Print Print

Egg-Free Guide

Always read ingredients and check with the manufacturer if you are not sure if something contains egg, and avoid the food until you are sure.

Foods or ingredients that definitely are or contain egg:

  • Egg in any form, including yolk, white, dried, powder, solids, substitute
  • Albumin (or albumen)
  • Ovalbumin
  • Ovomucin
  • Ovomucoid
  • Ovovitellin
  • Globulin, Ovoglobulin
  • Lysozyme
  • Livetin
  • Eggnog
  • Mayonnaise (unless egg-free mayo)
  • Meringue (meringue powder)
  • Vaccines that have been cultivated in eggs, such as flu and MMR

Ingredients that may contain egg:

  • Egg substitutes
  • Natural or artificial flavoring
  • Lecithin
  • Imitation crab meat or surimi
  • Simplesse™ (fat replacer made from either egg or milk protein)

Things to watch out for:

  • Baked goods (fresh or packaged), including bread, crackers, cookies, muffins, cakes
  • Baking mixes
  • Breakfast foods — pancakes, waffles, french toast
  • Pasta or egg noodles
  • Batter coated foods, like chicken nuggets
  • Foods using breading or breadcrumbs, like meatloaf or meatballs
  • Fried rice or pad thai noodles – often contain eggs
  • Sauces, such as Hollandaise, tartar or cream sauces
  • Salad dressings, especially Caesar
  • Soufflés
  • Custard, mousse, crème brulee, pudding, meringue, whips
  • Some ice creams
  • Protein drinks, shakes or bars
  • Broth, consommé, bouillon – egg white may be used as a clarifying agent
  • Soups containing egg (Asian soups) or egg noodles
  • Chocolate candy filled with cream, fondant, marshmallow, or fudge
  • Marzipan
  • Nougat
  • Beverages – root beer, wine, or coffee if clarified with egg
  • Baking powder
  • Baked goods with a shiny glaze – may be brushed with egg whites

Tip: Look for vegan products – that means there is no animal byproducts at all, so no eggs!

The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA), mandates that foods labeled on or after January 2006 must declare egg in plain language either on the ingredient list or by using the words “Contains egg(s).” Foods that were labeled before January 2006 are not subject to this law, so read ingredients carefully.

Be Sociable, Share!