Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 65 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweenwitch1THE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST:
Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy List 2010

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! It’s that time of year again — the decorations are starting to appear, the scary costumes are peering out of store windows, and my children are already excited and talking about the candy they get to eat. Halloween is coming, but don’t get spooked! I have made things easy for you again this year with a list of Halloween candy available, both mainstream and specialty, and their gluten-free and allergen-free status.

Each candy shows if it contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not present in any of the candies on this list.) Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List
Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts
    • Contains: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin, “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Free of: none of top 8!
    • Contains: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil, “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen Statement (via web Oct 09): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin. We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.
Gluten Statement: Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs
  • Rain-Blo Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts
  • Atomic Fireball
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits

    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Smarties
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sweetarts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein
  • Now and Later regular
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk, eggs
    • Contains: soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil, on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

FERRARA PAN

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Do you process and pack products that contain allergens? We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), manufactured on the same equipment that manufactures almonds”
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mounds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin
  • Reese’s
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: soy, peanuts, milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via email Oct 09): Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free and OU kosher. There are no eggs, fish or shellfish. Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor. Otherwise no soy products. Some packages still on the market will carry an allergy statement “made in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts”.  The company no longer processes peanuts but some packages may remain in retail. It’s best the check the package to be sure. Also one new collection of flavors Jelly Belly SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are your candies gluten-free? The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • 3 Musketeers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way
    • Free of: tree nuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Twix
    • Free of: tree nuts, eggs, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, “may contain peanuts”
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Contains: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): read their policy on allergen labeling

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Crunch
    • Free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt), “made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Raisinets
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, “made on equipment that also processes peanuts”
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein, “made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy (see note below)

Allergen Info: *A note about soy. Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction.  Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk.  Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products.  Please check the back panel for country of origin.

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Charms Flat Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots, including Bat Dots, Candy Corn Dots and Ghost Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Mints Inside Outs:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), contains milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Babies Caramel Apple:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, contains egg
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

    Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

Here is a list of natural and specialty candy companies – great for kids with food allergies!

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Our products are only made from DAIRY FREE and TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our products so there is no chance for cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): This product does not contain the following eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, egg-free, and sesame-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Lollipops, Cotton Candy, Hard Candies, Chocolate Meltdowns
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At Pure Fun™, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure Fun™ is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure Fun™ brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge and candy corn all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are any of the major allergens, including peanuts or tree nuts, used in your product?  No, plus our plant does not produce anything
with tree-nuts or peanuts. YummyEarth’s organic lollipops and drops are enjoyed by corn sensitive people around the world.

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Back to school cookies (gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free!) – and a GF Flour giveaway

Posted on September 8th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Corn Allergy, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Giveaways, Products, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Soy Allergy | Read 38 Comments - Add Your Own »

My daughter is in her second week of Kindergarten and already there have been four birthdays in her class, which means four days of treats that she can’t eat! I’m realizing that elementary school is a whole different world than preschool when it comes to food. It seems to be everywhere. Part of me feels nervous. Can I trust everyone to remember not to give her the birthday treat? Can I trust her to always say no? Part of me feels sad for her that she feels left out.

“I wish I didn’t have food allergies,” she told me last night.
“I wish I didn’t have any either,” I said.

I can’t grant her wish, but I can offer her alternatives that are delicious and safe for her. I have supplied a “snack box” in her classroom — a plastic storage container with her name written on it filled with packaged allergy-free cookies and fruit bars — in case of a treat emergency. But we also have a deal: if other kids got something special in class that day that she couldn’t have, then she gets to have something special when she gets home. Homemade cookies always do the trick! And a good old chocolate chip cookie can also turn into an ice cream sandwich or a frosted delight!

Making gluten-free cookies from scratch doesn’t have to be difficult, even if you have other food allergies too, like we do. Using a pre-made GF flour blend makes it especially easy. There are many on the market, but I recently tried Namaste Foods’ Perfect Flour Blend to make gluten-free oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and they were perfect! Now you can make them too, using the recipes below.

namasteperfectflourblend1 Namaste Foods is going to give away a package of Perfect Flour Blend to three lucky winners! All you have to do to enter is make a comment on this post saying what you would like to make using the Perfect Flour Blend. Three winners will be chosen at random (one comment per person please). Contest will end on Monday, September 14 at noon PST.

According to the package, “Namaste’s Perfect Flour Blend has been designed with ease, efficiency and all your favorite recipes in mind. Simply replace the wheat flour in your everyday recipe with the same amount of our flour blend then follow the directions in the recipe. Namaste’s Perfect Flour Blend will work with almost any recipe in your everyday cookbook. (Obviously, results may vary with more sophisticated recipes.)”

Ingredients: Sweet brown rice flour, tapioca flour, arrowroot flour, sorghum flour and xanthan gum. (Namaste Foods uses xanthan gum that is not derived from corn or corn sources.)

Here is the recipe for the cookies I made using the recipe from the Perfect Flour Blend bag with some substitutions and additions:

Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Egg-Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup Earth Balance Dairy-Free Soy-Free Natural Buttery Spread, softened (you can also use oil, butter or margarine)
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup sugar
Ener-G Egg Replacer for 1 egg (or use 1 egg if you have no egg allergies)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup Namaste Foods Perfect Flour Blend
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups gluten-free oats (I use Cream Hill Estates Lara’s Rolled Oats)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup raisins or chocolate chips, or 1/2 cup of each

Directions:
1. Cream together “butter” and sugars until smooth. Add egg replacer (or egg) and vanilla and mix until combined. Add dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.
2. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto lightly greased cookie sheet. If the batter seems a little crumbly, just press it together to hold its shape. It will hold together when it cooks.
3. Bake at 350 degrees F for 10-12 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Let cool for 5 minutes, then move to wire rack and continue cooling. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

The recipe below was sent to me by Michele, the creator of Namaste Foods.

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup butter or non-dairy butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups Namaste Perfect Flour Blend
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons hot water
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. Cream together the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in hot water. Add to batter along with salt. Stir in flour, chocolate chips, and nuts. Drop by large spoonfuls onto greased pans.
3. Bake for about 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely
browned.


Allergen-Free Summer Treats Guide 2009

Posted on June 9th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Babies & Kids, Celiac Disease, Corn Allergy, Dairy Allergy, Food Ideas, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 7 Comments - Add Your Own »

ice_cream_truckDo you love or hate the tinny tune of that ice cream truck cruising through your neighborhood or past the local park? At some point you are going to give in to your crying, begging children. It is best to learn which treats are okay for those everybody-else-gets-to-have-one-so-why-can’t-we-have-one-too ice cream truck moments. After all, you don’t want to be the Mean Mom — at least not in public!

Every ice cream truck is going to pack different treats, but fortunately there are always some that are just basically sugar, color and water. Not that I am a big fan of corn syrup or Red Dye #40, but once in a while I let my kids have a snow cone or frozen pop. If your child has an allergy to either of these ingredients, steer clear of commercial popsicles. Hopefully in that case, they can opt for an ice cream bar (be careful of nuts!)

In my fantasy world, an ice cream truck stocks real fruit juice popsicles, organic non-dairy ice cream bars and shaved ice with natural flavorings and colorings. Don’t think that’s going to happen anytime soon, but at least you can buy some healthier options at the store, or make your own.

TREATS YOU CAN BUY

TREATS YOU CAN MAKE

  • Frozen juice pops
    Put any kind of fruit juice into fun pop molds – use white grape juice or apple juice if you don’t want to stain their shirts! Mix juices to create a new flavor. This is a great option for kids who can’t have corn syrup or food dyes.
  • Frozen fruit pops
    If you want a chunkier, thicker pop, put frozen fruit in your blender, add liquid and freeze. The liquid could be juice, milk, coconut or other non-dairy milk.
  • Smoothie pops
    Make a fruit and spinach smoothie and put it into the pop molds. Yes, your kids will eat frozen spinach!
  • Snowcones and slushes
    Make your own snow cones with snow cone supplies! Otherwise, you can make a “slush” or “slushie” in your blender by blending ice with juice. Serve it in a fun cup with a straw or spoon.
  • Dairy-free ice cream treats

Any more summer treat ideas or products? Let me know!


Ice Cream Cookie Sandwich – gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free

Posted on May 21st, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Soy Allergy | Read 2 Comments - Add Your Own »

babycakesicecreamsandwich
“Enjoy it, Mom. Don’t eat it so fast.”

Those were the wise words of my 4 year old as I wolfed down my ice cream sandwich — a special treat we made for my birthday last weekend. To hear her echo those words of mine put a huge smile on my face, because even though our diets are limited by my celiac disease and her food allergies, I have tried to instill in her an appreciation for food, to taste it and enjoy it. But I mainly smiled because it was just so darn cute!

Anyway, enough of the chatter you say! Get to the sandwich! Okay, okay…

But first, for those of you who don’t know Babycakes Bakery in NYC, it is a very hip, mostly-gluten-free,  vegan (so no dairy or eggs) bakery with delectable treats that even non-gluten-free and non-vegan people love. Erin McKenna, the founder of Babycakes, recently came out with a cookbook and appeared on Martha Stewart and shared her recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches with Vanilla Frosting.

I had been wanting to try this recipe, and finally decided to make it on my birthday… but the thought of baking when it was 95 degrees outside wasn’t too appealing — unless it ended up being an ice cream sandwich! So we skipped the frosting and opened the freezer instead.

The cookies are delicious. Really. And so easy. This will be my go-to recipe for gluten-free dairy-free egg-free chocolate chip (or any other add-in) cookies from now on. The recipe can be found on Martha’s website here: Babycakes Chocolate Chip Cookies. I have some tips of my own for making these cookies:

  • You have to melt the coconut oil and then let it cool, as the recipe states. The coconut oil takes a looong time to cool, so definitely do this step first, ahead of time. Especially if you are making the cookies with kids who are waiting patiently (ha ha) to eat some dough. I ended up putting it in the refrigerator for a while.
  • The cookies flatten out a lot — at least mine did. Make sure you space them out enough.
  • The recipe makes a lot of cookies. It says it makes 24, but I made about that many and had dough left over. It is now in my freezer, ready to be made into more cookies, added to ice cream, or eaten frozen by the spoonful right out of the bag (who me?)
  • I used Enjoy Life chocolate chips, which are mini. I love these chocolate chips, but I think next time I would use a regular size chip, or more of the minis.
  • I cooked mine for longer than the recipe stated — obviously each oven is different, but these are soft cookies that stay soft, so you might want to cook longer if you want them to be more crispy.

Like I said, I didn’t make the frosting (recipe here: Vanilla Frosting), but put ice cream in them instead. I am kind of obsessed with coconut milk ice cream these days, and highly recommend putting either Coconut Bliss Vanilla Island or Purely Decadent made with Coconut Milk Vanilla Bean. My husband prefers good old Haagen Dazs Vanilla — that works too!

And remember: Enjoy it. Don’t eat it so fast!


Dairy-free soy-free “butter” is here!

Posted on March 19th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 111 Comments - Add Your Own »

People often come to my website to read the article about dairy-free soy-free margarine. The bottom line was that palm shortening works well for baking and making frosting, but there wasn’t any dairy-free and soy-free spreadable butter or margarine — until now! I have very exciting news for the food allergy community…

earthbalancesoyfree21

Earth Balance, known for their dairy-free vegan butter substitutes, has created a soy-free version of their buttery spread. Yes, people, there is a dairy-free soy-free “butter” that can be spread on toast and used for baking!

Recognizing that soy is one of the top 8 allergens, Earth Balance took the soybean oil out for their Soy-Free Spread, using a natural oil blend of palm fruit oil, safflower, canola and olive oils. Rickard Werner, vice president and general manager of Earth Balance® states in a press release:

“We feel that there is a great demand for alternatives to traditional spreads that contain food allergens such as soy – one of the top eight most common food allergens according to the FDA*. At Earth Balance®, we pride ourselves on providing innovative and great tasting products for people who are vegan, suffer from food allergies or those simply seeking healthy alternatives. We feel confident that our new Soy Free Spread will be a hit with all.”

I’m pretty sure it will be a hit in my house. Thank you Earth Balance!

Here is what I am looking forward to:

  • Making a piece of gluten-free toast for my daughter with cinnamon, sugar and… “butter“!
  • Baking gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, nut-free, egg-free cookies for my daughter with… “butter“!

Here is the full ingredient list of the Soy-Free Buttery Spread:

Expeller-pressed natural oil blend (palm fruit, canola, safflower and olive), water, contains less than 2% salt, sunflower lecithin, pea protein, natural flavor (derived from corn: no msg, no alcohol, no gluten), lactic acid (non-dairy source), naturally extracted annatto for color.

Whole Foods has picked up this product nationally! Can’t find it in a store near you? Request it!

UPDATE 3/30/09: Reader Chris has let me know in the comments that Earth Balance told him that the product will be coming out in May.


Glutino Pretzels new formula

Posted on December 30th, 2008 by Alison | Posted in Products, Soy Allergy | Read 6 Comments - Add Your Own »

I am happy to report that Glutino gluten-free pretzels no longer contain soy flour, which was a main ingredient before. There is still soy lecithin, but many soy-sensitive people do not need to avoid soy lecithin as it contains low levels of or no soy protein (check with your doctor).

Glutino pretzels come in many shapes: Sticks, Twists, Unsalted Twists and Sesame Rings. All are delicious!

The ingredients of the Pretzel Sticks and Twists are: corn starch, potato starch, palm oil, sugar, sea salt, cellulose gum, soy lecithin, sodium bicarbonate, yeast extract, sodium acid pyrophosphate, citric acid, sodium hydroxide. The Unsalted is without the salt and the Sesame is with sesame added.

Another gluten-free pretzel that is very good is Ener-G’s Wylde Pretzels, which also comes in salted, sesame and poppyseed flavors.


See’s Candies Allergy Information

Posted on December 21st, 2008 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 11 Comments - Add Your Own »

When I think of the holidays, I think of See’s Candies. Every year at our big family gathering, we open the boxes of assorted chocolates and pass them around during the gift-opening frenzy. When I was little I was guilty of taking a bite of one, and if I didn’t like it, putting it back in the box — but everyone has done this, right?

When I started to be gluten-free I was wary of eating any of the candies, but now there is good news from See’s for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance! On 12/20/08, I received the following information via email regarding gluten and the top 8 allergens:

CONTINUE READING »


Dairy-free soy-free yogurt

Posted on October 29th, 2008 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy | Read 24 Comments - Add Your Own »

Last year my sister Leslie wrote a post about Ricera, a rice-based yogurt that was the only dairy-free and soy-free yogurt available at that time. After a reader disagreed with her opinion that it was “good,” she wrote in the comment section “I must admit that my excitement at finding a soy-free yogurt probably tilted my review toward the positive.” My own allergic daughter really did like the yogurt, but my problem has been that it is hard to find. I definitely have to make a special trip to an out-of-the way market to find it.

coconutmilkyogurt.gif

My sister called the other day to tell me that she found a NEW dairy-free soy-free yogurt — made from cultured coconut milk! It is so creamy and delicious, anyone would want to eat it. Not only that, but it comes in 6 flavors: Blueberry, Passionate Mango, Plain, Raspberry, Strawberry Banana, and Vanilla.

Made by Turtle Mountain under the So Delicious brand, this yogurt is:

  • Dairy Free Lactose Free

  • Soy Free
  • Rich in Medium Chain Fatty Acids
  • Excellent source of Vitamin B12 (vegetarian friendly)
  • Formulated for maximum calcium absorption
  • Contains Pre- and Probiotics for enhanced intestinal health
  • Cholesterol Free
  • No Trans Fats
  • Certified Vegan

Sound good? It is! My 4-year-old daughter is crazy about it. And I mean crazy — she gets wide-eyed, gasps and raises her arms in a V for victory when I offer it to her for a snack. And, it is available in Whole Foods. This really is a victory for moms of allergic kids!

Related articles:
Dairy-free soy-free margarine?
Rice cheese (dairy-free and soy-free!)
Product Review: Coconut Bliss dairy-free ice cream


Gimbal’s candies are allergen-free

Posted on October 24th, 2008 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 1 Comment - Add Your Own »

I’ve got another candy company to add to your safe list!

gimbalsjellybeans.jpggimbalsallergyfree.gif
Gimbal’s Fine Candies, located in San Francisco, produces candies that are free of the top 8 allergens and gluten. In fact, they are made in a facility that is free of peanuts, nuts, dairy, eggs, gluten and soy.

They make jelly beans in 41 flavors, none of them peanut butter (unlike Jelly Belly that told me peanut-allergic people should avoid all of their products because they produce one peanut butter flavored bean.)

Gimbal’s also makes Licorice Scottie Dogs, free of the wheat that is found in almost all licorice. Scottie Dogs come in Black or Red. There are other specialty candies too.

Gimbal’s jelly beans can be found in all Walmarts across the nation, in Sam’s Clubs (under their own Members Mark brand), in KMart and Shop Rite. Scottie Dogs can be found in Trader Joe’s. Or, you can order all Gimbal’s candies online at CandyDirect.com.

Related articles:
Halloween candy for kids with food allergies
Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Candy Quick List


Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Candy Quick List

Posted on October 7th, 2008 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 15 Comments - Add Your Own »

***Please see the updated Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Candy Quick List for 2009!

This is a quick list of Halloween candy (October 2008) that is gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. Please read the candy companies’ allergen statements and double check ingredients before consuming any of the following products. For more candies and their allergens, see the bigger Halloween Candy List.

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
  • Chewy Gobstopper
  • Runts (not Chewy)
  • Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour
  • Pixy Stix
  • Sweetarts (regular)
  • Tart N Tinys
  • Nerds

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Smarties Lollies

TOOTSIE

  • Dots

MARS

  • Starburst
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour

SPANGLER CANDY

  • Dum Dum Pops (regular)

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks

WRIGLEY

  • Lifesavers Gummies

FARLEY’s AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
  • Rain-Blo pops
  • Atomic Fireball
  • Jawbreakers
  • Gummi Bears
  • Sour Brite Crawlers
  • Smarties
  • Sweetarts
  • Jujufruits
  • Brach’s Candy Corn (not caramel) and Gummi Candy Corn (“packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”)
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins (“Made in a facility that processes peanuts, tree nuts, sunflower seeds, milk, soy, eggs and wheat”)

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

FERRARA PAN
(“this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”)

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Applehead
  • Grapehead
  • Cherryhead
  • Jawbreakers

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops and Candy Drops