Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce – new product

Posted on January 27th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Products, Wheat Allergy | Read 8 Comments - Add Your Own »

kikkoman-gluten-free-soy-sauceKikkoman has finally done it — they have created a gluten-free soy sauce. Traditional soy sauce is made with wheat, and is therefore not gluten-free. Wheat-free tamari has been available for years: San-J and Eden Foods are two well-known brands.

To clarify the difference between soy sauce and tamari:
Soy sauce is made from fermented soybeans and wheat. Tamari is made from fermented soybeans and little or no wheat. Tamari is considered richer than soy sauce because of the higher concentration of soybeans.

Some tamari is wheat-free, but many brands of tamari have wheat in them. For example, San-J makes soy sauce (contains 40-60% wheat), tamari (a small amount of wheat), and gluten-free tamari (no wheat).  Kikkoman also makes a Tamari Soy Sauce that contains wheat, so one can’t assume that all tamari is wheat-free.

Kikkoman’s new gluten-free soy sauce is wheat-free, using rice instead of wheat. The ingredients are water, soybeans, rice and salt. What I find interesting is that for years, Kikkoman has claimed that their soy sauce made with wheat is gluten-free by Codex standards, yet they have now come out with a truly gluten-free soy sauce.

Before you get too excited about going out for Asian food again, realize that it’s going to take a while for restaurants to begin using this soy sauce because it needs to be available to them in a large size. Currently there is an almost 1/2 gallon size available for restaurants, but this is small compared to regular soy sauce that comes in 5 gallons! Not only will the available size determine whether or not a restaurant decides to use the gluten-free soy sauce, so will the general availability and the price. Restaurants buy through distributors. If the distributor doesn’t carry the gluten-free soy sauce, then it isn’t available to the restaurants. And the gluten-free soy sauce will probably be more expensive also, deterring restaurants from converting all their dishes to gluten-free.

I still have hope, though, and dream of one day having more choices at a sushi or Chinese restaurant!


Raising awareness about food allergies at school

Posted on January 10th, 2011 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, News & Research, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Uncategorized, Wheat Allergy | Read 10 Comments - Add Your Own »

schoolhouseI recently encouraged my daughter’s elementary school to put a food allergy program in place after the peanut butter incident. The principal liked my proposed ideas and I was able to address the entire school in an assembly on food allergies. It was well-received. In fact, my daughter told me today that whenever her classmates are eating something she is allergic to, they warn her: “Be careful, I’ve got peanut butter today.” These are first graders — it warms my heart! I have definitely sensed a heightened awareness since the assembly. I am working on the rest of the program which will be put to use at the beginning of the next school year. It is inspired by the ideas put out by The Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network (FAAN), but with my own twist and with a more age-appropriate message for elementary school kids.

Any program that raises awareness at school is greatly needed. I have not advocated for a peanut or nut free school, CONTINUE READING »


Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2010

Posted on October 3rd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Wheat Allergy | Read 73 Comments - Add Your Own »

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Halloween Candy List Gluten-Free Allergen-Free 2011

Here’s the list you’ve been looking for… but first, you get to see the giant spider I made in my yard last year for Halloween! The Home Depot guys cutting the black pipe to my specifications thought I was crazy! The spider is coming out again this year with some modifications (furry perhaps?)

spider1

Now on to the candy…

Each candy shows if its ingredients contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I do not include coconut as a tree nut and have not listed coconut as an allergen. I called many of the manufacturers and/or checked their websites for gluten and allergen information,which I have noted at the end of each manufacturer’s section. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work! :)

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
    • Ingredients contain: no top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Packaged in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars and Airheads Bars Sour
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Xtremes Belts
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, wheat starch
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

AMERICAN LICORICE CO.

  • Sour Punch Twists
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Ingredients free of: none of top 8!
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”
  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs, wheat/gluten (see company Gluten-Free info below)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2010): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is the 2 oz. (regular size) Big Hunk. For all other candies, including the mini Big Hunks, there is the possibility of contamination from flour that is used on the belts. While there is no flour used specifically for the Big Hunk minis, there is flour used on the belts for the manufacture of the Look bars.

CONTINUE READING »


Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

Posted on October 3rd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Food Allergies, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 21 Comments - Add Your Own »

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

halloweenpumpkin

This is a 2010 quick list of Halloween candy with ingredients that are gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. I have included a package statement if it mentions allergens. For a more complete listing, along with company allergy statements, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2010. For a gluten-free listing only, please read the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work! :)

Mainstream candies:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)
    • Package statement: “Packaged in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops

CADBURY ADAMS (now part of Kraft Foods)

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties (only USA, not Canada), Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Smarties Parties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
  • Candy Money
  • Love Hearts

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
    • Package statement: “Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • Package statement: “Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Heide candies — Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Cool Grape, Red Raspberry Dollars, Wild Cherry

FERRARA PAN

  • Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
    • Package statement on some: “This product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.”
  • Gummy Body Parts
    • Package statement on some: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.”

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks

IMPACT CONFECTIONS

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

NECCO

  • Necco Wafers

RIVIERA

  • Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)

SPANGLER (may contain traces of soy oil)

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Candy Canes
  • Chewy Canes

TOOTSIE

  • Dots

WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles, Skittle Sour and Skittle Crazy Cores
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular and Sweet and Sour

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Runts, Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds, Spree
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Sweetarts)
  • Giant Chewy Nerds
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts, milk, wheat and soy.”

Natural/specialty candies:

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar

INDIE CANDY (www.indiecandy.com)

  • Halloween Chocolate Lollipops, Halloween Crystal Lollipops, Halloween Gummies

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Halloween Pure Pops
    • Ingredient statement: “Manufactured in a segregated area of a facility that may product products containing nuts.”

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

Posted on October 3rd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Wheat Allergy | Read 28 Comments - Add Your Own »

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION IS FROM 2010. THE 2011 HALLOWEEN LIST IS HERE: Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2011

spiderweb1

This is a quick list of gluten-free Halloween candy for 2010. This list includes candies that do not contain wheat or gluten as an ingredient. I have included the allergen statement if it mentions wheat or gluten.

Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

For a more complete listing, along with allergy statements and other allergens, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2010. For a list of candy free of most major allergens, read the Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010. To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.

NOTE for bloggers: If you are going to post or share this list, would you be so kind as to give me credit and link to me? This took many hours of my life and I even got kicked out of Walgreen’s for taking notes in the candy aisle, so please be considerate of my hard work! :)

Mainstream candies:

ADAMS & BROOKS

  • Scooby Doo! Fun Pops (lollipops with picture of Scooby Doo)

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars and Airheads Bars Sour
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour.”
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Abba Zabba
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • U-No
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”

CADBURY ADAMS (now part of Kraft Foods)

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that handles peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy and wheat.”

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties (USA only, not Canada), Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
  • Bubble Gum Smarties
  • Candy Money
  • Love Hearts

FARLEY’S AND SATHERS

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers

    • Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes

    • Made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Now and Later regular
  • Now and Later Soft
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Package statement: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Heide candies — Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Cool Grape, Red Raspberry Dollars, Wild Cherry

FERRARA PAN

  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Applehead
  • Grapehead
  • Cherryhead

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.”
  • Gummy Body Parts
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, milk and soy.”

HERSHEY

  • Milk Chocolate Bars
  • Milk Chocolate Bars with Almonds
  • Milk Duds
  • Heath Minis
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
  • Almond Joy
  • Mr. Goodbar
  • Baby Ruth
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
  • Jolly Rancher Doubles, Pops and Mini-Stix
  • Reese’s
  • Pay Day
  • York Peppermint Patties

IMPACT CONFECTIONS

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
  • Peeps Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins

MARS

  • M & Ms Plain
  • M & Ms Peanut
  • Snickers
  • 3 Musketeers and 3 Musketeers Mint
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar
  • Dove Milk Chocolate and Dove Dark Chocolate
  • Dove Peanut Butter

NECCO

  • SkyBar Twilight Saga Chocolate Truffle Heart
  • SkyBar Twilight Saga Peanut Butter Wolf
  • SkyBar Twilight Saga Caramel Cullen Medallion
  • Mary Janes
  • Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses (orange wrapper like taffy with no ingredients)
  • Wafers

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
  • Raisinets
  • Bit-O-Honey
  • Baby Ruth

PEARSON’S

  • Mint Patties

POPCORN EXPRESSIONS

  • Kettle Corn Snack Bags

RIVIERA

  • Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings)

R.M. PALMER COMPANY

  • Palmer Tricky Treats — Googly Eyes, Boneheads, Pumpkin Patch
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • halloweeneyeballcandyCreepy Peepers (white wrapped balls that look like eyeballs with various colors of eyes and red veins — no ingredients listed on individual pieces)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Peppermint Patties
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”

RUSSELL STOVER

  • Marshmallow Pumpkin, Orange Marshmallow Pumpkin, Marshmallow Football
    • Package statement: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.”
  • Coconut Cream Pumpkin
    • Package statement: “Products have been produced on shared equipment with peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat.”

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts
  • Candy Canes
  • Chewy Canes
  • Shrek Ogreheads

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
  • Charms Blow Pops, Sweet Pops, Zip-A-Dee Mini Pops, Fluffy Stuff Pops
  • Charms Flat Pops
  • Dots
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Junior Caramels
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum, Tear Jerker Sour Bubble Gum
  • Sugar Babies and Sugar Mama
  • Sugar Daddy
  • Caramel Apple Pops

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Runts, Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds, Spree
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat and egg.” (Sweetarts)
  • Chewy Runts, Chewy Gobstopper, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Chewy Tart N Tiny, Chewy Spree
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.” (Giant Chewy Sweetarts)
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
  • Giant Chewy Nerds
    • Package statement: “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts, milk, wheat and soy.”

WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles, Skittle Sour and Skittle Crazy Cores
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
  • Lifesavers Gummies, Big Ring Gummies regular and Sweet and Sour
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop

Natural/specialty candies:

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • except pretzel items

CRISPY CAT

  • Mint Coconut Candy Bar
  • Toasted Almond Candy Bar
  • Chocolate Marshmallow Candy Bar

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts
  • BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar
  • Benjamint Crunch Bar
  • Halloween Jelly Beans

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar

INDIE CANDY (www.indiecandy.com)

  • Halloween Chocolate Lollipops
  • Halloween Crystal Lollipops
  • Halloween Gummies

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Halloween Pure Pops

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


A brief history of wheat and why it is making us sick

Posted on September 27th, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Healthy Living, Wheat Allergy | Read 61 Comments - Add Your Own »

grandma98bdayMy grandmother just turned 98 years old. 98! She is amazing, still remembering intricate details about her life. She can still converse on any topic from the state of education to how many times Lance Armstrong has won the Tour de France. She’s also totally up on the whole gluten-free thing, and recently she told me a memory she had from when she was a little girl.

She was in the kitchen where her grandmother and her grandmother’s friends were gathered to bake and talk (my grandmother was raised by her Danish grandparents in South Dakota after her own parents died in the flu epidemic of 1918 when she was 6 years old — what that generation went through is incomprehensible). As they stood around chatting, my grandmother heard her grandmother say, “I like this new flour — it’s got more gluten in it.” Aha! Perhaps there is a history lesson here about why wheat is making people sick! (says the former history teacher)

People often ask me, “Why does it seem that suddenly everyone is intolerant to gluten?” After some research, I have concluded that the phenomenon of celiac disease and gluten intolerance has, in a way, come about rather suddenly. Why? Because gluten is far more prevalent in our society today than just 100 years ago (but a blip on the timeline of human existence). As the consumption of gluten has increased, the problems associated with gluten have too.

wheatgrainWheat today is different than it was 100 years ago. It’s got more gluten in it! Until the 1870s, almost all U.S. wheat production consisted of “soft wheat” varieties. A “hard spring wheat” variety (originally from Central Europe) with a higher protein content (aka gluten) was introduced in the U.S. in the mid-1800s. The flour made from the higher gluten wheat resulted in fluffier bread and flakier baked goods — this was amazing stuff!

The demand for the new flour grew, but it wasn’t so easy to get at first. Although some early types of wheat may have been grown as far back as 9000 B.C., people didn’t each much of it because it was difficult to eat in its raw form, and even when they figured out how to crack it open, to grind it, to sift it and to cook with it, these processes were laborious because they had only primitive tools. Whole grains also went rancid rather quickly because of the high oil content in the bran.

goldmedalflourIt was eventually discovered that milling the grains (stripping away the germ and the bran) made it so the grains could be kept for longer and also produced a soft, unadulterated white flour. By the early 1800s, many mills had equipment so that they could produce this refined flour. Demand for white flour grew as it became the desirable baking ingredient. Because it was more expensive than brown flour, it also became a status symbol.

It wasn’t until the late 19th century that wheat production and consumption grew dramatically. One reason, as mentioned before, was the use of the new, hardier strains of wheat. (Today, wheat can be grown every month of the year somewhere in the world.) Also at this time, great advancements were made in the technology used to grow, harvest, mill and transport wheat. Inventions such as the reaper, the steel plow, and high speed steel roller mills, helped produce huge quantities of finer, whiter flour. Railroads provided better transport of the flour, making it available to more people, and better ovens allowed them to bake with it even more. With all of these advances, the masses had access to the refined wheat flour that was once a luxury of the wealthy.

creamofwheat2They also found new ways to eat wheat. Though eating a big bowl of cereal for breakfast seems the norm today, it was only in the late 1890′s that breakfast cereal was invented as a health food to help people with digestive problems! Kellogg and Post were among the first to come up with processed cereals in the form of flakes, shredded wheat and Grape Nuts. It was around this time that Quaker introduced oatmeal and Cream of Wheat was born. The popularity of cereal continued to rise throughout the decades — the cereal of today is not quite the health food it was once thought to be!

creamofwheat3Though wheat consumption slowed a little bit from 1920 through the Great Depression and World War II, people were encouraged to find alternatives for meat and dairy due to war rationing. Thus, Kraft macaroni and cheese dinner, introduced in 1937, gained popularity during wartime and an entire pamphlet of recipes using Cream of Wheat instead of meat was published, with the slogan “Stretch Your Meat With Cream of Wheat.” The rise and fall in wheat consumption during World War II in five different countries correlated to the increase and decline in the number of schizophrenia patients admitted to hospitals in those countries, according to a 1966 study.

By the time the 1960s and 1970s rolled around, wheat consumption began to rise again. People became concerned with heart disease and cholesterol and whole wheat was viewed as a healthy alternative to combat these health problems. Wheat consumption in the U.S. saw another great increase with the huge rise in the fast food industry in the 70s and 80s. People on the go could now pick up sandwiches, hamburgers, chicken nuggets, pizza, and bagels just about anywhere.

Today, wheat is the single most cultivated crop worldwide. Most people in the United States eat wheat at almost every single meal, every single day, and for snacks and dessert too. Bakers are adding in “vital wheat gluten” or high gluten flour to make fluffier loaves of bread. Vegetarian and vegan meat substitutes are made from extracted gluten. Wheat is everywhere and then some! It’s no wonder we are not tolerating this food that has “suddenly” become our dominant food source.

The body is not built wrongly, but is being used wrongly” proposed T.L. Cleave, author of a 1974 book called The Saccharine Disease, which addressed health conditions that he believed to be caused by sugar and white flour. Rather than viewing people who are unable to tolerate gluten as defective, we need to recognize that it is the change in our environment — the increase in wheat consumption — that has led to our ill health. My grandmother’s memory serves as a reminder of these changes that have occurred in just a short time.

Thank you, Grandma, for inspiring this post. Here’s to 99!


Make a gluten-free Valentine pizza!

Posted on February 2nd, 2010 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Food Ideas, Holidays/Special Events, Recipes & Cooking Tips, Wheat Allergy | Read 3 Comments - Add Your Own »

heartpizza21

Valentine’s Day is about love. And who doesn’t LOVE pizza? Better yet, gluten-free pizza?

Decorating cookies is fun, but decorating a heart-shaped pizza is another great activity to do with kids. Bonus: you have dinner made!

To make heart-shaped gluten-free pizzas, I make the pizza dough using the Chewy Pizza Crust recipe on the bag of  Pamela’s Gluten-Free Bread Mix. I add some salt to the dough while mixing because it cuts the sweetness a bit which I like better for a pizza crust. This pizza is also dairy-free, soy-free and egg-free!

You can do the following for any pizza dough recipe:

  1. Grease baking sheets or pizza pans or heat a pizza stone.
  2. Divide the dough into as many pizzas as you want. You can make the pizzas as thick or thin as you want, or as big or little.
  3. Pour some olive oil on a little plate and press your palm into it.
  4. Use only your palm to spread the dough. Don’t get your fingers in the dough because they will get sticky! If you get dough stuck on your hands, wipe it off and start again with a clean palm in the olive oil. Kids can try spreading the dough themselves!
  5. Shape the dough into a heart and let rise as directed. After dough rises, reshape the heart if needed.
  6. Partially bake as directed.
  7. Put out different toppings and let the kids decorate their pizza. Sliced olives and salami (not spicy like pepperoni) are a favorite. We make some without cheese since my kids don’t eat dairy. You could go for an all red pizza — sauce, tomatoes, red peppers, pepperoni.
  8. decoratingvalentinespizza2decoratingvalentinespizza

  9. Bake as directed. The longer you bake, the crunchier it will get. Also, judge the baking time based on how thick or thin you made the dough.
  10. Say “I love you” and/or “I love pizza” as you bite into your delicious  gluten-free Valentine pizza!

heartpizza3


Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 10 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweencatTHE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST: Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

This is a quick list of Halloween candy (October 2009) that is gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens. Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

For a more complete listing, along with allergy statements, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2009. For a gluten-free listing only, please read the Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List.

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Pops
  • Whistle Pops

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties
  • Bubble Gum Smarties
  • Candy Money
  • Smarties in a Pouch
  • Tropical Smarties
  • X-TREME Sour Smarties
  • Smarties Parties
  • Smarties Double Lollies
  • Smarties Mega Lollies
  • Smarties Pops

ENJOY LIFE

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Crispy Rice Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Milk Bar

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs)
  • Rain-Blo Pops (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts)
  • Atomic Fireball (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Jawbreakers (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits (made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein)
  • Smarties
  • Sweetarts (manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein)
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns)
    • “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)

FERRARA PAN

Some packages state: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead
  • Jawbreakers

HERSHEY

  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Sticks

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • Starburst
  • Skittles
  • Skittles Sour
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy fruit flavors
  • Lifesavers Pops
  • Lifesavers Gummies

PURE FUN

  • Lollipops
  • Cotton Candy
  • Hard Candies
  • Chocolate Meltdowns

SPANGLER (may contain traces of soy oil)

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts

SURF SWEETS

  • Gummy Worms
  • Gummy Swirls
  • Gummy Bears
  • Fruity Bears
  • Jelly Beans
  • Sour Worms
  • Sour Berry Bears

TOOTSIE

  • Dots
  • Bat Dots
  • Candy Corn Dots
  • Ghost Dots

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
  • Chewy Gobstopper
  • Runts (not Chewy),
  • Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour
  • Pixy Stix
  • Sweetarts (regular)
  • Tart N Tinys
  • Nerds

YUMMY EARTH

  • Lollipops
  • Candy Drops
  • Gummy Bears
  • Gummy Worms

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Products, Wheat Allergy | Read 39 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloween-batsTHE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST: Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2010

This is a quick list of gluten-free Halloween candy (October 2009). Note: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

For a more complete listing, along with allergy statements and other allergens, please read the Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free – 2009. For a Top-8 Allergen-Free list, read the Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List.

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars regular and sour
    • “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Pops
  • Whistle Pops

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties
  • Bubble Gum Smarties
  • Candy Money
  • Smarties in a Pouch
  • Tropical Smarties
  • X-TREME Sour Smarties
  • Smarties Parties
  • Smarties Double Lollies
  • Smarties Mega Lollies
  • Smarties Pops

DIVVIES

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts
  • BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar
  • Benjamint Crunch Bar
  • Halloween Jelly Beans

ENJOY LIFE

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar
  • Boom CHOCO BoomCrispy Rice Bar
  • Boom CHOCO Boom Milk Bar

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
  • Rain-Blo Pops
  • Atomic Fireball
  • Jawbreakers
    • manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of wheat
  • Trolli Gummi Bears
    • made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of wheat
  • Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers
    • made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of wheat
  • Jujufruits
    • made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of wheat
  • Smarties
  • Sweetarts
  • Now and Later regular
  • Now and Later Soft
  • Brach’s Candy Corn, Gummi Candy Corn, Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • packaged on equipment that also packages products containing wheat
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of wheat
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)

FERRARA PAN

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Lemonhead
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead and Friends
  • Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead,
  • Jawbreakers

HERSHEY

  • Milk Chocolate Bars
  • Milk Duds
  • Heath Minis
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
  • Almond Joy
  • Mounds
  • Mr. Goodbar
  • Baby Ruth
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Sticks
  • Reese’s

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Beans

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
  • Hot Tamales
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • M & Ms Plain
  • M & Ms Peanut
  • Snickers
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Starburst
  • Skittles
  • Skittles Sour
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy
  • Lifesavers Pops
  • Lifesavers Gummies
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger (not Butterfinger Crisp)
  • Raisinets
  • Bit-O-Honey
  • Baby Ruth

PURE FUN

  • Lollipops
  • Cotton Candy
  • Hard Candies
  • Chocolate Meltdowns

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums
  • Chewy Pops
  • Saf-T-Pops
  • Circus Peanuts

SURF SWEETS

  • Gummy Worms
  • Gummy Swirls
  • Gummy Bears
  • Fruity Bears
  • Jelly Beans
  • Sour Worms
  • Sour Berry Bears

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
  • Charms Blow Pops
  • Charms Flat Pops
  • Dots, including Bat Dots, Candy Corn Dots and Ghost Dots
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Tootsie Fruit Rolls
  • Junior Mints
  • Junior Mints Inside Outs
  • Junior Caramels
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum
  • Sugar Babies
  • Sugar Babies Caramel Apple
  • Sugar Daddy

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps
  • Gobstopper Everlasting
  • Gobstopper Chewy
  • Runts
  • Runts Chewy
  • Fun Dip
  • Fun Dip Sour
  • Pixy Stix
  • Sweetarts (regular)
  • Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Giant Chewy
  • Sweetarts Mini Chew
  • Sweetarts Chewy Twists
  • Sweetarts Shockers
  • Tart N Tinys,
  • Tart N Tinys Chew
  • Nerds
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy
  • Laffy Taffy Rope

YUMMY EARTH

  • Lollipops
  • Candy Drop
  • Gummy Bears
  • Gummy Worms


WATCH OUT! CANDY THAT CONTAINS GLUTEN!

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • contains wheat flour

ANNABELLE’S

  • Rocky Road

    • Contains barley malt and wheat flour

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat
    • Contains wheat
  • Twizzlers
    • Contains wheat
  • Whoppers
    • Contains barley malt and wheat flour

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • Milky Way

    • Contains barley malt
  • Twix
    • Contains wheat

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger Crisp
    • Contains wheat flour
  • Crunch
    • Contains barley malt, “made on equipment that also processes wheat.”

WONKA

  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs
    • Contains wheat/gluten
  • Sweetarts Rope
    • Contains wheat/gluten

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.


Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2009

Posted on October 6th, 2009 by Alison | Posted in Celiac Disease, Dairy Allergy, Egg Allergy, Gluten Intolerance, Holidays/Special Events, Peanuts/Nuts Allergy, Products, Soy Allergy, Wheat Allergy | Read 65 Comments - Add Your Own »

halloweenwitch1THE LIST BELOW IS FROM 2009. PLEASE GO TO THE UPDATED LIST:
Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Halloween Candy List 2010

The gluten-free allergen-free Halloween candy list is here! It’s that time of year again — the decorations are starting to appear, the scary costumes are peering out of store windows, and my children are already excited and talking about the candy they get to eat. Halloween is coming, but don’t get spooked! I have made things easy for you again this year with a list of Halloween candy available, both mainstream and specialty, and their gluten-free and allergen-free status.

Each candy shows if it contains wheat/gluten, milk (dairy), soy, egg, nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not present in any of the candies on this list.) Note: I do not include coconut as a tree nut. Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

In a hurry? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List
Gluten-Free and Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts
    • Contains: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin, “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Free of: none of top 8!
    • Contains: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil, “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen Statement (via web Oct 09): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin. We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.
Gluten Statement: Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs
  • Rain-Blo Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts
  • Atomic Fireball
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits

    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Smarties
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sweetarts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein
  • Now and Later regular
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk, eggs
    • Contains: soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil, on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

FERRARA PAN

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Do you process and pack products that contain allergens? We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), manufactured on the same equipment that manufactures almonds”
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mounds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin
  • Reese’s
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: soy, peanuts, milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via email Oct 09): Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free and OU kosher. There are no eggs, fish or shellfish. Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor. Otherwise no soy products. Some packages still on the market will carry an allergy statement “made in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts”.  The company no longer processes peanuts but some packages may remain in retail. It’s best the check the package to be sure. Also one new collection of flavors Jelly Belly SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are your candies gluten-free? The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • 3 Musketeers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way
    • Free of: tree nuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Twix
    • Free of: tree nuts, eggs, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, “may contain peanuts”
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Contains: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): read their policy on allergen labeling

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Crunch
    • Free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt), “made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Raisinets
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, “made on equipment that also processes peanuts”
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein, “made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy (see note below)

Allergen Info: *A note about soy. Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction.  Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk.  Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products.  Please check the back panel for country of origin.

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Charms Flat Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots, including Bat Dots, Candy Corn Dots and Ghost Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Mints Inside Outs:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), contains milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Babies Caramel Apple:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, contains egg
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

    Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

Here is a list of natural and specialty candy companies – great for kids with food allergies!

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Our products are only made from DAIRY FREE and TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our products so there is no chance for cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): This product does not contain the following eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, egg-free, and sesame-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Lollipops, Cotton Candy, Hard Candies, Chocolate Meltdowns
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At Pure Fun™, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure Fun™ is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure Fun™ brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge and candy corn all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are any of the major allergens, including peanuts or tree nuts, used in your product?  No, plus our plant does not produce anything
with tree-nuts or peanuts. YummyEarth’s organic lollipops and drops are enjoyed by corn sensitive people around the world.

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.