- Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living - http://surefoodsliving.com -

Candy company allergen statements

Posted By Alison On Oct 7, 2008 @ In | Comments Disabled

WONKA

Products include: Bottlecaps, Runts, Laffy Taffy, Gobstopper, Fun Dip, Nerds, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“If the product contains dairy, there will be a D next to it.
Almost all of the current WONKA sugar candies are nut-free except the WONKA® Bar and DONUTZ®. However, we strongly recommend that consumers always read the ingredient statement for the most current information.
Almost all of the current WONKA candies are gluten free, except the WONKA® Bar. However, we strongly recommend that consumers always read the ingredient statement for the most current information.”

JELLY BELLY

Company allergen statement via email 9/08:

“We do not use eggs, milk, or any other dairy products in our Jelly Belly jelly beans.
We use peanut butter and peanut flour in our Peanut Butter flavor of Jelly Belly jelly beans. We do use peanut-based ingredients in our Peanut Butter flavored Jelly Belly jelly beans. It’s one of our most popular flavors. None of the other flavors contain peanuts (or any other nuts) as an ingredient. We feel it is important that you be aware that we produce all our Jelly Belly flavors on the same equipment. This means that it is possible for peanut oils or other peanut products to be transferred to any of our other candies. Therefore, we cannot guarantee that all flavors are 100% free of peanut products. To be safe, we regret that we must recommend that you avoid all of our products.”

TOOTSIE

Products include: Tootsie Rolls, Tootsie Pops, Tootsie Fruit Rolls, Sugar Daddy, Sugar Babies, Junior Mints, Charleston Chew, Charms Blow Pops, Dots, Dubble Bubble

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities.
At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.”

MARS

Products include: M&Ms, Skittles, Starburst

Web Allergen Statement 10/08

SPANGLER CANDY

Products include: Dum Dums

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08)
“Dum Dum Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Swirl Saf-T-Pops, Marshmallow Treats, Candy Canes, Cane Classics, and Dum Dum Canes do not contain milk and nut products (see note below regarding Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops Variety Packs). The ingredients in these products, as well as the processing aids (such as release lubricants), do not contain any tree nuts, peanuts, peanut by-products, eggs, milk, or dairy products. These products are processed on dedicated lines. Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products. Dum Dum Chewy Pops are a new item of small or larger filled pops (chocolatey chewy filling, sour chewy filling, and gum filling). These filled pops are in a 3-color bag and are not mixed with our Original Dum Dum Pops. Dum Dum Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Swirl Saf-T-Pops, Marshmallow Treats, Candy Canes, Cane Classics, Dum Dum Canes and Dum Dum Chewy Pops do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats. We have contacted our suppliers on the ingredients we use, including sugar, corn syrup, citric, malic, lactic acid, ascorbic acid, artificial flavors & colors, starch, release agents, and processing aids. These products do not contain the gluten protein that causes a problem for people with Celiac Sprue.”

HERSHEY

Products include chocolates: Heath, Almond Joy, Kit Kat, Milk Duds, Baby Ruth, Kisses, Reeses, Rolo, Skor, Whoppers, York and candy: Jolly Rancher, Good and Plenty, Twizzlers

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.”

WRIGLEY

Products include: Wrigley’s Spearmint, Juicy Fruit, and Altoids, Doublemint, Life Savers, Big Red, Boomer, Pim Pom, Winterfresh, Extra, Freedent, Hubba Bubba, Orbit, Excel, Creme Savers, Eclipse, Airwaves, Alpine, Solano, Sugus, Cool Air, and P.K..

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“Do your products contain gluten? The following is a list of U.S. Wrigley products that are free of any wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten: Wrigley’s Spearmint gum, Freedent gum, Doublemint gum, Extra gum, Big Red gum, Eclipse gum, Juicy Fruit gum, Winterfresh gum, Orbit gum, Orbit White gum, Hubba Bubba gum, Altoids Sours, Altoids Mints, Altoids Gum, Lifesavers and Cremesavers.”

FARLEY’s AND SATHER’S

Products include: Bobs, Brach’s, Chuckles, Farley’s & Sathers, Farley’s, Fruit Stripe, Heide, Now And Later, RainBlo, Sathers, Super Bubble, Trolli

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.”

On packages it states “manufactured on equipment that also manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”

JUST BORN

Products include: Hot Tamales, Peeps, Mike & Ike

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. Because product formulations can change at any time, we encourage consumers to refer to our package labels for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information. We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA on our label. Moreover, we voluntarily add advisory statements to our packages to alert consumers to potential cross contamination risk.”

FERRARA PAN

Products include: Lemonhead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Applehead, Orangehead, Atomic Fireball, Black Forest Gummies, Boston Baked Beans, Jawbusters, Red Hots

Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“Do you process and pack products that contain allergens?

We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens.
The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other. Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.
Do you manufactures candies that contain corn gluten?

Ferrara Pan Candy Co. manufactures candies that contain corn gluten.

* No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley.
* No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley.
* No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.
* No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.
* No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten

I have celiac, will I be able to enjoy any of your candies?

People with celiac can enjoy the following candies.

* All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest
* All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…)
* All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…)
* All Jujus
* All Jelly Beans
* Sour Jacks
* Cherry Sours
* Boston Baked Beans
* Atomic Fireballs
* Jawbreakers (Jawbusters)
* Red Hots
* Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
* Chewy Atomic Fireballs
* Fruit Snacks
* Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy”

ENJOY LIFE
Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“All Enjoy Life foods are specially made to be free of the eight most common allergens. That means they contain NO wheat/gluten, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish or shellfish–the allergens that account for 90% of all food allergic reactions in the United States. They’re also made without casein, potato, sesame and sulfites. Our products are made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free bakery in Schiller Park, IL. We’ve invested in a dedicated plant so that you can have the added confidence and assurance that you and your family can eat Enjoy Life products without worries. We also require all of our ingredients to be certified allergen-free and perform routine testing to ensure strict allergen control standards are met.”

DIVVIES
Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“Divvies cookies, popcorns, and cupcakes are made in the company’s-own dedicated facility where no peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or milk enter the doors. Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, and egg-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.”

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS
Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients. We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our products so there is no chance for cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!”

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES
Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates. We are committed to providing you with quality chocolates that are safe for those with any nut or peanut allergy. Our gourmet chocolate truffles, fruit creams, mint creams, caramels, raisin clusters, chocolate bars and novelty items are made in small batches the old fashioned way from the finest nut free ingredients. All of our centers are hand made from scratch in our own nut free facility and then individually dipped into premium chocolate before being hand packed and shipped fresh to you.”

YUMMY EARTH
Company allergen statement (via web 10/08):
“Gluten Free
Egg-free
Dairy-free
Peanut-free
Tree Nut free
Wheat-free
Soy-free
NO MSG
100% Natural Colors
No chemical dyes
Real Fruit Extracts
100% Natural Flavors
Certified Organic
Kof-K Kosher Parve
Plant: no tree nuts or peanuts.”

More about Yummy Earth ingredients.

Be Sociable, Share!

Article printed from Sure Foods Living – gluten-free and allergen-free living: http://surefoodsliving.com

URL to article: http://surefoodsliving.com/resources/candy-company-allergen-statements/

Copyright © 2010 Sure Foods Living - gluten-free and allergen-free living. All rights reserved.