Print Print

Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide 2015 for Gluten & Food Allergies

Posted on October 9th, 2015 by Alison Read 14 Comments - Add Your Own »

Candy BowlHere is your 2015 Halloween Candy Ingredient Guide for people with celiac, gluten intolerance, or food allergies! As I do every year, I’ve personally scoured labels to update ingredient changes and allergen statements, and gathered current manufacturers statements by web and phone. Each candy shows if the ingredients contain wheat/gluten, milk (represents all dairy), soy, egg, tree nuts, or peanuts (6 of the top 8 allergens — fish and shellfish are not included since I have not found this to be a concern with candy). I included coconut where I saw it on a label (although not technically a tree nut.)

Note for consumers of candy: Please, as always, double check ingredients and also check with the child’s parents before giving them any candy or allowing them to eat anything! I will not be held liable for any accident occurring due to the use of this list. It is meant as a guide only.

Note for bloggers/organizations/media: Please do not reprint this list without my permission. Linking to it, however, is just fine and dandy! Printing is encouraged for personal use or for schools, etc. I appreciate your consideration of my work.

Have a specific allergen? Check out these:
Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2015
Allergen-Free Halloween Candy Quick List 2015
Natural and Organic Halloween Candy List 2015
To print this list, click on the Print icon above the title. (If you don’t see the print icon, click on the title of the article first.)

List is organized by company, with candy names below:

AIRHEADS (parent company: Perfetti Van Melle headquartered in Italy and Netherlands)

  • Airheads Bars, Mini-Bars, Big Bars
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour” “Made in a facility that does not process nuts.”
  • Airheads Xtremes
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Bites
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
  • Airheads Xtremes Bites
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (glucose syrup)
    • Package statement: “Contains wheat ingredients.”

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2015): Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour in other items, so Perfetti Van Melle [the parent company] does not claim that Airheads Bars are gluten free.

Allergen info (via web Sept 2015): Airheads do not contain peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, sesame, eggs or dairy; however, since it would not be typical for these items to be found in our products, we perform no specific test for them. Please keep in mind that due to the fact that most of the ingredients are agricultural products and could be processed on equipment that may also handle products containing these items, we cannot make the claim that our products are free of said items.

AMERICAN LICORICE CO. (located in Union City, CA 866-442-2783)

  • Sour Punch Sticks, Bits, Bites, Straws
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soybean oil
  • Sour Punch Twists
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Red Vines – all varieties, including Black, Natural and Fruit Vines
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Red Vines® products do not contain peanuts. Peanut and/or peanut oil is not used to manufacture any of our products.American Licorice products do not contain peanuts, tree nuts or sesame.

ALBERT’S (www.albertscandy.com)

  • Halloween Iced Pops (orange with iced pumpkin, purple with iced witch)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Made in China

ANGIE’S BOOMCHICKAPOP

  • Kettle Corn – Sweet & Salty
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Certified gluten-free” by GFCO. Non-GMO.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Our Holidrizzle®, White Cheddar and Caramel & Cheddar Mix items contain dairy. None of our other products contain dairy. Our Holidrizzle®, products do contain soy. None of our other products contain soy. All of our popcorn is popped in a facility where every effort is made to ensure products and facilities are nut-free (we are not certified nut-free). The popcorn for our Holidrizzle®, items is then transferred to a facility that drizzles chocolate over the product. This facility also processes peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.

ANNABELLE’S (located in Hayward, CA 510-783-2900)

  • Abba Zabba
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin, wheat/gluten (manufacturing belt is dusted with flour)
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Big Hunk
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Look
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs, wheat/gluten
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts.”
  • U-No
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin, wheat/gluten (manufacturing belt is dusted with flour)
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts”

Gluten-Free info (via phone Sept 2015): The only guaranteed gluten-free candy is Big Hunk, which is processed on its own line. The belt is dusted with flour to make the Abba Zabba and all other products except Big Hunk come into contact with the belt.

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2015): Our Big Hunk® bar is gluten-free

Allergen Info (via web 2015): Our products are made in a facility that uses: Milk, Eggs, Wheat, Tree Nuts, Peanuts

Annabelle Candy Company maintains and follows strict procedures to prevent the crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In addition, we proudly include an allergy information statement on product labels.

BEE International (located in Chula Vista, CA 619-710-1800)

  • Zombee Candy Corn (in a tall tube with plastic pumpkin lid)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: egg, soy
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes milk, wheat, coconut, peanuts, tree nuts.”

CE DE CANDY (Smarties) (located in New Jersey 908-964-0660)

  • Smarties, Giant Smarties, Mega Smarties, Theater Box Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Mega Tropical Lollies, Smarties Pops, Giant Smarties Pops, Smarties Creme
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Note: Smarties refers to the US brand, not the Canadian Smarties

Allergen Statement (via web Sept 2015): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from most of the known allergens. All products are free of milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy. Smarties® products are safe to eat for kids with peanut allergies Smarties® are gluten-free and vegan!

We sell our products to different “re-baggers” as well as various retail outlets. A re-bagger buys products from many different companies and puts them in their own packaging. Only these re-baggers can verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, or other known allergens. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product was packaged in one of our manufacturing facilities, and the allergen information on this page applies to that product.

Gluten-Free Statement (via web Sept 2015): All Smarties® products are gluten-free and safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.  Furthermore, Smarties® products are manufactured in facilities that produce exclusively gluten-free candies.

Note: If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

CONCORD CONFECTIONS (Concord, Ontario, Canada)

  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “may contain milk and soy”

FERRARA CANDY COMPANY (Oakbrook Terrace, IL 888-247-9855)

  • Black Forest Mini Gummy Bears, Black Forest Gummy Worms, Little Monsters Fruit Snacks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, contains coconut oil
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Brach’s Candy Corn Classic, Brach’s Candy Corn Mini, Brach’s Apple Pie Candy Corn, Brach’s Caramel Macchiato Candy Corn, Brach’s Fruit Cremes Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Brach’s Peanut Butter Cup Candy Corn, Brach’s Sea Salt Chocolate Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, almonds, Brazil nuts, coconut and peanut are used in the production of other products.”
  • Brach’s S’mores Candy Corn, Brach’s Indian Corn, Brach’s Autumn Mix, Brach’s Assorted MellowCremes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Brach’s Pumpkin Spice Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: sesame oil
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, sesame oil
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Brach’s MilkMaid Caramels
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, tree nuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Jujyfruits, Jujubes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Now and Later Original
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin and oil)
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where eggs are used in the production of other products.”
  • Now and Later Soft, Now and Later Splits, Now and Later Chewy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: egg, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Rain-Blo Pops, Rain-Blo Bubble Gum Balls
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk and eggs are used in the production of other products.”
  • Super Bubble Gum
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “This product is produced in a facility where egg and soy are used in the production of other products.”
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Sour Brite Eggs, Extreme Sour Bites
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, tree nuts, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products.
  • Lemonhead, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Tropical Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Redhead Chewy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “This product was manufactured in a facility where milk, eggs, almonds, Brazil nuts, coconut, peanuts and soy are used in the production of other products.”

Gluten-Free Info (verified via email Sept. 2014): Ferrara products contain only Corn Gluten.  The following Ferrara products contain no wheat, rye, barley or oats.  Here is a list of candies you can enjoy:

Atomic Fireballs
All Gummies (Black Forest, Ferrara, Sathers, Trolli)
All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc)
Bob’s Sweet Stripes
Boston Baked Beans (contains peanuts)
Brach’s Wild ‘N Fruity Gummi Worms
Brach’s Candy Corn – All Varieties (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
Brach’s Cinnamon Disks/Imperials
Brach’s Conversation Hearts
Brach’s Jelly Bean Nougats (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
Brach’s Lemon Drops (Kosher)
Brach’s Halloween Mellowcremes – All Varieties (They are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
Candy Canes (Bob’s, Brach’s, Lemonhead & Friends, Red Hots) Allergen Free
Cherry Sours
Fruit Snacks (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
Gumballs
Jawbreakers / Jawbusters
Jelly Beans
Juju’s
Jujy’s
Lemonheads
Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
Tropical Chewy Lemonhead
Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
Berry Chewy Lemonhead
Cherryhead
Grapehead
Now & Later
Red Hots

FERRERO (Somerset, NJ 732-764-9300)

  • Tic Tacs
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Gluten Free Info (via web Sept 2015): Tic Tac® mints do not contain any ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat, barley, rye, oats or triticale.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Tic Tac® mints do not contain peanuts or other tree nuts. In addition, Tic Tac mints are not manufactured on the same equipment as peanut or other tree nut containing products.

  • Ferrero Chocolates
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, other ingredients vary

Gluten Free Info (via web Sept 2015): Ferrero chocolates and confections are not gluten free.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Rocher® chocolates, Rondnoir® dark chocolates, and Raffaello® confections do not contain peanuts or peanut ingredients. There is no risk of cross contamination with peanuts in the facilities in which Rocher®, Rondnoir® and Raffaello® are manufactured.

FLIX (located in Niles, IL 847-647-1370)

  • Spooky Lip Pops Lollipops, Angry Birds Lollipops, Gummy Boo Bands
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, but Lip Pops contain glucose syrup which can be from wheat or corn
    • Made in China
    • Website statement: Manufactured in a facility free of peanuts, tree nuts, pine nuts, dairy, egg and gluten products.

FRANKFORD CANDY & CHOCOLATE COMPANY (800-735-4979 x2901)

  • SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties (including Colors variety)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts, almonds, and wheat.” This is a product of China.

GIMBAL’S FINE CANDIES (San Francisco, CA 888-841-9373)

  • Jelly Beans, Sour Lovers, Cherry Lovers, Cinnamon Lovers, LavaBalls, Licorice Scotties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Gimbal’s candies are peanut-free, tree nut-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free and egg-free. These ingredients are responsible for countless allergic reactions across the nation. Many Gimbal’s consumers have personally thanked us for making our candies available to them. We are happy to create delicious treats that can be enjoyed by so many people, including those living with food allergies.

GOETZE’S CANDY COMPANY (Baltimore, MD 410-342-2010)

  • Caramel Creams, Cow Tales
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soybean oil and lecithin, milk

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Caramel Creams® and Cow Tales® are made in a dedicated, nut-free facility. You can enjoy a Goetze’s sweet treats with the assurance that our caramels are made and packaged in a facility that has never processed nut-containing products. Goetze’s Candy products are sometimes re-packaged under another brand, with other candy products, or sold by a retailer in a bulk display, so be sure to review the Allergen Information your package prior to consumption.Caramel Creams® Crispy Rice & Marshmallow Treats and Cow Tales® Crispy Moo treats are manufactured in a different facility that processes peanuts.

HARIBO

  • Gold-Bears, Smurfs, Happy Cola
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens, coconut oil
  • Twin Cherries, Peaches, Raspberries, Rattlesnakes, Frogs, Grapefruit
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour S’ghetti, Fruity Pasta, Strawberry Wheels, Licorice Wheels
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat

HERSHEY (located in Hershey, PA 800-468-1714)

  • Almond Joy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), coconut
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Cadbury Screme Egg
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts,
    • Ingredients contain: milk, egg, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”
  • Good & Fruity
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Good & Plenty
    • Ingredients free of:, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Heath Toffee Bar, Heath Minis
    • Ingredients free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Hershey’s Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds”
  • Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, wheat/gluten, soybean oil and lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds and peanuts.”
  • Hershey’s Kisses, Special Dark Kisses, Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel Kisses
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Gluten-free and always.”
  • Hershey’s Kisses Almond
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, almonds
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes other tree nuts”
  • Hershey’s Kisses Cookies ‘n Creme
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, wheat, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds.”
  • Hershey’s Kisses Pumpkin Spice
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes peanuts.”
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds”
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars with Almonds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Hershey’s Special Dark
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanut
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Hershey’s Nuggets – Milk Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanut
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes tree nuts.”
  • Hershey’s Nuggets – Milk Chocolate with Almond, Special Dark with Almond, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (in some flavors)
  • Jolly Rancher LolliPops (including Caramel Apple), Stix, Crunch ‘n Chew
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Jolly Rancher Gummies Spooky Shapes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Jolly Rancher Bites Soft Chews
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (wheat flour), soybean oil and soy lecithin
  • Jolly Rancher Bites Filled Gummies
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: coconut oil
  • Kit Kat Miniatures, Kit Kat White Miniatures, Kit Kat Triple Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that also processes peanuts.”
  • Krackel
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt)
  • Milk Duds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Mounds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean lecithin, coconut
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on the same equipment that processes almonds and in a facility that also processes peanuts.”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Pay Day
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy, egg
  • NutrageousReese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Reese’s Peanut Butter Pumpkins, Reese’s Dark Peanut Butter Cups, Reese’s Nutrageous, Reese’s Miniatures
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Reese’s Pieces
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: soybean oil and lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Reese’s Fast Break Candy Bar
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: egg, soy lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Reese’s Sticks
    • Ingredients free of: eggs, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soy lecithin, peanuts, milk
  • Rolo
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and lecithin
  • Take 5
    • Ingredients free of: egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, peanuts, milk, soybean oil and lecithin, coconut oil
  • Twizzlers Twists, Flavored Twists, Butes, Rainbow Twists, Pull n Peel Candy
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, peanuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Twizzlers Filled Twists
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, soy lecithin
  • Whoppers Malted Milk Balls
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • York Peppermint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, egg, soy lecithin

Gluten-Free Info (via phone Sept 2014):
If there is gluten in the ingredients, including wheat, rye, oats, barley or malt, it will be listed on the ingredient label.

Gluten Free (via web Sept 2015:) – A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticole, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods.

For your convenience, the current products listed below have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards proposed by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Please note, this list is not all inclusive as we have other products that do not have gluten containing ingredients.

The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

ALMOND JOY Candy

All Except ALMOND JOY PIECES Candy
BROOKSIDE Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Snack Bars

BROOKSIDE Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cherry with Pomegranate Flavor and Other Natural Flavors

BROOKSIDE Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cranberry with Blackberry Flavor and Other Natural Flavors

BROOKSIDE Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Blueberry with Açai Flavor and Other Natural Flavors

DAGOBA Baking and Beverages – ALL
HEATH Bars – ALL
HERSHEY’S – Baking Bars

HERSHEY’S Semi Sweet Baking Bar
HERSHEY’S Unsweetened Baking Bar
HERSHEY’S – Baking Chips
HERSHEY’S Butterscotch Chips
HERSHEY’S Cinnamon Chips
HERSHEY’S KISSES MINI KISSES Milk Chocolate
HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Chips
HERSHEY’S MINI CHIPS Semi-Sweet Chocolate
HERSHEY’S Mint Chocolate Chips
HERSHEY’S Premier White Chips
HERSHEY’S Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Mildly Sweet Chocolate Chips
HERSHEY’S Sugar Free Chocolate Chips
REESE’S Baking Chips

HERSHEY’S – Cocoa

HERSHEY’S Cocoa
HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Cocoa

HERSHEY’S KISSES Candies

HERSHEY’S KISSES Milk Chocolate

HERSHEY’S KISSES Brand Milk Chocolates Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème

HERSHEY’S KISSES Brand Milk Chocolates Filled with Vanilla Creme

HERSHEY’S KISSES Brand Mint Dark Chocolate Truffles Candy

HERSHEY’S KISSES Brand Pumpkin Spice Flavored Candy

HERSHEY’S KISSES Milk Chocolate

HERSHEY’S KISSES SPECIAL DARK Mildly Sweet Chocolate

HERSHEY’S NUGGETS

HERSHEY’S Nuggets Milk Chocolates

HERSHEY’S Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds

HERSHEY’S Nuggets SPECIAL DARK Dark Chocolate with Almonds

HERSHEY’S Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds

HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bar

HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only)

HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar (1.45oz only)

HERSHEY’S Milk Duds – ALL

HERSHEY’S Spreads – ALL Except HERSHEY’S Chocolate Spread with SNACKSTERS Graham Dippers

HERSHEY’S Syrup and REESE’S Toppings

HEATH Shell Topping

HERSHEY’S Hot Fudge Topping

HERSHEY’S Caramel Syrup

HERSHEY’S Classic Caramel Topping

HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup

HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup with Calcium

HERSHEY’S Chocolate Sugar Free Syrup

HERSHEY’S Double Chocolate Sundae Syrup

HERSHEY’S Lite Chocolate Syrup

HERSHEY’S Shell Topping

HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Topping

HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Syrup

HERSHEY’S Strawberry Syrup

HERSHEY’S Strawberry Sugar Free Syrup

REESE’S Chocolate Peanut Butter Topping

REESE’S Peanut Butter Topping

REESE’S Shell Topping

MOUNDS Bars – ALL

PAYDAY Candy – ALL

REESE’S FAST BREAK Candy Bar

REESE’S NUTRAGEOUS Candy Bar

REESE’S Peanut Butter Cups – All Except REESE’S Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Items

REESE’S PIECES Candy – All Except REESE’S PIECES Eggs

REESE’S Spreads – Except REESE’S Spreads with Snacksters Graham Dippers

ROLO Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except ROLO Minis
SCHARFFEN BERGER – All Except SCHARFFEN BERGER Cocoa Powder
SKOR Toffee Bars – ALL
YORK Peppermint Pattie – All Except YORK PIECES Candy, YORK Minis, and YORK Shapes (5 oz.)

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015):
As a company, we have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover of an allergen, we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

HILCO (Louisville, KY)

  • Minions Bob 3-D Character Pop
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “May contain traces of tree nuts and milk.”

IMPACT CONFECTIONS (Littleton, CO 303-626-2222)

  • Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment that processes milk, soy, peanut and wheat products.”
  • Warheads Extreme Sour Hard Candy, Warheads Sour Bubble Gum Pops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment that processes milk, peanut and wheat products.”
    • “WARNING: Eating multiple pieces within a short time period may cause a temporary irritation to sensitive tongues and mouths.”
  • Warheads Sour Twists
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk
  • Warheads Sour Coolers
    • Ingredients free of: milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: Oat fiber (may contain gluten)
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes soy.”
  • Warheads Sour Dippin’ Pucker Packs
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Manufactured in a facility that processes soy.”

JELLY BELLY (located in Fairfield, CA 1-800-522-3267)

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans (except Jelly Bean Chocolate Dips)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens (except a few flavors – see allergen info below)
    • Package statement: “Made in a peanut-free facility.”
  • Jelly Belly Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: modified soy protein

Gluten-Free info (via web Sept 2015):
All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch. We make over 150 different candies and a few of our products use gluten-containing ingredients. These items include Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Deluxe Mix, Seasonal Malt Balls, Licorice Bridge Mix, and Licorice Pastels.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015):
We do not use peanuts as an ingredient in any confections manufactured in any of our plants. In the United States we currently process almonds, walnuts, cashews, pecans and coconut.

We take allergen issues seriously and want to provide you the information you need to make informed decisions. We make over 150 different candies and we urge you to always check the Ingredient labels on packages and bulk bins. Here is information on common allergens:

PEANUTS: No peanuts or peanut ingredients are in products manufactured in our plants, and our manufacturing facilities are peanut free. (Please note that tour centers/company retail stores may have other peanut products for purchase and these will be clearly labeled.)

TREE NUTS: We process tree nuts in our manufacturing facilities. Please note that tour centers/company retail stores may also carry other tree nut products.

GLUTEN: Jelly Belly jelly beans are gluten free. Most of the Confections by Jelly Belly, such as Gummi Bears and Candy Corn, are also gluten free. (Please note Chocolate Malt Balls and Licorice Pastels contain gluten)

DAIRY: Jelly Belly beans do not contain any dairy products. We make other confections such as chocolate covered candies that do contain dairy and packages are marked OUD.

EGGS: None of our candies contains egg in the ingredients.

SOY: Currently, Candy Corn contains modified soy protein and the following Jelly Belly flavors contain soy lecithin: Cold Stone Chocolate Devotion®, Cold Stone Mint Mint Chocolate Chocolate Chip®, Chocolate Pudding, and Dark Chocolate. All of our chocolate confections also contain soy lecithin.
Candy Corn does not contain dairy, egg, gluten, tree nuts or peanut ingredients.

JUST BORN (located in Bethlehem, PA 1-888-645-3453)

  • Hot Tamales
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • “Gluten-Free” on package
  • Mike & Ike Mummy Mix and Vampire Variety
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • “Gluten-Free” on package
  • Peeps Chocolate Mousse Flavored Cats, Peeps Tombstones, Peeps Marshmallow Pumpkins, Peeps Marshmallow Ghosts
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”, “May contain milk” (see Allergen Info below)
  • Candy Corn PeepsPeeps Candy Corn Chicks, Pumpkin Spice Chicks, Caramel Apple Chicks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Peeps Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins, Chocolate Dipped Orange Chicks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and coconut. Gluten-free.”
  • Snack Size Mini Marshmallow Chicks, Flavored Mini Chicks
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, soy and wheat.”

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2015): The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch. However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015):
Do your candies contain any of the top 8 allergens? (Milk, Eggs, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Fish, Shellfish, Soy, Wheat)? We are required by law to declare major food allergens as defined by the FDA on our label. Additionally, for the safety of our consumers, it is our policy to voluntarily add advisory statements to our packages to alert consumers to any potential cross contamination risk. Therefore, if there is a risk of cross contamination with any of these major food allergens, we would include an allergen alert on our package. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.

MARS (800-651-2564)

  • 3 Musketeers, 3 Musketeers Minis, Muskefears (contains red nougat)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Dove Milk Chocolate (including Eyeballs), Dove Dark Chocolate, Dove Sea Salt Caramel, Dove Mint & Dark Chocolate Swirl, Dove Caramel Milk Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Dove Almond Dark Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: almonds, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts and tree nuts.”
  • Dove Cookies & Creme
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Dove Peanut Butter
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
    • Package statement: “May contain tree nuts”
  • M&Ms Plain, Plain Minis
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • M&Ms White Candy Corn, M&Ms Pumpkin Spice Latte, M&Ms Mint, M&Ms Birthday Cake
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, tree nuts and wheat.”
  • MM CrispyM&Ms Crispy
    • Ingredients free of: egg, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (barley malt), milk, soy (lecithin)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts and wheat.”
  • MM PBM&Ms Peanut, M&Ms Peanut Butter, M&Ms Dark Chocolate Peanut
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain tree nuts”
  • M&Ms Almond
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • M & Ms Pretzel
    • Ingredients free of: egg, peanuts, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (wheat and barley malt), milk, soybean oil, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Bar, Milky Way Minis
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Midnight Bar, Milky Way Caramel Apple
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, eggs, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way Simply Caramel
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanut and egg”
  • Snickers, Snickers Peanut Butter, Snickers Peanut Butter Squared
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, egg, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
    • Package statement: “May contain tree nuts”
  • Snickers XScream (same as Xtreme)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, eggs, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
    • Package statement: “May contain tree nuts and egg”
  • Snickers Almond
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: tree nuts, milk, egg, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”
  • Twix, Twix Minis
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”

Gluten-Free Info (via customer service rep Sept 2015): All gluten ingredients will be called out on the label. Gluten ingredients would not be hidden in flavors.

If there is a chance of cross-contamination with gluten it will be listed on the label in the allergen statement below the ingredients, so if there is no statement, you can assume there is no chance of cross-contamination.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): At Mars, we take food allergies very seriously because they affect our consumers. We have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating our ingredients and validating our cleaning procedures.

In order to avoid an allergic reaction to food, we know you must avoid the allergen. To do so, you count on the ingredient statements on food labels to be truthful and accurate. We want you to be able to trust the information on our labels. At Mars, our goal is to provide safe, high quality food products for our consumers. Therefore, we have developed strict rules about the labeling of allergens on our products.For more information visit the Mars, Incorporated Policy on Allergen Labeling

Allergen Info (via customer service rep Sept 2015): If there is a chance of cross-contamination with any allergen it will be listed on the label in the allergen statement below the ingredients, so if there is no statement, you can assume there is no chance of cross-contamination.

MONDELEZ INTERNATIONAL (800-524-2854)

  • Sour Patch Kids
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Swedish Fish
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via web Sept 2015): Our products are produced and labeled in compliance with the FDA labeling requirements. When labeling products, we consider – and label for – all possible sources of the 8 major allergens recognized by the FDA. These are eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, milk, peanuts, soy, tree nuts and wheat. In addition to the above 8 FDA allergens, MondelÄ“z International also tracks lupin, mollusks, and sesame seeds. For each product, we thoroughly review all ingredients, including ingredient components and processing aids, and the production process, to determine whether there are may be any of the above 11 allergens present in the product.

Mondelēz International also labels for some additional allergens or substances that can cause sensitivity or intolerance in levels over 10 ppm, such as celery, mustard, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, cottonseed, sources of gluten other than wheat, and sulfites. If any of these substances are directly added to the product, they will be listed in the Ingredient Statement.

We take special precautions to thoroughly clean and sanitize all our production lines between product changeovers on a line. We build these cleaning procedures into our safety systems to make sure there is no carryover from allergens; for example when switching from nut-containing products to ones without nuts.

NECCO (located in Revere, MA 781-485-4500)

  • Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses (orange wrapper like taffy with no ingredients)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs, milk
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, soybean oil and lecithin, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “Processed in a facility that also processes milk, wheat and tree nuts.”
  • Necco Wafers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • “Processed in a facility that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, milk, eggs and soy.”
  • SkyBar Zombie Food
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil & soy lecithin, coconut oil
    • “Processed in a facility that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, milk, and eggs.”

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2015):
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: Necco Wafers, Necco Chocolate Wafers, Candy Buttons, CANADA Mints and CANADA Wintergreen, Mary Janes, Banana Split Chews, Mint Julep Chews, Haviland Thin Mints, Haviland Wintergreen Patty, Sky Bar, Sweethearts (Valentine’s Day), Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses (Halloween).

NESTLE (located in PA, 800-225-2270)

  • 100 Grand
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soy lecithin, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “May contain peanut and egg.”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soybean oil and soy lecithin
  • Butterfinger
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
    • Package statement: “May contain nuts.” “Gluten-Free”
  • Crunch
    • Ingredients free of:tree nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt)
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Goobers
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, egg, wheat
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
  • Oh Henry
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, egg, milk, soy lecithin & protein, coconut oil
  • Raisinets
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten,tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts”

Gluten Free Info (via web Sept 2015):
To help you make informed choices, major allergens including ingredients containing gluten are labeled on foods even when present in small quantities.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): To help you make informed choices, major allergens present in a food are labeled in the ingredients list of this food, according to the local legislation and following our internal Nestlé rules even if present in small quantities.

In case of cross-contact with a major allergen that cannot be eliminated, a precautionary statement e.g.: “May contain [Allergen]” appears on the food label after the ingredient list.

PEARSON CANDY (St. Paul, MN, 651.698.0356)

  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “May contain other nuts and peanuts.”
  • Mint Patties
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin and protein
    • Package statement: “Gluten-Free” “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and tree nuts.”
  • Salted Nut Roll
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and protein, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “Gluten-Free” “Manufactured on shared equipment with tree nuts.”

PEZ (located in Orange, CT 203.795.0531)

  • Pez, Pez Sourz
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy oil
    • Package statement: “Peanut, tree nut and gluten-free.”

Gluten-Free and Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): To the best of our knowledge our product does not contain allergens as defined by Codex. The Codex list comes from the World Health Organization. It is a list of the “Big 8 Allergens”. It is the reference list that our suppliers use to answer allergen questions. PEZ is the only product we run on our lines. There is no chance of cross-contamination. PEZ Candy is tree nut, peanut & gluten free.

POP ROCKS (Atlanta, GA, 770-399-1776)

    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy
    • Ingredients contain: milk

PAPalmer Plumpkin PalsLMER (R.M. PALMER COMPANY)   (located in Reading, PA, 610 372-8971) – also sold under Walgreen brand

  • Plumpkin Pals
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and almonds.”
  • Twisted Pumpkins – Caramel, Creepy Peepers — Caramel
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Twisted Pumpkins – Fudge, Creepy Peeper — Fudge
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Twisted Pumpkins – Peanut Butter, Creepy Peepers – Peanut Butter
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and tree nuts.”
  • Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cups, Peanut Butter Cups
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and almonds.”
  • Googly EyesDouble Crisp Googly Eyes, Double Crisp Skulls
    • Ingredients free of: wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: gluten (barley malt), milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Manufactured on equipment which also processes wheat, peanut butter and almonds.”

Creepy Peepers and Crispy Googly Eyes are white wrapped balls that look like eyeballs with various colors of eyes and red veins – no ingredients listed on individual pieces. Twisted Pumpkins are individually wrapped balls in an orange jack-o-lantern wrapper. Plumpkin Pals are individually wrapped chocolates in Pumpkin wrappers.

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2015): Our products that do NOT contain “cookies” or “crisp rice” are gluten-free. However, ALL of our products are manufactured on machinery that also manufactures products WITH gluten.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Some of our products do contain eggs. The icing decorations that are attached to some of our hand-decorated items contain egg albumen. All of our products are produced on machinery that also processes items that contain peanuts and tree nuts. Of course, we have procedures in place for our production lines to prevent any cross-contamination of our products.

RUSSELL STOVER (located in Kansas City, MO 800-777-4028)

  • Great Pumpkin Marshmallow in Milk Chocolate, Great Pumpkin Caramel in Milk Chocolate
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “May contain peanuts, almonds, cashews, pecans, coconut, hazelnuts, walnuts, eggs and wheat.”

Gluten-Free Info (via web 2015): Most of our products do not contain gluten from added ingredients. Those that do contain wheat gluten, such as S’Mores and the Cookies and Cream Rabbit, clearly show the presence of wheat in the ingredient listings. However, please be aware that products containing wheat are produced on equipment that’s also used to make our other products. So, we can’t rule out the possibility of cross-contact, despite efforts to prevent it. Because of that possibility, we do not declare any of our products to be gluten-free.

SPANGLER (located in Bryan, OH 419-636-4221)

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Circus Peanuts, Saf-T-Pops, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy (see note below), except for Circus Peanuts
    • Package statement: “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.”

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction. Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

Five Ways We Make Sure Our Products Are Allergy-Free

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify our suppliers of our allergen standards. We request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergen free.
  5. At least twice a year, our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Allergen Statements on Re-bagged Items:
In today’s candy market it is a regular practice for retailers to have their own store’s private label bag. In most of these situations, we do not pack these items ourselves but the retailer or a customer of ours purchases and repackages our items.

The allergen free claim may be different as these companies often package other items that may contain peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, wheat, gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, or soy in their facilities. Trace elements of these allergens could come into contact with our items.

To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, check the back of the item you are purchasing for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have the following identifiers:

  1. Graphics of bag as shown on the Spangler Candy company website at spanglercandy.com.
  2. Current Spangler allergen statement: “This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.”
  3. Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.
  4. UPC code begins with “0 30800”. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2015): New Spangler Candy packaging will have information and symbols noting our products are free of the top common allergens. We include gluten in this listing, but show wheat and gluten separately.

STORCK

  • Riesen
    • Ingredients free of: peanut, egg
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten(glucose syrup from wheat or corn), milk, soy lecithin, shea nut oil
    • Package statement: “Processed in a facility where peanuts, hazelnuts, almonds and other tree nuts are present”
  • Werther’s Original
    • Ingredients free of: peanut, egg, tree nuts
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten (glucose syrup from wheat or corn), milk, soy lecithin

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Although none of our Werther’s Original products contain nuts in their recipes and we take the utmost care during production, there is a risk of cross contamination in the factory so we cannot guarantee that they are absolutely nut free.

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2015): Although our products do meet the FDA requirements of testing at less than 20 ppm for gluten content, we have chosen not to label our products as “gluten-free” at this time. If you have a gluten allergy, we recommend that you speak to your physician before consuming our product.

SWEETWORKS (877.261.7887)

  • Sixlets Candy Coated Chocolate Flavored Candy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Gluten-Free. Made in a facility that does not process nuts.”

THE TOPPS COMPANY (located in New York, NY 800-489-9149) 212-376-0300 CandyMania.com

  • Baby Bottle Pop, Ring Pops, Push Pops, Ring Pop Gummies
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Bazooka Gum, Bazooka Gum Nuggets
    • Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: may contain soy

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): Allergen Guide from website

TOOTSIE (located in Chicago, IL 773-838-3400)

  • Andes Crème de Menthe
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin
  • Caramel Apple Pops:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and lecithin
  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, soy lecithin and soy protein, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops, Charms Pops, Charms Mini-Pops, Charms Candy Corn Pops
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Charms Blow Pops Caramel Apple
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk
    • Package statement: “Soy may be present”
  • Charms Blow Pops Bubble Gum
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “Soy may be present”
  • Cry Baby Sour Gumballs, Cry Baby Tears, TearJerkers Sour Bubble Gum
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: “soy may be present”
  • Cry Baby Extra Sour Chews
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: “milk may be present”
  • Dots
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Dubble Bubble Twist
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: “soy may be present”
  • Fluffy Stuff
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: “Milk and soy may be present”
    • Package statement: “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts or gluten.”
  • Junior Mints:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, milk, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy protein
    • Package statement: “Egg and milk may be present. Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts or gluten.”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil and soy lecithin
    • Package statement: “Produced in a facility that does not use peanuts, tree nuts, eggs or gluten.”
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Ingredients free of: tree nuts, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soybean oil & lecithin

Gluten-Free Info (via web Sept 2015): At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.

Allergen Info (via web Sept 2015): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities.

WONKA (part of Nestle) (located in PA, 800-225-2270)

  • Bottlecaps, Nerds, Pixy Stix, Runts
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “May contain egg.”
  • Everlasting Gobstopper
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “May contain egg.”
  • Chewy Spree
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: egg, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.”
  • Laffy Taffy (Not Stretchy)
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Laffy Taffy Stretchy & Tangy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts
    • Ingredients contain: egg, coconut oil
  • RandomsRandoms
    • Ingredients free of: milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: Wheat/gluten (glucose syrup), coconut oil
    • Package statement: “Contains wheat ingredient.”
  • Sweetarts (regular), Sweetarts Skull and Bones
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “May contain egg.”
  • Sweetarts Gummies
    • Ingredients free of: milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
    • “May contain peanuts, nuts, milk, soy and wheat.”
  • Sweetarts Soft & Chewy Ropes
    • Ingredients free of: milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: wheat/gluten
  • Sweetarts Mini Chewy, Giant Chewy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: egg, coconut oil
    • Package statement: “Made in a facility that also processes wheat.”
  • Sweetarts Chewy Sours
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Ingredients contain: egg, coconut oil
  • Sweetarts Chews
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Sweetarts Twists
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens

Gluten Free Info (via customer service rep Sept 2015):
We consider “gluten free” to mean no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. In other words, if a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as “made on equipment” or “facility that also processes wheat etc… “, we do not consider that product to be gluten free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.

All gluten-containing ingredients would be listed on the label.

Allergen Info (via customer service rep Sept 2015): labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

If a statement does not include an allergen warning, you can assume that it is free of cross-contamination with allergens.

WRIGLEY (MARS is parent company) (located in Peoria, ILL 1-800-974-4539)

  • Altoids
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
    • Note: there used to be gluten in Altoids Smalls, but now is GF
  • CremeSavers
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg
    • Ingredients contain: milk, soy lecithin, coconut oil
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Hubba Bubba Bubble Tape
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk
    • Ingredients contain: soy (lecithin)
  • Juicy Fruit
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milkIngredients contain: soy lecithin
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy (most flavors)
    • Ingredients contain: soy lecithin (in some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies (including Spooky Shapes), Big Ring Gummies regular, Lollipops
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Ingredients contain: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Skittles, Skittles Darkside, Skittles Sour
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Starburst, Starburst Fruity Slushies, Favereds
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens
    • Package statement: “gluten-free”
  • Starburst Fruit Flavored Candy Corn
    • Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Ingredients contain: None of top 8 allergens

Gluten-Free Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2015): All Wrigley products are gluten-free (they stopped using wheat maltodextrin in Altoids Smalls, but there may still be some old packages on shelves)

Allergen Info (via consumer representative on phone Sept 2015): All Wrigley products are free of top 8 allergens except for CremeSavers which contain milk and soy and are made in a different plant.

HAVE A HAPPY AND SAFE HALLOWEEN!

Spread the love

Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing your gluten-free list with us!

  2. I can’t thank you enough. My 4yr old son was just diagnosised with dairy,tree nut, and peanut allergies. At least he can still have some Halloween candy. Thanks again!

  3. Thank you for taking the time to update this each year. My 10 year old has celiac and he gets so excited around Halloween to be reminded what he can have.

  4. My youngest daughter was just diagnosed with celiac. Thank you for making it easier to find gluten-free candies! Are Greenbrier International candies gluten free?

  5. Thank you for this. Our little boy is not allergic to anything as of now, but we are sensitive to other little ones in our neighborhood, and want to make sure they also get a good selection when they come to our door. Much love.

  6. Wonderful List… This helped me figure out what candy I can enjoy this Halloween. Thank you so much! 🙂

  7. Thank you for compiling and publishing, this list is a lifesaver and makes Halloween much safer and easier for our family.

  8. Thank you so much! This list has made our post-Halloween morning so much easier! Noticed you list butterfingers with soybean oil & anytime we see them in the store that’s an ingredient, but their online info no longer shows soybean oil. Have you heard if butterfinger is eliminating that ingredient?

  9. Thank you for this! We just found out our 3 year old is allergic to coconut, and I was unsure of which foods and candy she could have. There’s a lot more coconut oil in things than I realized!

  10. Thanks you so much for making this list! my 11 year old son has just been diagnosed with Celiac and milk allergies. He is really struggling so it was awesome to show him all the good candy he can still have. Thanks JoAnn

  11. you forgot smarties

  12. Hello and thank you for performing the herculean task of putting this list together year after year! It has become a tradition in our home. My daughter (who has celiac) always asks me to “get the list” and can’t wait to see what she can eat! You have made a happy difference in her life.
    I noticed you do not have one for 2016 and hope all is well with you and yours.
    Forever grateful!
    Kindra P.

  13. I’m allergic to fruit, chocolate, olive oil, milk, fish and egg. Do you have anything candy for me ? 🙁 Good luck ! Thanks Pam

  14. Oh I forgot
    wheat too !