Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

Posted on October 4th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 16 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 LIST.

This is a quick list of gluten-free Halloween candy for 2011. This list includes candies that do not contain wheat or gluten as an ingredient. I have included the allergen statement if it mentions wheat or gluten. For the complete listing of allergens and statements see the Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011. For a quick list of candies that are free of the top allergens, see the Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011.

sick-pumpkin1

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients. This list is meant as a guide only.

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

Gluten-Free Candy:

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

  • Kettle Corn

 

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

  • Abba Zabba
    • There is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts
  • Big Hunk
    • Regular size (2 oz) is guaranteed gluten-free. Other sizes have the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts
  • U-No
    • There is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts

CONTINUE READING »


Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011

Posted on October 4th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 40 Comments - Add Your Own »

THIS INFORMATION MAY BE OUTDATED. PLEASE SEE THE NEW 2013 GUIDE.

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! I’ve updated the list to reflect ingredient changes, current manufacturers statements by web/phone, and I added some phone numbers so you don’t have to search them yourself if you have a question.

witchywoman21Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen.  To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Need a short list? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

NOTE for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, wheat starch

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads Bars do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2011): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.

AMERICAN LICORICE CO. (located in Union City, CA 866-442-2783)

  • Sour Punch Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws, Sip n Chews
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Red Vines – all varieties, including Black, Natural and Fruit Vines
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2011): American Licorice products do not contain peanuts, tree nuts or sesame and peanut oil is not used in the manufacture any of our products. Red Vines® products do not contain peanuts. Peanut and/or peanut oil is not used to manufacture any of our products.

ANGIE’S ARTISAN TREATS

  • Kettle Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Certified gluten-free”

 

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts.”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2011): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.

CONTINUE READING »


Happy Birthday to my girls and a surprise allergen-free dessert

Posted on August 31st, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Babies & Kids, Food Ideas, Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 6 Comments - Add Your Own »

My girls turned 7 and 5 this month, and for their birthday celebration, I decided to have something other than cake (see their past birthday cakes: Butterfly cakes, Fish cakes, Mermaid cakes, Aloha cakes).

The dessert was a surprise up until the moment it was ready, and it was a hit! Can you guess from the picture of my happy 7 year old what it was?

chocolate-fountain-5

A chocolate fountain! With stuff to dip — all gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens.

I purchased a mini chocolate fountain on Amazon for $28. It worked great, but I think in the future I would rather have the larger size. For the chocolate I used Enjoy Life Mega Chunks with organic canola oil (you have to add oil to the chocolate to thin it for the fountain). The chocolate flowed perfectly and was delicious. People couldn’t believe it was dairy-free.

Chocolate Fountain

For the dipping I used marshmallows, pineapple (canned), strawberries, mandarin oranges (canned), Glutino pretzel sticks, Kinnikinnick animal cookies, vanilla cake cut into chunks, and more marshmallows (the most popular item), which I also put candles in for my girls to blow out during the Happy Birthday song.

For dipping and eating, I had skewers, plates, and NAPKINS! And a hose. :) Yes, it was messy, but the smiles were worth it. I recommend doing it outside (even though the instructions say not to), and getting a plastic tablecloth.

chocolate-fountain-2

chocolate-fountain-3

The chocolate fountain may just become their birthday tradition!


I owe it all to you, Mom – Happy Mother’s Day!

Posted on May 7th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Emotions, Holidays/Special Events | Read 5 Comments - Add Your Own »

I remember the day I sat at my desk at work and received a phone call from my mom. For months I had been suffering with stomach pain during the day. I sometimes had to take walks around the block to try to relieve my bloated belly, or sneak out to my car after lunch to lie down and even fall asleep because I was so tired. I had also been seeing doctors for unexplained anemia and they had given me a bone marrow test with no conclusions.

mom2I didn’t know how worried my mom was until much later, when she told me that she had worried about my health for all of my life. When I was one year old, I had spinal meningitis (the bad kind), then vitiligo, asthma and allergies as a child. Now here I was, her adult child, still worrying her with health problems. Her own experience of losing loved ones to cancer at young ages heightened her fear about what was going on with me.

After an internet search (or many), she called me and told me that I needed to read the information she had just emailed me about celiac disease. She told me that she thought I had it. Neither of us had ever heard of celiac disease. The phone call was quick — she knew that I would need to read the information myself, and within five minutes of reading, I knew that this was the answer.

The day I was diagnosed and had to start a gluten-free diet for the rest of my life, my mom did it with me. Just like that. She did it for herself, for she had suffered too with various unexplained health issues, but she mostly did it for me, and for that I am forever grateful. Though it was a bit like the blind leading the blind, having my mom go through this difficult transition with me was the best thing I could have asked for.

We have come a long way since then. I have followed my passion to help others suffering from the effects of gluten, and my mom has been my biggest supporter, whether it’s reminding me that it’s time for a new article on the blog, sharing ideas for gluten-free cooking, or letting me know about relevant medical news. She, too, wants to help people — she knows what it’s like to be in pain, and then to feel healthy again.

Mom, I owe my good health to you. To other mothers out there … let my mom be a role model to you. Trust your instincts. If someone tells you nothing is wrong with your child, and you know something is not right, trust yourself. If someone tells you that there is no cause, believe that there is. My mom gave me life, and then gave me life again. She will forever be my role model.

I love you, Mom!


How to Make Soft and Chewy Rice Crispy Treats Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free

Posted on April 17th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Food Ideas, Holidays/Special Events, Products, Recipes & Cooking Tips | Read 6 Comments - Add Your Own »

The first time I made Rice Crispy Treats, they turned out hard as a rock. After many attempts, I have a yummy and soft Rice Crispy Treat recipe, and it’s gluten-free and dairy-free too!

gluten-free-rice-crispy-tre

The key to making good Rice Crispy Treats is in both the ingredients and the technique. The ingredients in my recipe are different from the traditional Rice Krispies version. First of all, I  don’t use Rice Krispies because they are not gluten-free (they contain barley malt). This is changing in June 2011 — if you haven’t heard yet, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies is going gluten-free. This is wonderful news for so many families, and evidence of the growing and powerful gluten-free market.

I personally will continue to buy Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice Cereal Gluten FreeErewhon Crispy Brown Rice Gluten Free Cereal because I like the ingredients better: Organic brown rice, Organic brown rice syrup, Sea salt. (The new Rice Krispies will contain whole grain brown rice, sugar, salt and BHT.) Erewhon compares in taste and crispiness to Rice Krispies, and it has been a staple in my house for years.

The next change I made to the traditional recipe was to use dairy-free butter. I used Earth Balance Soy-Free Buttery Spread, and the result was soft and chewy. You can also use coconut oil, which will result in a chewy but not as soft treat with a hint of coconut taste.

Another difference in my recipe is a higher marshmallow to cereal ratio. I have always felt that rice crispy treats never had enough marshmallow, so I fixed that problem!

I discovered after trial and error that technique is important. You must slowly heat the marshmallows or you will get a rock-hard treat.

I hope you enjoy!

Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Soft and Chewy Rice Crispy Marshmallow Treats

Ingredients:
Easy to remember! 4-4-4 (or 2-2-2 if you want just a small batch)

  • 4 tablespoons Earth Balance dairy-free butter or coconut oil (coconut oil will result in crunchier treat with a hint of coconut flavor)
  • 4 cups mini marshmallows
  • 4 cups crispy rice cereal (I prefer Erewhon Gluten-Free)

Directions:

  1. Heat dairy-free butter or coconut oil on low heat until almost melted.
  2. Add marshmallow and heat S-L-O-W-L-Y in a large saucepan, with little to no stirring, until the marshmallows are almost melded together. Be patient.
  3. marshmallows melting

  4. Stir gently until the marshmallows resemble marshmallow cream. The marshmallow cream should be light and fluffy. If you heat too quickly, it will become tough and sticky, making for a tough treat. If using coconut oil, it will seem like the oil is not stirring in at first, but gently continue to incorporate it in until you don’t see any more in the edges of the pan.

    marshmallow melted

  5. When it is creamy and the butter or oil is blended in, turn off the heat, and pour the rice cereal into the pan, gently blending the marshmallow with the cereal until evenly distributed.

    marshmallow and cereal

  6. Pour into any kind of greased pan.
  7. Cut the treats with cookie cutters while warm or cool. If using coconut oil, it is better to cut the treats while warm, as they will harden. To cut, flip the treats out of the pan onto a cutting board. Cut with a knife or use cookie cutters. If using cookie cutters, you may have to run a knife along the edge to break the marshmallow strands. If the edges of the shapes turn out a bit rough, simply mold the edges with your hands to make smooth.

    Rice Crispy Treats

  8. When cool, store in an airtight container or plastic bag.
  9. Shapes can be frosted too!

Win Stuff Wednesday: A sweet deal!

Posted on March 23rd, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Holidays/Special Events, Products, Win Stuff Wednesdays | Read 46 Comments - Add Your Own »

winstuffwednesdayheader1

Looking for allergen-free Easter candy or candy without artificial dyes?

Surf Sweets Jelly BeansI’d rather give my kids candy with natural flavorings and colorings over candy with artificial dyes, so I am happy to have found a great resource: NaturalCandyStore.com. I love their tag line: “All the FUN without the FUNNY stuff!” For Easter, they have added a whole section of Easter candy, categorized by allergen, vegan, gluten-free, kosher, and Feingold. There is something for everyone!

I am pleased to announce that the first Win Stuff Wednesday prize comes from the nice people at NaturalCandyStore.com who have offered one of my readers a $30 gift certificate! To win the certificate, let me know in the comments what your favorite candy was when you were a child. I used to sneak to the corner store to get my sugar fix — Tootsie Pops were my candy of choice. So, what was yours (and do you still eat it now)?

Contest ends on Saturday, March 26 at midnight PST. I will choose one winner and announce it on Sunday. Good luck!


Valentine’s Day ideas – gluten-free and allergen-free

Posted on February 9th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Food Ideas, Holidays/Special Events | Read 5 Comments - Add Your Own »

gluten free pizza heartGluten-Free and Allergen-Free Valentine’s Day food and treat ideas so you can enjoy your day of love feeling happy and healthy:

♥ Make a gluten-free Valentine’s Day pizza!

♥ Follow the trend of cake pops – gluten-free, of course!

♥ Make sure your Valentine’s candy is gluten-free!

♥ Explore some Gluten-Free Chocolate Recipes for Love!

gluten free valentine brownies

♥ Serve up some morning love (no, I don’t mean that!) — Chocolate Cherry Drop Scones that are free of gluten and refined sugar!

♥ Make heart-shaped gluten-free brownies and frost with Valentine’s flair!

♥ Make Allergen-Free Sugar Cookies or Allergen-Free Red Velvet Cake!

allergen free valentine smore♥ Buy your sweetie some See’s Candy – make sure you check the allergen info first!

♥ Make allergen-free Sweetheart S’mores!

If you have any more Valentine’s Day ideas, leave them in the comments!


See’s Candies Gluten and Allergen List 2010

Posted on December 21st, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Holidays/Special Events, Products | Read 3 Comments - Add Your Own »

seescandies2010If I have a weakness during the holidays, it is See’s candies. As soon as a box is opened, my willpower goes out the window. See’s candies has an allergen list on their website, which may be different from the information I posted on See’s candies allergy information in 2008.

The current list is as follows from the
CONSUMER AFFAIRS DEPT.
PO Box 93024
Long Beach, CA 90809-3024
(800) 789-7337

Seeʼs Allergen Information (valid July 1, 2010 – December 31, 2010)

We have listed the most common food allergy inquiries below. If you do not see a particular allergen listed or would like additional information, please contact Seeʼs Consumer Affairs Department at (800) 789-7337 and one of our representatives will answer your questions.

Egg-Free
These products are egg-free:

  • All Foiled Novelties Milk Chocolate Drops
  • 62% Premium Dark Bar Nonpareil Jelly Eggs
  • Assorted Sugar Sticks Peanut Brittle
  • Black Cherry Lollypop Peppermint Twists
  • Butterscotch Little Pop® Pumpkin Spice Lollypop
  • Butterscotch Lollypop Root Beer Lollypop
  • Café Latté Little Pop® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Café Latté Lollypop Sour Bats
  • Chocolate Little Pop® Sour Bunnies
  • Chocolate Lollypop Sour Heart
  • Cinnamon Lollypop Sour Stars
  • Citrus Twists Sugar Free Almond Cluster
  • Dark Chocolate Almond Bar Sugar Free Dark Bar
  • Fancy Mixed Nuts Sugar Free Peanut Brittle
  • Hot Hearts Sugar Free Peanut Cluster
  • Jelly Bean Eggs Sugar Free Walnut Cluster
  • Licorice Medallions® Toffee-ettes®
  • Milk Chocolate Bar Vanilla Little Pop®
  • Milk Chocolate Bar w/ Almonds Vanilla Lollypop
  • Milk Chocolate Bar w/ Toffee Nuggets

Soy-Free
These products are soy-free:

  • Citrus Twists Peppermint Twists
  • Fancy Mixed Nuts Sour Bats
  • Hot Hearts Sour Bunnies
  • Jelly Bean Eggs Sour Hearts
  • Licorice Medallions® Sour Stars
  • Nonpareil Jelly Eggs Sugar Free Peanut Brittle
  • Peanut Brittle

Nut-Free
These products are nut-free: CONTINUE READING »


Gluten-Free Egg-Free Latke recipe

Posted on December 9th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Egg Allergy, Holidays/Special Events, Recipes & Cooking Tips | Read 5 Comments - Add Your Own »

gluten-free-egg-free-latkes2

It’s the last day of Hanukkah and this morning I found out that my daughter’s class would be making latkes. Ugh — eggs. So what does an allergy mom do but rush to the store, rush home and come up with a recipe for gluten-free egg-free latkes of course! I grew up eating latkes, so I was excited by the prospect of making them allergy-free. Searching the web, I came across a recipe called Maxine’s Latkes and at that moment I knew that I would be able to create the perfect latkes for my daughter Maxine! And I did. I hope you enjoy them too!

Maxine’s Allergy-Free Latkes

Makes about 20 latkes. CONTINUE READING »


Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Recipes and Tips 2010

Posted on November 16th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Holidays/Special Events, Recipes & Cooking Tips | Read 3 Comments - Add Your Own »

fallleaves1Are you celebrating Thanksgiving gluten-free? This will be my 7th Thanksgiving since I was diagnosed with celiac disease. The first year was hard, but each year got easier and yummier as family members and I adapted traditional dishes and created new ones.

I am thankful for many things in my life, but here I would like to express my thanks for the people who have visited this blog and have shared their life stories, their insights and their advice. I have learned so much from you all and have been so moved by your comments and emails, so THANK YOU to my readers!

If you are relatively new to the gluten-free diet or need a reminder, you will find my Thanksgiving gluten-free and food allergy tips helpful. If you’ve been at it for a while, you might like to try a new gluten-free stuffing recipe, the one I have made many times to rave reviews.

Or, check out these other wonderful resources to make your gluten-free Thanksgiving a success:

If you have other resources, links or gluten-free Thanksgiving ideas you would like to share, feel free to add them in the comments. There is a wealth of help out there today — what a difference from 7 years ago!