Raising awareness about food allergies at school

Posted on January 10th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, News & Research, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Uncategorized, Wheat Allergy | Read 10 Comments - Add Your Own »

schoolhouseI recently encouraged my daughter’s elementary school to put a food allergy program in place after the peanut butter incident. The principal liked my proposed ideas and I was able to address the entire school in an assembly on food allergies. It was well-received. In fact, my daughter told me today that whenever her classmates are eating something she is allergic to, they warn her: “Be careful, I’ve got peanut butter today.” These are first graders — it warms my heart! I have definitely sensed a heightened awareness since the assembly. I am working on the rest of the program which will be put to use at the beginning of the next school year. It is inspired by the ideas put out by The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN), but with my own twist and with a more age-appropriate message for elementary school kids.

Any program that raises awareness at school is greatly needed. I have not advocated for a peanut or nut free school, CONTINUE READING »


Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2010

Posted on October 3rd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Wheat Allergy | Read 73 Comments - Add Your Own »

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011

Here’s the list you’ve been looking for… but first, you get to see the giant spider I made in my yard last year for Halloween! The Home Depot guys cutting the black pipe to my specifications thought I was crazy! The spider is coming out again this year with some modifications (furry perhaps?)

spider1

Now on to the candy…

Each candy shows if its ingredients contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen. I called many of the manufacturers and/or checked their websites for gluten and allergen information,which I have noted at the end of each manufacturer’s section. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work! :)

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
    • Ingredients contain: no top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Packaged in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars and Airheads Bars Sour
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, wheat starch
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

AMERICAN LICORICE CO.

  • Sour Punch Twists
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Ingredients free of: none of top 8!
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”
  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2010): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.

CONTINUE READING »


Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

Posted on October 3rd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 21 Comments - Add Your Own »

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

halloweenpumpkin

This is a 2010 quick list of Halloween candy with ingredients that are gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. I have included a package statement if it mentions allergens. For a more complete listing, along with company allergy statements, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2010. For a gluten-free listing only, please read the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work! :)

Mainstream candies:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)
    • Package statement: “Packaged in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops

CADBURY ADAMS (now part of Kraft Foods)

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties (only USA, not Canada), Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Smarties Parties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
  • Candy Money
  • Love Hearts

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
    • Package statement: “Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • Package statement: “Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Heide candies — Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Cool Grape, Red Raspberry Dollars, Wild Cherry

FERRARA PAN

  • Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
    • Package statement on some: “This product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.”
  • Gummy Body Parts
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.”

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks

IMPACT CONFECTIONS

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

NECCO

  • Necco Wafers

RIVIERA

  • Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)

SPANGLER (may contain traces of soy oil)

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Candy Canes
  • Chewy Canes

TOOTSIE

  • Dots

WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles, Skittle Sour and Skittle Crazy Cores
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular and Sweet and Sour

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Runts, Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds, Spree
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Sweetarts)
  • Giant Chewy Nerds
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts, milk, wheat and soy.”

Natural/specialty candies:

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar

INDIE CANDY (www.indiecandy.com)

  • Halloween Chocolate Lollipops, Halloween Crystal Lollipops, Halloween Gummies

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Halloween Pure Pops
    • Ingredient statement: “Manufactured in a segregated area of a facility that may product products containing nuts.”

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


A case of nut allergy karma?

Posted on August 20th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Emotions, Food Allergies, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy | Read 3 Comments - Add Your Own »

nutsThis is amazing karma, but not the good kind…

Last year Joel Stein wrote an incredibly offensive piece about food allergies for the LA Times, to which I retaliated with my own article here, called What some (ignorant) people think about food allergies. Now, his own one year old son has been diagnosed with nut allergies.

There were many parents of children with food allergies who wished this karma on him. I didn’t, because I would never wish food allergies on anyone. Bluntly speaking (since this is how Stein likes to write), FOOD ALLERGIES SUCK! It is a burden for us as parents, for the kids themselves, and for pretty much everyone around them. As a parent of a first-grader with food allergies, I’m not sure how much Stein understands how challenging it really is yet, but at least now he believes food allergies are real!

He won’t be the last one that needs to be convinced about the reality of food allergies. Right now there is some kid sneaking peanut butter to school in his lunch because his parent packed it for him and told him to be quiet about it. We have more educating to do!

Read these other articles about Stein eating his words:


Easter candy gluten-free and allergen-free

Posted on March 30th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Soy Allergy | Read 1 Comment - Add Your Own »

Easter is coming quickly! Are you ready?

Let’s cut to the chase! This list is by no means complete… but here are some ideas. You can also check out last year’s Easter article. Post more ideas in the comments if you have them!

JELLY BEANS:

  • jellybeans2Jelly Belly
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy*, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.
    • Allergen info (via web March 2010):
      *Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor.
      Are your Jelly Belly jelly beans gluten-free?
      All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.
      If I am allergic to peanuts, can I eat Jelly Belly jelly beans?
      Please continue to carefully check all ingredient statements on packages and bulk bins for peanut ingredients.  We discontinued Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly beans (this flavor contained peanut butter and peanut flour) however, it is possible this flavor may still be included in packages sold in retail stores.
      None of the other flavors of Jelly Belly beans contain peanuts as an ingredient.  We no longer process peanuts in our manufacturing plants.
      Are Jelly Belly jelly beans dairy-free?
      Yes.  We work very closely with all of our ingredient suppliers to ensure that all ingredients are free of dairy.
  • Surf Sweets
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy*, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • Allergen Info (via web March 2010):
      Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
      Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
      Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
      Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.
  • Gimbal’s
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • Allergen info (via web March 2010):
      Gimbal’s Fine Candies facilities are free of these eight most common food allergens.
  • Just Born
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • Allergen info (via phone March 2010)
      Please always check packaging as ingredients can change from year to year, but at this time, the jelly beans are free of gluten and the top 8 allergens.
  • Update: Jolly Rancher, Starburst, Lifesaver and Mike & Ike Jelly Beans are all free of the top 8 allergens!

BUNNIES & CHICKS & EGGS, oh my!

  • peepsPeeps
    • Gluten-free (including chocolate covered peeps)
    • Regular peeps are free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish). Chocolate covered peeps contain dairy and have an allergen warning for peanut, tree nut, egg and coconut.
    • Allergen info (via phone March 2010)
      Please always check packaging as ingredients can change from year to year,
      but at this time, Peeps are free of gluten and the top 8 allergens.
  • Hershey’s
    • Check label!
    • Stay away from Robin Eggs! These are Whoppers in an Easter disguise, and they contain gluten.
    • Hershey’s allergen info:
      The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.
  • Make your own chocolate eggs and lollipops!
    If you’re worried about the ingredients in the available chocolates out there, trying making your own! Here’s how I did it:

    1. I got Easter egg and bunny lollipop molds at a baking supply store (Cake Art).
    2. I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips.
    3. I tempered the chocolate in the microwave (see end of post for instructions), poured it in, and let it set in refrigerator.
    4. I wrapped the little chocolates with colored foil and the lollipops with clear plastic and a pretty ribbon.
    5. I marveled at my work — it was so easy I couldn’t believe it! :)
  • Garnish baked goods with bunnies and other Easter decor
    If you can’t actually find a bunny to eat, then stick one on top of a treat! Last year I made these mini-cupcakes using Pamela’s Vanilla and Chocolate cake and frosting mixes, with Wilton sprinkles and some bunny decorations. They were a hit and I will be making something similar again this year.

eastercupcakes

How to temper chocolate in a microwave oven to make chocolate molds (from the Guittard website):

  1. Place chocolate in a microwave-proof bowl. Place the bowl of chocolate in the microwave oven. Set power level to 5 or 50%. Set time to 30 seconds. Heat for 30 seconds.
  2. Take the bowl out of microwave oven and use a rubber spatula in a gentle sweeping motion to stir the chocolate, even if none of it has become liquid yet.
  3. Return the bowl to the microwave oven. Heat for 30 seconds more. Remove. And stir.
  4. Repeat the intervals of heating and stirring until about two-thirds of the chunks become liquid and about one-third are in soft lumps. The temperature of the liquid chocolate at this point will be about 100°. Continually stir to cool the chocolate until the soft lumps disappear and the temperature lowers to 89°F.
  5. At this point the chocolate should be in temper and ready to use.

Thanksgiving gluten-free and food allergy tips

Posted on November 14th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Recipes & Cooking Tips | Read 5 Comments - Add Your Own »

Are you ready to navigate Thanksgiving with celiac disease, gluten intolerance or food allergies? Need some help? Here are some tips about those traditional Thanksgiving dishes to help you get through this food-centered holiday!

glutenfreethanksgivingturkeTHE TURKEY

Turkey by itself is naturally gluten-free, of course, but turkeys that are prepared for roasting may have added gluten. Be sure to check labels for “wheat” (which must by law be declared on a label) or for “natural flavorings” (which could have hidden sources of gluten). And definitely steer clear of those gravy packets that come with some turkeys — they are sure to contain wheat flour.

THE GRAVY

Gravy is almost always thickened with wheat flour. To make a gluten-free gravy, use sweet rice flour (also known as mochiko), cornstarch, arrowroot powder/starch or tapioca flour. Be sure to mix any of these with a little water or broth before whisking into the gravy.

Gravy can also contain dairy, as many people like to add butter, milk or cream.

THE STUFFING

Stuffing is made with bread (and therefore, gluten) — no wonder everyone feels stuffed afterword! Gluten-free stuffing is just as easy to make and you won’t have to unbutton the top of your pants after you’re done!

Try this recipe for gluten-free dairy-free stuffing that I have made many times.

Or, try this easy gluten-free bread stuffing recipe from Whole Foods using their gluten-free bread.

Or, if you like cornbread stuffing, make gluten-free cornbread with Pamela’s Cornbread and Muffin Mix and then use it in any old cornbread stuffing recipe and voila! Everybody will LOVE it! There’s even a recipe for Southern Cornbread Dressing on the bag of cornbread mix, and Karina’s got a new yummy-looking gluten-free cornbread stuffing recipe too.

For those with egg allergies, watch out for the bread in the stuffing since it could contain eggs. Some stuffing recipes call for eggs to be added to the entire stuffing mixture.

For those with nut allergies, watch out for chestnuts, and other tree nuts, which are very commonly used in stuffing.

THE MASHED POTATOES

No worries about gluten in mashed potatoes (usually), but they often contain dairy — people add butter and sour cream to make them creamy. Want to make your own creamy mashed potatoes? Try this creamy dairy free mashed potatoes recipe or this allergy free mashed potatoes recipe.

Mashed sweet potatoes or sweet potato gratin dishes also usually contain dairy due to the added butter. And if your family has served that weird sweet potato dish with marshmallows on top (mine has), watch out for pecans you have a nut allergy.

THE PIE (I’m talking pumpkin of course!)

I have never been a fan of pumpkin pie, but it is good to know that I wouldn’t have to give it up if I did like it! The “regular” ones contain wheat of course, but there are a lot of great gluten-free and dairy-free pumpkin pie recipes out there:

Dairy-free, soy-free, gluten-free pumpkin pie recipe from Go Dairy Free

Crustless gluten-free pumpkin pie from gfe — gluten-free easily

Gluten-free dairy-free egg-free pumpkin pie from Karina’s Kitchen

Not a baker?
Get your hands on a gluten-free dairy-free pumpkin tart from Crave Bakery or a Whole Foods Bakehouse pumpkin pie.

Well, I hope this helps a little, and remember:
The day is not just about the food, so give thanks for what you HAVE in your life, rather than dwelling on what you don’t! Happy Thanksgiving, and feel free to add more recipe ideas and tips in the comments!


Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 10 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweencatTHE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST: Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

This is a quick list of Halloween candy (October 2009) that is gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

For a more complete listing, along with allergy statements, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2009. For a gluten-free listing only, please read the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List.

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Pops
  • Whistle Pops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties
  • Bubble Gum Smarties
  • Candy Money
  • Smarties in a Pouch
  • Tropical Smarties
  • X-TREME Sour Smarties
  • Smarties Parties
  • Smarties Double Lollies
  • Smarties Mega Lollies
  • Smarties Pops

ENJOY LIFE

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Crispy Rice Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Milk Bar

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs)
  • Rain-Blo Pops (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts)
  • Atomic Fireball (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Jawbreakers (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits (made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Smarties
  • Sweetarts (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns)
    • “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)

FERRARA PAN

Some packages state: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
  • Jawbreakers

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Sticks

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles
  • Skittles Sour
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy fruit flavors
  • Lifesavers Pops
  • Lifesavers Gummies

PURE FUN

  • Lollipops
  • Cotton Candy
  • Hard Candies
  • Chocolate Meltdowns

SPANGLER (may contain traces of soy oil)

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts

SURF SWEETS

  • Gummy Worms
  • Gummy Swirls
  • Gummy Bears
  • Fruity Bears
  • Jelly Beans
  • Sour Worms
  • Sour Berry Bears

TOOTSIE

  • Dots
  • Bat Dots
  • Candy Corn Dots
  • Ghost Dots

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
  • Chewy Gobstopper
  • Runts (not Chewy),
  • Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour
  • Pixy Stix
  • Sweetarts (regular)
  • Tart N Tinys
  • Nerds

YUMMY EARTH

  • Lollipops
  • Candy Drops
  • Gummy Bears
  • Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 65 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweenwitch1THE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST:
Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy List 2010

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! It’s that time of year again — the decorations are starting to appear, the scary costumes are peering out of store windows, and my children are already excited and talking about the candy they get to eat. Halloween is coming, but don’t get spooked! I have made things easy for you again this year with a list of Halloween candy available, both mainstream and specialty, and their gluten-free and allergen-free status.

Each candy shows if it contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not present in any of the candies on this list.) Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List
Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts
    • Contains: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin, “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Free of: none of top 8!
    • Contains: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil, “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen Statement (via web Oct 09): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin. We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.
Gluten Statement: Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs
  • Rain-Blo Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts
  • Atomic Fireball
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits

    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Smarties
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sweetarts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein
  • Now and Later regular
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk, eggs
    • Contains: soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil, on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

FERRARA PAN

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Do you process and pack products that contain allergens? We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), manufactured on the same equipment that manufactures almonds”
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mounds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin
  • Reese’s
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: soy, peanuts, milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via email Oct 09): Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free and OU kosher. There are no eggs, fish or shellfish. Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor. Otherwise no soy products. Some packages still on the market will carry an allergy statement “made in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts”.  The company no longer processes peanuts but some packages may remain in retail. It’s best the check the package to be sure. Also one new collection of flavors Jelly Belly SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are your candies gluten-free? The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • 3 Musketeers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way
    • Free of: tree nuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Twix
    • Free of: tree nuts, eggs, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, “may contain peanuts”
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Contains: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): read their policy on allergen labeling

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Crunch
    • Free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt), “made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Raisinets
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, “made on equipment that also processes peanuts”
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein, “made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy (see note below)

Allergen Info: *A note about soy. Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction.  Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk.  Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products.  Please check the back panel for country of origin.

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Charms Flat Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots, including Bat Dots, Candy Corn Dots and Ghost Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Mints Inside Outs:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), contains milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Babies Caramel Apple:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, contains egg
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

    Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

Here is a list of natural and specialty candy companies – great for kids with food allergies!

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Our products are only made from DAIRY FREE and TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our products so there is no chance for cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): This product does not contain the following eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, egg-free, and sesame-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Lollipops, Cotton Candy, Hard Candies, Chocolate Meltdowns
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At Pure Fun™, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure Fun™ is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure Fun™ brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge and candy corn all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are any of the major allergens, including peanuts or tree nuts, used in your product?  No, plus our plant does not produce anything
with tree-nuts or peanuts. YummyEarth’s organic lollipops and drops are enjoyed by corn sensitive people around the world.

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Food allergy treatment update… and a thank you

Posted on April 21st, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Food Allergies, News & Research, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy | Read 1 Comment - Add Your Own »

I would like to send out a big THANK YOU to the brave and patient families who have volunteered for the food allergy studies that are currently underway. I truly believe that their devotion will result in a treatment that will allow my daughter to be free of her severe food allergies someday. I wish you success!

There are currently three types of food allergy studies being conducted under doctor supervision (don’t try these at home!):

  • Oral immunotherapy: Patients build immunity to food allergen by swallowing gradually increasing amounts of the foods.
  • Sublingual therapy: Patients build immunity by putting drops of allergenic proteins under the tongue (this allows for faster absorption into bloodstream).
  • Food allergy herbal formula-2: “FAHF-2″ is a pill that contains nine botanical herbs, including ginseng and oil made from cinnamon tree bark. I wrote about this one: Could Chinese herbs be used to treat asthma and food allergy?

To learn more about these studies and also about the sacrifices that some families have made to be a part of the studies, read USA Today’s story: New strategies may help overcome food allergies.

Related articles:


Could Chinese herbs be used to treat asthma and food allergy?

Posted on February 24th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Food Allergies, News & Research, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy | Read 8 Comments - Add Your Own »

One of the most difficult things about food allergies is that there is no sure treatment and the only way to avoid a reaction is to avoid the food that causes it. As a parent of a child with severe food allergies, I can only hope that a cure will be found so that I don’t have to worry for the rest of her life about what would happen if she ate the wrong thing. Ah, the freedom that would bring.

The good news is that there is progress being made in the current research that is being conducted on food allergy. There has been some progress made in using desensitization to treat peanut allergy. This means that peanut-allergic kids were given little doses of peanut to increase their tolerance to it. All the kids were eventually able to tolerate at least 10 peanuts! This is indeed progress and larger studies will now be conducted.

chinesemedicineI was especially intrigued by an entirely different approach to treating asthma and food allergy — one that uses Chinese herbs to prevent a food allergy reaction. Researchers led by Dr. Xiu-Min Li,  Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Director of Center for Chinese Herbal Therapy for Allergy and Asthma at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, developed two different herbal formulas.

One is called Anti-Asthma Herbal Medicine Intervention (ASHMI). In the first studies, it was found that patients showed improved lung function after taking the formula. They also found that the herbs proved safe for those taking the formula. Longer-term studies need to be conducted still.

The other herbal formula is called Food Allergy Herbal Formula 2 (FAHF-2) and is made up of 9 herbal extracts. When used on mice allergic to peanuts, this formula completely blocked peanut-induced anaphylaxis, and protected the mice from having a reaction for 9 months after the treatment (a quarter of their lifetime)! Studies using the formula are now being conducted on humans.

Dr. Xiu-Min Li points out in a news article about her that food allergy is rare in China and that asthma is far less common than in the United States, and perhaps that is due to the fact that China has used plants, which may be more effective than the drugs used here, to promote health for thousands of years. I hope her work proves she is right! You can read more about how the Herbal Remedy Could Halt Peanut Allergy.

Related reading:
How many outgrow nut allergies?