Allergen-Free Chocolate Chips

Posted on December 15th, 2013 by Alison | Posted in Candy, Dairy Allergy, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 2 Comments - Add Your Own »

Enjoy Life MorselsIf you are looking for an allergen-free chocolate chip, I recommend Enjoy Life Dark Chocolate Morsels. Enjoy Life already has its Mini Chips and Mega Chunks, and the Morsels are a new addition.

All of these products are gluten, dairy, nut and soy-free — allergens that could be found in other chocolates. While I love the size of the Mini Chips and have been using them for years, I like the flavor of the new Morsels much better. They have a richer chocolate taste (69% cacao).

There are only two ingredients in the Morsels: Unsweetened Chocolate and Cane Sugar. The package states “Made in a dedicated nut and gluten-free facility.” It has a Gluten-Free Certification, and its allergen statement says, “The facility also processes dairy and soy; however, this products is produced on a dedicated dairy- and soy-free line. Ingredients have been additionally tested to ensure strict allergen control standards are met.”

So if you are looking for safe chocolate chips, try these! If you can’t yet find them in stores, you can buy them online at Enjoy Life Foods.


zpizza – gluten-free, dairy-free and egg-free

Posted on August 19th, 2012 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Dining Out, Egg Allergy, Restaurants/Stores, Soy Allergy | ADD A COMMENT »

Most of America takes for granted the ability to go out for pizza or have it delivered. Most families I know have pizza at least once a week and it is the standard food for birthday parties and sports team outings. If you have to avoid gluten, finding pizza gets a little more challenging, but there are more and more options out there. If you also have to avoid eggs and/or dairy, however, it becomes almost impossible to find a good, safe pizza.

zpizza, a pizza chain started in southern California, offers not only a gluten-free, dairy-free and egg-free crust (made by Venice Bakery), but also offers Daiya cheese for those who want a non-dairy cheese option (it is also soy-free). They offer a gluten-free menu online and in the stores, as well as a vegan menu.

I really liked the pizza. The crust was crunchy but not crackery, and the toppings were really fresh. The meats are nitrate-free, the tomato sauce is organic and the veggies options are interesting, like arugula, shitake mushrooms, caramelized onions and capers.

But the best part of all was that my gluten-free egg-allergic daughter could order a pizza. It’s the little things!

Note: zpizza states that they are not a gluten-free environment. While I was at the Petaluma, CA location they seemed very careful and used dedicated pans in the oven, but please dine at your own risk. If you have nut allergies please note that they use peanuts and pine nuts in some of their sauces.

 


Gluten-Free Corn Dog Recipe – Dairy-Free and Egg-Free too!

Posted on July 12th, 2012 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Soy Allergy | Read 2 Comments - Add Your Own »

A seven year old kid that has never had a corn dog? Hard to believe, but even the gluten-free corn dogs on the market have eggs in them, which my daughter is allergic to. So, once again, necessity is the mother of invention! Corn dogs were on the menu at her camp this week, and I just couldn’t let my daughter be left out! Fryin’ up corn dogs at 8 am isn’t my normal morning routine, but the end result was worth my kitchen smelling like fried oil for the rest of the day. These corn dogs were so yummy, we even shared one for breakfast!

Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Egg-Free Corn Dogs

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag Pamela’s Cornbread & Muffin Mix
  • 2 tablespoons sugar (for taste – optional)
  • Ener-G Egg Replacer prepared to the equivalent of 3 eggs (or use 2 real eggs if you can have eggs) (also, I’m not even sure you need any eggs or egg replacer at all – it might work without it but I didn’t try that!)
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance Soy-Free Buttery Spread, melted (or use real butter if you can have dairy)
  • 3/4 cup water, more or less
  • 6 to 10 hot dogs, depending on the size
  • Oil for frying. How much oil you need is going to depend on what kind of pan you are using. If you have a deep fryer, lucky you. I do not, so I used a lot of oil in a pan big enough to lay a corn dog across.
  • Skewers

Directions:

  1. Mix Cornbread & Muffin Mix, sugar, melted butter and egg replacer together in a bowl – it will be extremely thick and dry.
  2. Gradually add water until the batter becomes uniform, but is still rather thick.
  3. It is best for hot dogs to be at room temperature and dry. Test the batter by dipping the end of a hot dog into the bowl to see how it sticks. If it is too thick, add more water.
  4. When the batter has reached the right consistency, pour it into a tall glass.
  5. Heat oil. I don’t have a thermometer to test the oil, but I read that you want frying oil to be at the point where a chunk of bread dropped in will brown in 60 seconds. I used this method with a chunk of gluten-free bread.
  6. Insert a skewer into each hot dog, almost to the end. If the skewer is too long, cut or break it off to leave just a small handle.
  7. Dip the hot dog into the tall glass of batter. You may have to swirl it around a bit to get it evenly coated. Pull the coated hot dog out of the glass and fill in holes with batter if needed with a wooden spoon.
  8. Immediately put in the frying oil until browned. Use tongs to pull the corn dog out and set on paper towels.
  9. Batter may get thicker as it sits. Add more water as needed.
  10. Serve hot or let cool and then freeze.

 


So Delicious debuts Almond Milk products

Posted on April 3rd, 2012 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | ADD A COMMENT »

Every year in March I attend Natural Products Expo West, which is a trade show featuring the foods, beauty care and lifestyle products in the natural foods industry (all the brands you see in So Delicious Almond Milk ice creamWhole Foods and other natural foods stores and the companies that are trying to get their products in to those stores). It is a really fun time seeing people I know and getting to try all the new foods that my favorite brands, and new brands, are showcasing. I am on the hunt at these shows, looking for gluten-free and other foods that cater to special diets. I will be posting about some of the new products I sampled, and first up is one for you dairy-free folks out there…

So Delicious is a brand known for its milk-alternative products, such as soy and coconut beverages, yogurts and desserts. They have added another dairy-free option to their line with Almond Milk products, which they say are lower in calories, fat, sodium and sugar. They are dairy, soy and gluten-free (with the exception of Cookies n Cream ice cream and the ice cream sandwich).

So Delicious Almond Milk BarHere are the new products I saw and tasted at the show:

  • Greek-Style Cultured Almond Milk in Blueberry, Chocolate, Plain, Strawberry and Vanilla
  • Ice Creams – Butter Pecan, Cherry Amaretto, Chocolate, Cookies n Cream, Mint Chip, Mocha Almond Fudge, Vanilla
  • Frozen Dessert Novelties, including chocolate covered Vanilla Bar, Mocha Almond Fudge Bar and Vanilla Ice Cream Sandwich

They were all so delicious! :)

Now, as a mother of a child with a nut allergy, I was concerned that the coconut milk products we normally eat might be contaminated now that almonds are part of the line. We LOVE So Delicious coconut milk products and would be sad to have to give them up. From the email I received from the company, it looks like we won’t have to:

Like all other non-dairy beverages, our almond milk products are produced in some of the same facilities where dairy, soymilk, and our coconut milk are produced. With this in mind, our team takes the cleanliness of the production facility, prevention from cross-contamination, and validation of the allergen-free status of our products extremely seriously.

Many of our customers have food sensitivities and food allergies, and they have come to rely upon us for more than two decades to provide safe and delicious food options for their families. So Delicious® Dairy Free is a market leader in allergen testing and a world-class benchmark for food integrity. We apply strict quality-control measures, which are noted as the most stringent in the industry, in an effort to prevent contamination by undeclared food allergens. To assure our preventative measures are effective, we sample test our products for the presence of allergens using state-of-the-art testing methods.

Our allergen testing is trusted by allergen organizations and thousands and thousands of households, because we have a documented and regimented program that is instituted at every facility where we produce So Delicious® Dairy Free. It involves some of the most rigorous testing in the world, and that testing is conducted at various stages of production–from testing the raw materials and ingredients to the manufacturing lines to the final product. We ensure that the product that is shipped into stores is safe and of the highest quality. And we test all of our allergen ingredients down to 5 parts per million. Just to give you some perspective, the FDA allows companies to declare they are gluten-free if they test to 20 parts per million. But we are committed to testing that is four times as sensitive.

To learn more about our allergen-prevention program visit us at: http://sodeliciousdairyfree.com/allergen-information

If you are dairy-free, and even if you aren’t, this new product line will be a welcome addition to your diet!


Egg-free soy-free mayonnaise

Posted on April 29th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Egg Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 18 Comments - Add Your Own »

I have been looking for egg-free soy-free mayonnaise, and have finally found it! Vegenaise has always been eggless, but they used soy in all of their mayos. Their new product is soy-free also for those also avoiding soy (mayonnaise is always dairy-free, in case you were wondering).

soy-free-vegenaise1I wanted the mayo for my daughter who is allergic to eggs and intolerant to soy. The funny thing is that since she is 6 years old and has never had mayonnaise, she is not accustomed to it. Someone who discovers their allergies or intolerance later in life wants to find replacements for the things he/she used to eat. Although my daughter is not very interested in it, I think I could use it to widen her food choices with mayonnaise dip for veggies, or maybe she’ll take to tuna salad.  (I never did!) Or, maybe it’s just nice to have it in case she ever feels deprived when we’re all dipping our artichokes in mayo.

It’s great that companies are making products for people with food allergies. I know I’m lucky that I live in area where I can find a wide selection of specialty items. For those living in other parts of the country, it can be so difficult. Ask at your grocery store to see if they can get the products you need.

Soy-Free Vegenaise Dressing and Sandwich Spread is a refrigerated item. The ingredients are: Expeller-pressed Hi-Oleic Safflower Oil, Filtered Water, Brown Rice Syrup, Apple Cider Vinegar, Pea Protein, Sea Salt, Mustard Flour and Lemon Juice Concentrate.

For more information about Vegenaise, go to www.followyourheart.com (you may not see this product on the website yet) or call 1-888-394-3949.

Does anyone have any good recipes that use mayonnaise?


Spectrum shortening – new butter flavor, still dairy-free

Posted on January 3rd, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Products, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Soy Allergy | Read 13 Comments - Add Your Own »

spectrum-shortening-butter1Looking for a dairy-free substitute for baking? Instead of butter or margarine, I have used Spectrum Organic Shortening made from palm oil. It works well, although it has such a neutral flavor that it doesn’t give baked goods the same buttery taste as those made with butter or margarine. Problem solved: Spectrum’s new Organic Butter Flavor Shortening!

I have only seen this product in one store so far, Mother’s Market in Orange County, California (I LOVE this market — incredible selection of gluten-free and other allergen-free foods). It isn’t even shown on the website yet, but I called the company and they gave me the ingredients: Organic palm oil, natural butter flavor (non-dairy), annatto and turmeric for color.

I love that more companies are accommodating dairy allergies with products like these.


Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

Posted on October 3rd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 21 Comments - Add Your Own »

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

halloweenpumpkin

This is a 2010 quick list of Halloween candy with ingredients that are gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. I have included a package statement if it mentions allergens. For a more complete listing, along with company allergy statements, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2010. For a gluten-free listing only, please read the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work! :)

Mainstream candies:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)
    • Package statement: “Packaged in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops

CADBURY ADAMS (now part of Kraft Foods)

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties (only USA, not Canada), Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Smarties Parties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
  • Candy Money
  • Love Hearts

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
    • Package statement: “Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • Package statement: “Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Heide candies — Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Cool Grape, Red Raspberry Dollars, Wild Cherry

FERRARA PAN

  • Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
    • Package statement on some: “This product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.”
  • Gummy Body Parts
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.”

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks

IMPACT CONFECTIONS

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

NECCO

  • Necco Wafers

RIVIERA

  • Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)

SPANGLER (may contain traces of soy oil)

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Candy Canes
  • Chewy Canes

TOOTSIE

  • Dots

WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles, Skittle Sour and Skittle Crazy Cores
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular and Sweet and Sour

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Runts, Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds, Spree
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Sweetarts)
  • Giant Chewy Nerds
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts, milk, wheat and soy.”

Natural/specialty candies:

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar

INDIE CANDY (www.indiecandy.com)

  • Halloween Chocolate Lollipops, Halloween Crystal Lollipops, Halloween Gummies

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Halloween Pure Pops
    • Ingredient statement: “Manufactured in a segregated area of a facility that may product products containing nuts.”

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


New dairy-free soy-free cheese alternative

Posted on April 6th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 15 Comments - Add Your Own »

daiyaThere is a new dairy-free soy-free cheese called Daiya that is just hitting shelves! I like this one better than others I have tried. Does it taste just like real cheese? No — did you really expect otherwise? But it tastes pretty good and it melts!

The vegan cheese is available in Cheddar Style Shreds and Mozarella Style Shreds, and the front of the package says “Melts & Stretches.”

The ingredients of the Mozarella Style are:
Filtered water, tapioca and/or arrowroot flours, non-GMO expeller pressed canola and or non-GMO expeller pressed safflower oil, coconut oil, pea protein, salt, vegan natural flavors, inactive yeast, vegetable glycerin, sunflower lecithin, calcium citrate, xanthan gum, citric acid (for flavor), vegan bacterial cultures.
It is gluten-free and soy-free and made in a facility free of animal products, milk, egg, soy and nuts.

Just because it is available doesn’t mean that I think people should be eating non-dairy cheese on everything, BUT it is nice to put on a kid’s pizza (especially at a birthday party where they want to fit in!) or in a quesadilla or in mac & cheese.

amysmaccheeseIn fact, Amy’s Kitchen has a new gluten-free dairy-free soy-free Rice Macaroni with Non-Dairy Cheeze that is using Daiya cheese! Also, in the San Francisco Bay Area, Amici’s East Coast Pizzeria uses it as their vegan cheese option on all their pizzas (they also have a gluten-free crust!)

Where can you find the new cheese? Here is a list of locations on the Daiya website. I found both the Daiya cheese and the Amy’s frozen mac & cheese at Whole Foods.

Looking for other dairy-free soy-free alternatives? Try these:
Dairy-free soy-free butter
Dairy-free soy-free shortening
Dairy-free soy-free yogurt
Dairy-free soy-free rice cheese
Dairy-free soy-free ice cream
Dairy-free soy-free ice cream (another one)


Easter candy gluten-free and allergen-free

Posted on March 30th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Soy Allergy | Read 1 Comment - Add Your Own »

Easter is coming quickly! Are you ready?

Let’s cut to the chase! This list is by no means complete… but here are some ideas. You can also check out last year’s Easter article. Post more ideas in the comments if you have them!

JELLY BEANS:

  • jellybeans2Jelly Belly
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy*, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.
    • Allergen info (via web March 2010):
      *Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor.
      Are your Jelly Belly jelly beans gluten-free?
      All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.
      If I am allergic to peanuts, can I eat Jelly Belly jelly beans?
      Please continue to carefully check all ingredient statements on packages and bulk bins for peanut ingredients.  We discontinued Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly beans (this flavor contained peanut butter and peanut flour) however, it is possible this flavor may still be included in packages sold in retail stores.
      None of the other flavors of Jelly Belly beans contain peanuts as an ingredient.  We no longer process peanuts in our manufacturing plants.
      Are Jelly Belly jelly beans dairy-free?
      Yes.  We work very closely with all of our ingredient suppliers to ensure that all ingredients are free of dairy.
  • Surf Sweets
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy*, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • Allergen Info (via web March 2010):
      Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
      Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
      Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
      Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.
  • Gimbal’s
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • Allergen info (via web March 2010):
      Gimbal’s Fine Candies facilities are free of these eight most common food allergens.
  • Just Born
    • Gluten-free
    • Free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish)
    • Allergen info (via phone March 2010)
      Please always check packaging as ingredients can change from year to year, but at this time, the jelly beans are free of gluten and the top 8 allergens.
  • Update: Jolly Rancher, Starburst, Lifesaver and Mike & Ike Jelly Beans are all free of the top 8 allergens!

BUNNIES & CHICKS & EGGS, oh my!

  • peepsPeeps
    • Gluten-free (including chocolate covered peeps)
    • Regular peeps are free of top 8 allergens (wheat, milk, soy, nuts, peanuts, egg, fish, shellfish). Chocolate covered peeps contain dairy and have an allergen warning for peanut, tree nut, egg and coconut.
    • Allergen info (via phone March 2010)
      Please always check packaging as ingredients can change from year to year,
      but at this time, Peeps are free of gluten and the top 8 allergens.
  • Hershey’s
    • Check label!
    • Stay away from Robin Eggs! These are Whoppers in an Easter disguise, and they contain gluten.
    • Hershey’s allergen info:
      The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.
  • Make your own chocolate eggs and lollipops!
    If you’re worried about the ingredients in the available chocolates out there, trying making your own! Here’s how I did it:

    1. I got Easter egg and bunny lollipop molds at a baking supply store (Cake Art).
    2. I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips.
    3. I tempered the chocolate in the microwave (see end of post for instructions), poured it in, and let it set in refrigerator.
    4. I wrapped the little chocolates with colored foil and the lollipops with clear plastic and a pretty ribbon.
    5. I marveled at my work — it was so easy I couldn’t believe it! :)
  • Garnish baked goods with bunnies and other Easter decor
    If you can’t actually find a bunny to eat, then stick one on top of a treat! Last year I made these mini-cupcakes using Pamela’s Vanilla and Chocolate cake and frosting mixes, with Wilton sprinkles and some bunny decorations. They were a hit and I will be making something similar again this year.

eastercupcakes

How to temper chocolate in a microwave oven to make chocolate molds (from the Guittard website):

  1. Place chocolate in a microwave-proof bowl. Place the bowl of chocolate in the microwave oven. Set power level to 5 or 50%. Set time to 30 seconds. Heat for 30 seconds.
  2. Take the bowl out of microwave oven and use a rubber spatula in a gentle sweeping motion to stir the chocolate, even if none of it has become liquid yet.
  3. Return the bowl to the microwave oven. Heat for 30 seconds more. Remove. And stir.
  4. Repeat the intervals of heating and stirring until about two-thirds of the chunks become liquid and about one-third are in soft lumps. The temperature of the liquid chocolate at this point will be about 100°. Continually stir to cool the chocolate until the soft lumps disappear and the temperature lowers to 89°F.
  5. At this point the chocolate should be in temper and ready to use.

Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 10 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweencatTHE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST: Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

This is a quick list of Halloween candy (October 2009) that is gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

For a more complete listing, along with allergy statements, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2009. For a gluten-free listing only, please read the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List.

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Pops
  • Whistle Pops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties
  • Bubble Gum Smarties
  • Candy Money
  • Smarties in a Pouch
  • Tropical Smarties
  • X-TREME Sour Smarties
  • Smarties Parties
  • Smarties Double Lollies
  • Smarties Mega Lollies
  • Smarties Pops

ENJOY LIFE

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Crispy Rice Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Milk Bar

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs)
  • Rain-Blo Pops (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts)
  • Atomic Fireball (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Jawbreakers (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits (made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Smarties
  • Sweetarts (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns)
    • “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)

FERRARA PAN

Some packages state: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
  • Jawbreakers

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Sticks

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles
  • Skittles Sour
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy fruit flavors
  • Lifesavers Pops
  • Lifesavers Gummies

PURE FUN

  • Lollipops
  • Cotton Candy
  • Hard Candies
  • Chocolate Meltdowns

SPANGLER (may contain traces of soy oil)

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts

SURF SWEETS

  • Gummy Worms
  • Gummy Swirls
  • Gummy Bears
  • Fruity Bears
  • Jelly Beans
  • Sour Worms
  • Sour Berry Bears

TOOTSIE

  • Dots
  • Bat Dots
  • Candy Corn Dots
  • Ghost Dots

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
  • Chewy Gobstopper
  • Runts (not Chewy),
  • Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour
  • Pixy Stix
  • Sweetarts (regular)
  • Tart N Tinys
  • Nerds

YUMMY EARTH

  • Lollipops
  • Candy Drops
  • Gummy Bears
  • Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.