Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat
  • Gummy Body Parts
    • Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, wheat, milk and soy
  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat
  • Disney Family Favorites Lollipops
    • Made in a facility that processes soy
  • Hello Kitty Candy Rolls, Lollipops, Candy Characters

GALERIE

  • Freaky Fingers
  • Marshmallow Pops (shaped like owls, pumpkins, candy corn)

GIMBAL’S FINE CANDIES

  • Jelly Beans, Sour Lovers, Cherry Lovers, Cinnamon Lovers, LavaBalls, Licorice Scotties

GREENBRIER INTERNATIONAL

  • Skull and Bones Fruit Hard Candy, Spooky Lollipop Rings, Grave Gummies

HARIBO

  • Gold-Bears, Smurfs, Happy Cola
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
  • Twin Cherries, Peaches, Raspberries, Rattlesnakes, Frogs, Grapefruit

HERSHEY

  • Good & Fruity
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (in some flavors)

IMPACT CONFECTIONS

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes
    • Manufactured on equipment that processes peanut products
  • Warheads Super Sour Spray, Sour Dippers, Double Drops

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans (except Jelly Bean Chocolate Dips)
    • Ingredients contain: soy in some flavors: Cold Stone Chocolate Devotion®, Cold Stone Mint Mint Chocolate Chocolate Chip®, Chocolate Pudding, and Dark Chocolate
    • Jelly Belly jelly beans are not made in the same area with tree nuts but they share the packaging line. The packaging line is cleaned and inspected with each run before jelly beans are packaged, but they cannot guarantee no cross contamination.

JUST BORN

  • Hot Tamales
  • Mike & Ike Mummy Mix and Vampire Variety
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts, Chocolate Mousse Flavored Cats
    • May contain milk
  • Snack Size Mini Marshmallow Chicks
    • May contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy and wheat
  • Sugar-Free Marshmallow Pumpkins
    • May contain milk

KRAFT FOODS (877-535-5666)

  • Jet-Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows

MONDELEZ INTERNATIONAL

  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Swedish Fish

NECCO

  • Necco Wafers
    • Processed in a facility that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, milk, eggs and soy

PEZ

  • Pez, Pez Sourz

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Circus Peanuts, Saf-T-Pops, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Ingredients contain: trace amounts of soy oil except for Circus Peanuts

THE TOPPS COMPANY

  • Baby Bottle Pop, Ring Pops, Push Pops, Ring Pop Gummies
  • Bazooka Gum, Bazooka Gum Nuggets
    • Ingredients contain: may contain soy

TOOTSIE

  • Charms Blow Pops, Charms Pops, Charms Mini-Pops, Charms Candy Corn Pops
    • Milk and soy may be present
  • Dots (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Dubble Bubble Twist, Cry Baby Sour Gumballs, Gumballs, Tear Jerkers
    • soy may be present
  • Fluffy Stuff
    • Milk and soy may be present

WALGREENS

  • Bon Bon Boom Bubble Gum Pops, Tiger Pops, Magic Pops, Stripped Buttons, Fruit Barrels
    • Produced in a facility with peanuts, egg, nuts, soy, milk and wheat

WRIGLEY (MARS is parent company)

  • Altoids
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (in some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular, Lollipops
  • Skittles, Skittles Darkside
  • Starburst, Starburst Fruity Slushies, Favereds
  • Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn

WONKA (part of Nestle)

  • Bottlecaps, Pixy Stix, Runts
    • May contain egg
  • Nerds
    • Made in a facility that also processes wheat, may contain egg
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
    • May contain egg
  • Sweetarts (regular)
    • “May contain egg
  • Sweetarts Twists

WORLD CONFECTIONS

  • Candy Sticks – Marvel Ultimate Spiderman Villains, Tom and Jerry, Flinstones, Scooby Doo

HAVE A SAFE HALLOWEEN!

Spread the love

Comments

  1. Alison,
    Thanks much for your researching and providing this information. I am president of my Home Owners Association and have been asked by one resident to make our residents aware of children who will be trick or treating that may have allergies and encourage them to purchase a small quantity of candy that is allergen free for those special needs kids. As always, it is easier to get people to comply when you can hand them a list of what is acceptable and your list provides many options. I will be sharing your web site with our residents so they can choose what they may want to provide.

  2. Hi! Thanks for this list. I understand that jelly belly now has peanut free facilities, but I thought they still claimed that there are tree nuts in certain facilities. Did they tell you something different? Thanks!

  3. Hi Sam,
    Thank you for bringing up this point. I just confirmed that Jelly Belly flavors do not contain tree nuts and the jelly beans are not made in the same area with tree nuts but they share the packaging line. The packaging line is cleaned and inspected with each run before jelly beans are packaged, but they cannot guarantee no cross contamination. I have added this statement to the original post.
    Alison

  4. Alison,

    I thank you so much for this information, my daughter has food allergies and we just found out the hard way this summer and it has really been a challenge for us. This helped me make her a basket for halloween that she can eat. I am new to reading labels but I know I don’t want her to eat things that she can’t.

    Thanks

    Lesha

  5. Alison, thank you so much for getting all this info together! This is so helpful especially for new food allergy parents like me who don’t know where to find all this information.

  6. Alison…thank you so much! My son has severe peanut and tree nut allergies, and this is by far the greatest candy list we’ve seen! We participated in the Teal Pumpkin project this year, but your list has been super helpful in sorting all the loot he picked up while trick or treating!!!

  7. I’ve noticed that a lot of these candies, if not all contain artificial and natural flavors. Have you checked with each company that they don’t use soy in their flavorings?

  8. I ate Starburst a couple years ago during an 8 hour staff teacher training. I instantly reacted the same as when I accidentally ingest soy or soy lecithin. I read the labels over and over and saw nothing on there I am allergic to.

    My entire day was spent in misery. When I had gotten home, I researched the candy and saw it contains soy lecithin despite it not being on the label. Now I can’t find anywhere where it states that. I received Starburst today for Easter but am reluctant. It peeves me when companies don’t consider soy lecithin as an “allergen” and don’t put it on their labels.

  9. After some research, I believe that Altos small peppermints are NOT Gluten Free

  10. Tootsie Rolls now have partially hydrogenated soybean oil and soy lecithin. My child has had an allergic reaction rash for almost a week now. I had to comb over everything in our cabinets checking for what was causing it.

  11. Hi Harley,
    Tootsie Rolls always had soybean oil and lecithin. 🙁

  12. Does Angry Bird Lollipops have and gluten?

  13. Thank you so much!!!