Natural & Organic Halloween Candy List 2014

Posted on October 22nd, 2014 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Halloween Candy Lists | ADD A COMMENT »

Surf Sweet Spooky SpidersThis is a list of natural and organic candies. Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, tree nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I included coconut where I saw it on a label.

Note for consumers of candy: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Note for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

Need a list of mainstream candies? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Guide 2014
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014

To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

List is organized by company, with candy names below. If you can’t find them in your stores, you can order them from NaturalCandyStore.com.

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (located in Westlake, OH 440-570-6359)(www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes, chocolate lollipops, Sunbutter Cups
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, sesame
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens.
  • Sunbutter Cups
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, sesame
    • Ingredients contain: may contain soy

Note: Order by October 23rd to ensure delivery before Halloween.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2014): All of our products (except our Sunflower Cups) are free from the top 8 food allergens and processed in our facility on dedicated equipment that is free from the top 8 food allergens.

ANNIE’S (located in Berkeley, CA 800-288-1089)

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens.

CANDY TREE (available for purchase online)

  • Twists, Lariats, Laces, Bites, Lollipops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

CONTINUE READING »


Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014

Posted on October 4th, 2014 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Halloween Candy Lists | Read 6 Comments - Add Your Own »

This is a quick list of allergen-free Halloween candy for 2014. This list includes candies that do not contain gluten or the top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish or shellfish) as an ingredient. I have listed coconut separately since I don’t consider it a tree nut (nor do most allergy organizations), but I recognize that there are coconut allergies. I also listed sesame if stated on the label (sesame is becoming a more common allergen). If there is an allergen warning on the package, I included it.

StarburstFor the complete listing of allergens and company statements see the Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide 2014.

For a quick list of candies that are gluten-free, see the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014.
For a list of natural and organic candies, see the Natural & Organic Halloween Candy List 2014.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients. This list is meant as a guide only.

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Fun Pops Scooby Doo
  • Packaged on equipment that also packages egg, soy and dairy-containing products. Processed in a facility that also handles peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bites
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil

CONTINUE READING »


Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014

Posted on October 2nd, 2014 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Halloween Candy Lists | Read 21 Comments - Add Your Own »

Tootsie RollThis Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014 includes candies that do not contain wheat or gluten as an ingredient, but in some cases there is a possibility of cross-contamination, so I have included the allergen statement if it mentions wheat or gluten.

For the complete listing of allergens and company statements see the Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide 2014.
For a quick list of candies that are free of the top allergens, see the Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014.
For a list of natural and organic candies, see the Natural & Organic Halloween Candy List 2014.
To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients. This list is meant as a guide only.

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Fun Pops Scooby Doo
  • Processed in a facility that also handles wheat

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars, Mini-Bars, Big Bars
    •  Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour
  • Airheads Bites

CONTINUE READING »


Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide 2014

Posted on October 1st, 2014 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Halloween Candy Lists | Read 12 Comments - Add Your Own »

Candy-CornThe 2014 Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide is here! As I do every year, I’ve personally scoured labels to update ingredient changes and allergen statements, and gathered current manufacturers statements by web and phone. Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, tree nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I included coconut where I saw it on a label and found that this year, more companies have added coconut oil to their ingredients.

Note for consumers of candy: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Note for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

Have a specific allergen? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2014
Natural and Organic Halloween Candy List 2014
To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

List is organized by company, with candy names below:

ADAMS & BROOKS (located in Los Angeles, CA 213-749-3226)

  • Fun Pops Scooby Doo
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages egg, soy and dairy-containing products. Processed in a facility that also handles peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.”

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars, Mini-Bars, Big Bars
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour” “Made in a facility that does not process nuts.”
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Bites
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2014): Airheads Bars do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2014): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.

CONTINUE READING »


Gluten-Free Valentine’s Chocolates

Posted on February 8th, 2014 by Alison | Posted in Candy | ADD A COMMENT »

Do you love someone (yourself included!) who can’t eat gluten? Yes, flowers are nice and gluten-free, but sometimes a box of chocolates is just, well, delicious!

See's Gluten-Free Valentine ChocolateI have some good news and some bad news regarding the most popular brands of Valentine’s Day chocolates. Do you have any more to add to this list?

Good News — Gluten-Free!

SEE’S CANDIES
See’s Candies‘ new allergen list, as of January 1, 2014 states that “All See’s products do not contain gluten.” This is a change from the past, when some of their candies did contain gluten. I also confirmed this via phone. The allergen list also states which candies are nut-free, dairy-free, egg-free and soy-free. You can see their Valentine’s Day products on their website and in stores.

Ghirardelli Chocolates - Gluten-Free?Pretty Good News — Gluten-Free Ingredients

GHIRARDELLI
Ghiradelli Chocolate also has an allergen list on their website. The good news is that according to the list, all of their chocolates are gluten-free except for the ones that contain “Crisp.” However, they are all listed as Shared Equipment with gluten, so that is a decision you need to make depending on your sensitivity. (I eat Ghirardelli chocolate with no problem.) You can see their Valentine’s Day offerings on their website and in stores.

RUSSELL STOVER
Russell Stover ChocolateRussell Stover states on their website that “Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’Mores and the Cookies and Cream Rabbit, clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make our other products. So, we can’t rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free.”

Bad News — NOT Gluten-Free!

Godiva ChocolateGODIVA
Godiva states: “ALL of our products including solid chocolate pieces may contain gluten. Any person with a gluten allergy should NOT consume ANY of our products.” The same goes for nuts and dairy.

 


Allergen-Free Chocolate Chips

Posted on December 15th, 2013 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Dairy Allergy, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 2 Comments - Add Your Own »

Enjoy Life MorselsIf you are looking for an allergen-free chocolate chip, I recommend Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Morsels. Enjoy Life already has its Mini Chips and Mega Chunks, and the Morsels are a new addition.

All of these products are gluten, dairy, nut and soy-free — allergens that could be found in other chocolates. While I love the size of the Mini Chips and have been using them for years, I like the flavor of the new Morsels much better. They have a richer chocolate taste (69% cacao).

There are only two ingredients in the Morsels: Unsweetened Chocolate and Cane Sugar. The package states “Made in a dedicated nut and gluten-free facility.” It has a Gluten-Free Certification, and its allergen statement says, “The facility also processes dairy and soy; however, this products is produced on a dedicated dairy- and soy-free line. Ingredients have been additionally tested to ensure strict allergen control standards are met.”

So if you are looking for safe chocolate chips, try these! If you can’t yet find them in stores, you can buy them online at Enjoy Life Foods.


Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

Posted on October 4th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 14 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 LIST.

This is a quick list of allergen-free Halloween candy for 2011. This list includes candies that do not contain gluten or the top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish or shellfish) as an ingredient. I have included the allergen statement if it mentions any of these.For the complete listing of allergens and statements see the Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011. For a quick list of candies that are gluten-free, see the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients. This list is meant as a guide only.

spider25

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

  • Kettle Corn

 

BAZOOKA (located in New York, NY 800-489-9149)

  • Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops

CE DE CANDY (located in New Jersey 908-964-0660)

  • Smarties (only USA, not Canada), Giant Smarties, Mega Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops, Giant Smarties Pops, Candy Necklace
    • Check if it has been re-bagged for allergen info. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of Ce De Candy’s manufacturing facilities, and is allergen-free

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS (located in Minnesota 888-247-9855)

  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn(not flavored candy corns)
    • “Packaged on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy may be present in the manufacturing or packaging area.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • “Packaged on equipment that processes milk, egg, and soy. Milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and soy may be present in the manufacturing or packaging area.”
  • Heide candies – Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Red Raspberry Dollars, Red Hot Dollars Wild Cherry, Heide Gummi Bears
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • “Packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • “Manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
    • “Packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”

CONTINUE READING »


Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

Posted on October 4th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 16 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 LIST.

This is a quick list of gluten-free Halloween candy for 2011. This list includes candies that do not contain wheat or gluten as an ingredient. I have included the allergen statement if it mentions wheat or gluten. For the complete listing of allergens and statements see the Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011. For a quick list of candies that are free of the top allergens, see the Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011.

sick-pumpkin1

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients. This list is meant as a guide only.

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

Gluten-Free Candy:

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

  • Kettle Corn

 

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

  • Abba Zabba
    • There is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts
  • Big Hunk
    • Regular size (2 oz) is guaranteed gluten-free. Other sizes have the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts
  • U-No
    • There is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts

CONTINUE READING »


Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011

Posted on October 4th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 40 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 GUIDE.

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! I’ve updated the list to reflect ingredient changes, current manufacturers statements by web/phone, and I added some phone numbers so you don’t have to search them yourself if you have a question.

witchywoman21Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen.  To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Need a short list? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, wheat starch

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads Bars do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.

AMERICAN LICORICE CO. (located in Union City, CA 866-442-2783)

  • Sour Punch Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws, Sip n Chews
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Red Vines – all varieties, including Black, Natural and Fruit Vines
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): American Licorice products do not contain peanuts, tree nuts or sesame and peanut oil is not used in the manufacture any of our products. Red Vines® products do not contain peanuts. Peanut and/or peanut oil is not used to manufacture any of our products.

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

  • Kettle Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Certified gluten-free”

 

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts.”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2011): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.

CONTINUE READING »


Win Stuff Wednesday: A sweet deal!

Posted on March 23rd, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products, Win Stuff Wednesdays | Read 46 Comments - Add Your Own »

winstuffwednesdayheader1

Looking for allergen-free Easter candy or candy without artificial dyes?

Surf Sweets Jelly BeansI’d rather give my kids candy with natural flavorings and colorings over candy with artificial dyes, so I am happy to have found a great resource: NaturalCandyStore.com. I love their tag line: “All the FUN without the FUNNY stuff!” For Easter, they have added a whole section of Easter candy, categorized by allergen, vegan, gluten-free, kosher, and Feingold. There is something for everyone!

I am pleased to announce that the first Win Stuff Wednesday prize comes from the nice people at NaturalCandyStore.com who have offered one of my readers a $30 gift certificate! To win the certificate, let me know in the comments what your favorite candy was when you were a child. I used to sneak to the corner store to get my sugar fix — Tootsie Pops were my candy of choice. So, what was yours (and do you still eat it now)?

Contest ends on Saturday, March 26 at midnight PST. I will choose one winner and announce it on Sunday. Good luck!