Print Print

See’s Candies Allergy Information

Posted on December 21st, 2008 by Alison Read 24 Comments - Add Your Own »

When I think of the holidays, I think of See’s Candies. Every year at our big family gathering, we open the boxes of assorted chocolates and pass them around during the gift-opening frenzy. When I was little I was guilty of taking a bite of one, and if I didn’t like it, putting it back in the box — but everyone has done this, right?

When I started to be gluten-free I was wary of eating any of the candies, but now there is good news from See’s for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance! On 12/20/08, I received the following information via email regarding gluten and the top 8 allergens:


“In response to your request for information about the presence of gluten in our candies, our Quality Assurance Manager has advised that we have reformulated our products and eliminated wheat as a direct ingredient in all of our candies packed in standard boxes.  Some of our packaging for our Awesome Candy Bars still lists flour (wheat) however this is no longer the case.  We also do not use rye, barley, oats or malt as ingredients in our candies.  Therefore, none of our Custom Mix pieces contain gluten as a direct ingredient and cross contact is no longer a possibility.  This would include our Peanut Brittle, Krispys, and our Sugar Free products.

You may have noticed that we do have some products which are manufactured for us.  Some of these items that do not contain gluten are our Milk Chocolate Drops, Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips, Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Foil Novelties, Sugar Sticks and Sour Chews.  As we’ve noted, most of our products are gluten free.

However, we do have a few items which our Quality Assurance Department does not consider to be gluten free because of their decorations or they are produced in a facility that processes gluten.  These are all decorated Creams (decoration), Springtime Truffles (decoration), Egg Nog Truffles (decoration), all Climber Canes, Puppet Canes and Candy Canes, and the 3 oz. Bordeaux, Chocolate Walnut, and Dark Raspberry Hearts (decorations).  Also, all of our decorated Easter Eggs may contain gluten because of their decorations.  The only decorated Easter Eggs that would not contain gluten are our 9.5 oz. decorated Rocky Road Egg and our 13.5 oz. decorated Chocolate Butter with Pecans Egg.

In addition to the information above, we wish to advise that the distilled apple cider vinegar used in our Butterscotch Lollypops and Little Pops is grain based.”


“Our Quality Assurance Department has advised us that our Dairy Free products would be:

  • Citrus Twists (Summer item)
  • Fancy Mixed Nuts
  • Hot Hearts (Valentine’s Day)
  • Jelly Bean Eggs (Easter)
  • Licorice Medallions
  • Nonpareil Jelly Eggs (Easter)
  • Peppermint Twists
  • Sour Bats (Halloween)
  • Sour Bunnies (Easter)
  • Sour Hearts (Valentine’s Day)
  • Sour Stars (4th of July, Christmas)
  • Sugar Sticks

By Dairy Free we mean no milk, milk fat, butter or cream would be used in making these products.”


“Our Quality Assurance Department has advised us that we use Soy Lecithin in all of our milk, dark, and white chocolate pieces.  The only pieces that do not contain soy as a direct ingredient are:

  • Apricot Bon Bon
  • Cocoanut Bon Bon
  • Maple Pecan Bon Bon
  • Orange Bon Bon
  • Tipperary Bon Bon
  • Almond Royals
  • Bordeaux Pecan Fudge
  • Butterscotch Kiss
  • Chocolate Walnut Fudge
  • Peanut Brittle
  • Pecan Roll
  • Pecan Royal
  • Scotch Kiss
  • Vanilla Nut Caramel
  • Vanilla Walnut Fudge
  • Walnut Roll
  • Black Cherry Lollypops (Spring item)
  • Butterscotch Lollypops and Little Pops
  • Café Latte Lollypops and Little Pops
  • Vanilla Lollypops and Little Pops
  • Pumpkin Spice Lollypops (Fall item)
  • Cinnamon Lollypops (Christmas item)
  • Root Beer Lollypops (Summer item)
  • Climber Canes
  • Candy Canes (Christmas item)
  • Fancy Mixed Nuts
  • Licorice Medallions
  • Sugar Sticks
  • Peppermint Twists
  • Nonpareil Jelly Eggs (Easter item)
  • Jelly Bean Eggs (Easter item)
  • Hot Hearts (Valentine’s Day item)
  • Sour Bats (Halloween item)
  • Sour Bunnies (Easter item)
  • Sour Hearts (Valentine’s Day item)
  • Sour Stars (4th of July & Christmas items)
  • Citrus Twists (Summer item)
  • Sugar Free Peanut Brittle
  • Halloween Puppet Canes (Halloween item)

Most of these pieces are produced in the same facility and share the same candy lines.  While our kitchens are kept very clean it is possible that the pieces listed above may contain traces of soy from other pieces.  The Sour Bats, Sour Bunnies, Sour Hearts and Sour Stars state they contain trace amounts of soy on their packaging however this is no longer the case for these items.  They are produced in a facility that is now soy free.”


“Our Quality Assurance Department advises that the following pieces do not contain eggs or egg whites as a direct ingredient:

Milk Chocolate:

  • Almond Bud
  • Almond Square
  • Milk Beverly
  • Milk Bordeaux
  • Milk Buttercream
  • Butterscotch Square
  • Brittle-ette
  • Café Latte Krispy
  • Milk California Brittle
  • Chelsea
  • Milk Chocolate Butter
  • Cocoanut
  • Mayfair
  • Milk Almond
  • Milk Cherry
  • Milk Molasses Chip
  • Milk Pattie
  • Milk Peanut
  • Milk Raisin
  • Milk Walnut
  • Milk Small Chip
  • Milk Large Chip
  • Mocha
  • Orange Cream
  • Peanut Butter Pattie
  • P-Nut Crunch
  • Pecan Bud
  • Strawberry Cream
  • Vanilla Nut Cream

Dark Chocolate:

  • Dark Bordeaux
  • Dark Buttercream
  • Dark California Brittle
  • Dark Cocoanut Cream
  • Cocoanut Special
  • Dark Chocolate Butter
  • Dark Almond
  • Dark Cherry
  • Dark Molasses Chip
  • Dark Pattie
  • Dark Peanut
  • Dark Raisin
  • Dark Walnut
  • Dark Small Chip
  • Dark Large Chip
  • Ginger
  • Ginger Krispy
  • Maple Walnut
  • Marzipan
  • Mincemeat
  • Mint Krispy
  • Normandie
  • Orange Krispy
  • Peanut Square
  • Raspberry Cream
  • Walnut Square

White Chocolate:

  • Apricot Delight
  • Cashew Brittle
  • Kona Mocha
  • Polar Bear Paw

Bon Bon:

  • Apricot Bon Bon
  • Cocoanut Bon Bon
  • Maple Pecan Bon Bon
  • Orange Bon Bon


  • Almond Royal
  • Bordeaux Pecan Fudge
  • Bridge Mix Milk Almond
  • Bridge Mix Milk Molasses Chip
  • Bridge Mix Milk Butterscotch
  • Bridge Mix Milk Pecan
  • Bridge Mix Milk California Brittle
  • California Crunch
  • Chocolate Walnut Fudge
  • Peanut Brittle
  • Pecan Roll
  • Pecan Royal
  • Summertime
  • Toffee-ette
  • Vanilla Walnut Fudge
  • Victoria Toffee
  • Walnut Roll

Lollypops & Little Pops:

  • Black Cherry Lollypops (Seasonal piece – April/May)
  • Butterscotch Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Café Latte Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Chocolate Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Vanilla Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Pumpkin Spice Lollypops (Seasonal piece – October/November)
  • Cinnamon Lollypops  (Seasonal piece – November/December)
  • Root Beer Lollypops (Seasonal piece – June/July)

Candy Bars:

  • Awesome Peanut Brittle Bar
  • Bordeaux Bar
  • Butterscotch Pecan Bar
  • Dark Chocolate w/Almonds Bar
  • Milk Chocolate Bar
  • Milk Chocolate w/Almonds Bar
  • Milk Chocolate w/Toffee Nuggets
  • Awesome Walnut Square Bar
  • 62% Cacao Dark Bar


  • Almond Truffle
  • Blueberry Truffle
  • Café Au Lait Truffle
  • Café Hazelnut Truffle
  • Cranberry Orange Truffle
  • Dark Chocolate Chip Truffle
  • Dark Chocolate Truffle
  • Keylime Truffle
  • Lemon Truffle
  • Light Chocolate Truffle
  • Mint Truffle
  • See’s Apple Pie Truffle
  • Pecan Pie Truffle
  • Pineapple Truffle
  • Pumpkin Pie Truffle
  • Raspberry Truffle
  • White Mint Truffle
  • White Raspberry Truffle

Sugar Free:

  • Peanut Brittle
  • Peanut Clusters
  • Walnut Clusters
  • Almond Clusters
  • Dark Bar

All Year Novelties:

  • Fancy Mixed Nuts (Salted Nuts can)
  • Licorice Medallions
  • Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Milk Chocolate Drops
  • Sugar Sticks (all flavors)
  • Peppermint Twists
  • Milk Chocolate Novelties
  • White Chocolate Novelties
  • Dark Chocolate Novelties

Valentine’s Day items:

  • Hot Hearts
  • Sour Hearts

Easter items:

  • Nonpareil Jelly Eggs
  • Jelly Bean Eggs
  • Peanut Butter Egg (2 oz.)
  • Bordeaux Egg (2.0 oz.)
  • Chocolate Walnut Egg (2.0 oz)
  • Cocoanut Egg (2.0 oz)
  • Bordeaux Egg (4.0 oz)
  • Sour Bunnies

Summer items:

  • Sour Stars
  • Citrus Twists

Halloween items:

  • Orange and Chocolate Wafers
  • Sour Bats

Christmas items:

  • Candy Canes
  • Sour Stars

Most of the candies listed above are produced in the same facility and share the same equipment as the candies that contain eggs or egg whites as a direct ingredient.  Our kitchens are kept very clean, but it is impossible to guarantee that the pieces listed will not contain trace amounts of eggs.  Therefore, while some items do not contain eggs as part of their recipe all of our candies may contain trace amounts of eggs.”


“In reference to your question regarding pieces without nuts, we offer the following information.  We use the same machinery for some of our candy pieces and most of our candy pieces are produced in the same facility.  Our kitchens are kept very clean, but it is impossible to guarantee that a small particle of a nut will not become airborne and land on a piece of candy that is not supposed to have nuts.  Therefore, while some items do not contain nuts, nut oils, or nut pastes as part of their recipe all items manufactured by See’s Candies may contain traces of nuts including peanuts.

There are only a few candies that we would recommend for people who are allergic to nuts.  The following pieces are produced in facilities that do not process any items that contain nuts:

  • Assorted Sugar Sticks
  • Black Cherry Lollypops (seasonal item available in Spring)
  • Butterscotch Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Café Latte Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Cinnamon Lollypops (seasonal item available mid-November through December)
  • Citrus Twists (seasonal item available in Summer)
  • Chocolate Lollypops & Little Pops
  • Hot Hearts (seasonal item available for Valentine’s Day)
  • Jelly Bean Eggs (seasonal item available for Easter)
  • Licorice Medallions
  • Milk Chocolate Drops
  • Nonpareil Jelly Eggs (seasonal item available for Easter)
  • Peppermint Twists
  • Pumpkin Spice Lollypops (seasonal item available October through November)
  • Root Beer Lollypops (seasonal item available in Summer)
  • Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Sour Bats (seasonal item available for Halloween)
  • Sour Bunnies (seasonal item available for Easter)
  • Sour Hearts (seasonal item available for Valentine’s Day)
  • Sour Stars (seasonal item available for 4th of July and Christmas)
  • Vanilla Lollypops & Little Pops”


“Finally, we do not use shellfish or fish as an ingredient in any of our products.”

Thank you, See’s, for taking the time to make such a list. Several other chocolate companies I called could not provide me with this information.

Spread the love


  1. Thanks for this very informative post! Nice to learn of some new options/

  2. Wow, this is great information; I can indulge in peace. One question, though- since the apple cider vinegar used in the butterscotch pops is distilled, does it matter to celiacs that it is grain-based?

  3. Please let me know if See’s Bridge Mix contains any PEANUTS
    My allergy is with PEANUTS which are legumes.

    I am not allergic to any other nuts.


  4. I have just been diagnosed with corn allergy, and can no longer eat anything with corn meal/starch, corn syrup, or corn oil. Are there any See’s chocolates which do not contain any of these ingredients? If so, which ones are they. Thanks.

  5. Jane,
    You will have to call See’s Candies for information on corn. I don’t have the answer.

  6. It is a bummer that the See’s company doesn’t think of Diary Free and Gluten Free people when they make chocolates or have a totally different set of chocolates for allergies!

  7. I grew up on See’s candies, especially their lollipops. I have since developed a soy allergy, and it saddens me that their chocolate (including the lollipops) are made with soy lecithin. 🙁

  8. I am so happy to know that I can buy the lollypops for our grandson who has a severe peanut allergy. They are also one of my favorite things at See’s and especially with the seasonal ones. However, I keep them on hand all the time.

  9. Your butterscotch lollypops do they contain dairy (milk or any other dairy products)other then butter?

  10. At the bottom of the See’s homepage is a link titled “Allergens”. It appears they update it regularly. This link is current for Jan – Jun 2013

  11. I have a severe corn allergy but I love Sees candy. Do any of the candies have corn in them? Please advise.

  12. Does the cafe latte Krispy have nuts I’m allergic to nuts all nuts

  13. What are the ingredients in caffe latte lollipops?

  14. I have a severe allergy to artificial food coloring. Like yellow red etc. Do you have an ingredients list to your candies.? And if so where would I find it? Thank you Carmen Vasquez

  15. Need ingredients for cinnamon lollypops for 4 yr old Type 1 diabetic
    Need carb factor not calories (80)

  16. Does See’s use the chemical ingredient PGPR?

  17. is cocoa butter an ingredient in your white chocolate

  18. Do you use high frutose corn syrup.? What do you use for a sweetener? Thank

  19. How much caffeine does cocoa powder in Almond Royal have in it.

  20. Are your See’s candy lollipops manufactured in a tree nut free factory? My granddaughter cannot have tree nuts, and if you have grandchildren, you don’t want anything to go wrong on your watch. Thanks, Proud Grandmother

  21. Do Dark chocolate candies have milk in them? I don’t see an answer anywhere. I grew up on Sees Candies and love the chocolates! Thank you.

  22. My daughter is allergic to coconut oil and soy.
    What candy can I buy for her?
    Thanks, jc

  23. Wow. What a great company to be so conscious of these concerns. I wish other companies would do the same! I will definitely choose See’s Candies over other options.

  24. Is it true that all of your candy is now gluten free. My grandaughter has celiac so we need to be very careful. She is newly diagnosed and we are very concerned about cross contamination. Thank you

Post a Comment