Print Print

Hot dogs and sausages: gluten-free and dairy-free list

Posted on May 14th, 2009 by Alison Read 48 Comments - Add Your Own »

aidellssausage1As promised, here is your list of gluten-free and dairy-free hot dogs and sausages. Fire up your grills and enjoy!

Note: This post was written on 5/14/09. Ingredients can change, so always read the label.

Aidells Sausages

Aidells Sausages has many sausages that are gluten-free and dairy-free. They also make a line of organic sausages. Gluten-free products are clearly labeled.

All products are gluten-free EXCEPT: Spicy Mango & Jalapeno Sausage, Teriyaki Meatballs, Spicy Bacon & Bleu Cheese Char-Broilers and Bacon & Cheddar Char-Broilers (these contain soy sauce).

All products are dairy-free EXCEPT: Pesto Sausage, Sun-Dried Tomato & Mozzarella Sausage, Spinach & Feta Sausage, Sun-Dried Tomato & Parmesan Cheese Meatballs, Spicy Bacon & Bleu Cheese Char-Broilers and Bacon & Cheddar Char-Broilers.

Applegate Farms

All of Applegate Farms beef, chicken and turkey hot dogs are gluten-free and dairy-free. All sausages are gluten-free, all are dairy-free except Spinach & Feta flavor.

Ball Park

No statement from Ball Park’s parent company, Sara Lee. You have to read the label. I did notice that they use soy protein, corn starch and MSG in a lot of their franks. Also, if you think you are getting  a turkey dog, watch out — there is beef in it! Basically, stay away from these hot dogs and go for a more natural brand!


This brand of hot dog can be found in northern California. The parent company’s website, Spar Sausage Co., says of their dogs, “SPAR Sausage Company® does not add MSG (monosodium glutamate), fillers, or artificial colors, flavors or ingredients. Our products are also gluten-free.” On the phone they told me that Casper’s hot dogs do contain dairy.

Coleman Natural

Coleman Natural Beef Hot Dogs, Beef-Pork Franks and Bratwurst are gluten-free, dairy-free and soy-free


All sausage from the Diestel Turkey Ranch are gluten-free and dairy-free except Spinach and Feta with Pine Nuts flavor.

Dietz and Watson

Dietz and Watson’s New York Brand Deli Beef Franks, Regular Franks and Regular Weiners and Bratwurst are gluten-free. Fat Free Beef Franks, Gourmet Lite Franks, and Gourmet Lite Beef Franks are NOT gluten-free — one contains hydrolyzed oat flour (weird!) Regular Franks do contain nonfat dry milk and isolated soy protein.


A couple of readers let me know that they love Freybe, located in Canada with some products available in the U.S. According to the Freybe website, “With the exception of our British Bangers, all Freybe meat products are free of glutens.” Regarding dairy: “Cheese Smokies and Parmesano Salami aside, all Freybe products are made without any milk ingredients, making them perfectly suitable for those allergic to milk or milk products.”


Hans All Natural Sausages have many gluten-free and dairy-free varieties of sausage: Chipotle Pepper Chicken Sausage, Mild Italian Chicken Sausage, Organic Breakfast Links Chicken Sausage, Skinless Chicken Breakfast Links, Spicy Andouille Chicken Sausage, Spicy Chorizo Chicken Sausage, Sun-dried Tomato and Basil Chicken Sausage, and Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage. There are some varieties that contain dairy.

Hebrew National

Hebrew National franks are gluten-free and dairy-free except for Franks in a Blanket. They all contain hydrolyzed soy protein.

Hillshire Farms

Just like Ball Park, no statement from Hillshire Farms‘ parent company, Sara Lee. You have to read the label. These use soy protein, corn syrup and MSG in their products.


Jennie-O Turkey Franks and Jumbo Turkey Franks are gluten-free.

Jones Dairy Farm

All of the sausage at Jones Dairy Farm is gluten-free EXCEPT for Scrapple. And even though there is “Dairy” in the company’s name, their products do not contain dairy! More information: Jones Dairy Farms list of gluten-free products.

For the corn-allergic: Some of the packages are coated with a grain-based talc (corn) as a processing aid.

Niman Ranch

Niman Ranch franks and sausages are gluten-free. (confirmed via phone) Hot dogs contain dairy.

Oscar Mayer

Oscar Mayer‘s parent company is Kraft, which has a “policy for all Kraft and Nabisco products to list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statement. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye). Other ingredients that contain gluten are: Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Mir or Farina (also known as Far or Farro).”

So, you need to read the labels. Judging from the ingredient lists of the Oscar Mayer hot dogs I looked at, they are gluten-free and dairy-free with the exception of the ones that are filled with cheese. Of course, be sure to always check.

For the corn-allergic: All of their products contain either corn syrup or corn starch.

Rocky Dogs

Rocky Dogs are chicken hot dogs that are gluten-free, dairy-free and soy-free.


Sabrett Frankfurters are gluten-free. From the label it looks as though they are dairy-free also.


Thumann’s All Natural products, which includes All Natural Pork and Beef Frankfurters, are gluten-free and casein-free. They also state that they have no nitrates or nitrites, no artificial, flavors, colors or preservatives, no fillers, and no MSG.

Trader Joe’s

On Trader Joe’s gluten-free product list, all sausage is listed as gluten-free. Some flavors do contain dairy because they contain cheese.

Wellshire Farms

wellshirefarmssmartchart1Wellshire Farms products display a Smart Chart so you can easily see if it is gluten-free and dairy free. The Chicken Franks, Turkey Franks and Beef Franks are all gluten and dairy-free. You can do a search for all products by allergy, including gluten, casein/dairy, lactose, nuts, corn, soy, pepper, garlic, and mustard.

Related article:
Lunch meat: gluten-free and dairy-free list

Spread the love


  1. Another great list!!! When is the book coming out ? 🙂

  2. Jennie-O Turkey also has gluten-free turkey franks, breakfast sausages and bacon. Everything is clearly labeled on their website (

    Thanks for the lists … I was most happy to find your list of gluten-free blue cheeses!

  3. Michelle,
    Thanks! I forgot about Jennie-O. I will add it to list above!

  4. also Farmer John as well. I contacted them about their bacon (which is also GF!!!!!!) and found that I think all of their products are GF. They have a list on their site. Their bacon is to die for omg.

  5. Farmer John’s bacon has gluten in it! They use soy sauce with wheat in it. Their hot dogs appear to be gluten-free.

  6. Jacqueline just informed me that she received this message from Farmer John:

    “Thank you for contacting us about FARMER JOHN(r) Premium Regular Smoked Bacon. We changed the formulation of our bacon in 2007 to remove the wheat/soybeans.”

    They haven’t updated the ingredients on their website however!

  7. Christ on a Crutch! I forgot my daughter can have hot dogs! Thanks for the list! This is perfect timing for summer. I’m scrambling about five times a day trying to figure out what kinds of snacks and lunches I can throw together. Dinner and breakfast seem to be easy for me, but lunch is where I lack the most imagination. I think my brain is still stuck on sandwiches even though neither one of my daughter have ever eaten one or will even try it.

  8. I am new Dx with gluten-sensitivity. Thanks for the great lists. Don’t forget to make weenie-beanie casseroles! My kids love it and I can eat it. Bush’s Original Baked Beans are GF. I cut up a package of hot dogs, mix it with a couple of cans of beans and bake it in the oven until hot. I serve it with a green salad that my kids love or just with cut up cucumber slices. Kids gobble it up!
    Great for leftovers! Feel free to toss a few strips of bacon on top of that casserole! Enjoy

  9. Wal-Mart brand OF thick sliced bacon is gluten free, says so right on the front of the package and taste great to boot!

  10. Boar’s Head brand hot dogs are also gluten free and delicious!

  11. A great list. One very good all beef hot dog that is missing is Boars head brand and they are GF and Dairy and soy free. My family loves them. You can get them at Publix and some Krogers.

    Thank you,

  12. Another sausage entry (and favorite): Sam’s Club’s Member’s Mark “Spinach Asiago Cheese & Chicken” (‘gluten free’ stated on back of pkg). Their other flavor is not gf.

    I recently tried Benetino’s brand sausages I found at Costco. I see it’s available at Wal-Mart, too: (and I didn’t care for them as much, but that’s just me)

  13. Great site. I was wondering if you know of a beef hot dog of course nitrate and gluten free with no spices, especially garlic.

  14. Thank you for the great info, I am researching GF for my son who has ASD, what a chore, you just helped make it easier!!!

  15. There’s a company called Tanka making buffalo hot dogs now that are gluten free. They make great buffalo cranberry bars too.

  16. Heberw National have modified food starch which has Gluten in it. It is the second ingredient So it isn’t gluten free if my information is right.

  17. Delbert,
    It if says modified food starch but doesn’t specify that it is wheat, than it is NOT wheat. It is corn starch.

  18. Mulay’s Sausage is all-natural, Gluten Free sausage (certified Gluten Free by the Celiac Spruce Association). Our Italian Sausage is 100% Natural Pork that is antibiotic residue free. It does not contain nitrates, msg, soy, sugar, dairy, artificial colors or flavors.

    Sausage comes as either Sausage Links or Ground Sausage. Flavors include: Hot Italian, Mild Italian, Extra Hot Italian, Breakfast Sausage, Chorizo, and Bratwurst.

    Visit us online at to learn more or to order online.

  19. Hello!
    So glad to see more info on gluten-free products.
    My 22 year-old son has been trying to be gluten free about half his life- not easy.
    He has been discovering more turkey and chicken products as he likes to work out and red meat doesn’t make him feel well when consumed often.
    So he found Gwaltney’s 1/4 pounder Chicken Franks. Of course we know its not that great because of the sodium but I would like to know if their “modified food starch” is gluten free? I tried contacting the company in Virginia to find out too!
    thanks so much!

  20. I did not know the sabrett hot dogs are gluten free. My 9 year old is newly dx celiac. We love sabrett & had changed to Oscar Mayer beef hot dogs, but now we’ll go back to sabrett. Thanks for the info.

  21. Love this site, I am new to GF/lactose free and there is so much to learn and so many questions!! Great that so many major co. are doing gfree now, I see Pillsbury and Campbells have joined in too with some items. Wish it was mandatory to put GF in larger print on the front of all pkg.s tho.

  22. Kay,
    There is no current regulation about using the term gluten-free, but the FDA is working on it.

  23. THANKS! I have been looking for such a list. My family tradition has been hot dogs for Sunday supper. When I went gluten free I didn’t know if I could have any hot dogs again. This list gives me lots of options.
    Thanks again!

  24. TJ,
    Glad you can still enjoy your tradition!

  25. do you know if neeses sausage is gf ?

  26. Chris,
    I don’t know. Their contact info is:

  27. Other than Coleman’s, is there a gluten free, dairy free, and soy free Keilbassa hot dog? We were in Whole Foods last night and couldn’t find them.

  28. Anything with MSG is not gluten free because the additive is derived from wheat. Also, nothing with aspartame in it can be guaranteed to be dairy free as that additive is traditionally derived from milk-fed bacteria.

  29. Thank u. New to diet and lived off hot dogs before diagnosed. Haven’t had one since nice to I can. Thanks agin for time u spent to help others

  30. does farmer john classic bacon with blue label with smoked flavoring have soy in it because i have a family member with food allergies to soy or wheat and the package says flavorings but i am not sure if the flavorings are soy because she said they used to make it with that ingridient to make it salty. thanks if anyone knows.

  31. Warning: One of the hot dogs, I think it’s sabaret, has NISIN. This is DAIRY! My son is highly allergic to dairy and I use Boars Head Hot dogs. They specifically state “dairy free” on label. On vacation right now and trying to find another brand…

  32. Applegate Farms processes their hot dogs and sausages on shared equipment. It is processed on equipment that also process wheat, eggs, milk, fish, and shellfish. Even though they state that they thoroughly clean and sanitize their equipment and that they are the first run of the day, there is still risk of contamination. I know this because my son got sick on their hot dogs. He is allergic to milk, eggs, and wheat. Always call the company before consuming their product to see if they use shared equipment, because gluten-free, casein-free, and other “free” terms are not regulated by the FDA. Also the disclaimer “Processed on shared equipment…..” is an optional statement.

  33. Awesome! My son and I can have hotdogs!! How great is that. I’m new at this and figured they were a thing of the past. Hillshire Farms here I come.

  34. Okay,
    So I am 23, a college student, and new to this whole Ciliacs thing. I used to eat hot dogs all of the time and while your list tells me I can to a certain degree, how does one afford this diet? Is there a portion of this website about how to be gluten free affordably?

  35. Thank You Alison, Your list has been very helpful.

  36. My son must go on a GFCF, soy-free, egg-free, malt-free diet. This is a fantastic list and website that I’ll refer to regularly. Thanks for sharing your findings!!

  37. I read jimmy dean fully cooked sausage was gluten free .is this right

  38. Can someone please tell me if Zweigle hots are Gluten free?

  39. Is open nature smoked sausages gluten free ?

  40. A list of the different E numbers that MSG is disguised under (for visitors to Europe): E620 Glutamic acid
    E621 Monosodium glutamate
    E622 Monopotassium glutamate
    E623 Calcium diglutamate
    E624 Monoammonium glutamate
    E625 Magnesium diglutamate
    Hope it helps!

  41. Another one for your list is the brand Lower East Side Kosher. They are gluten free, diary free and kosher. Check them out at

  42. What about Nathan’s? Do their hot dogs or sausages contain casein? I didn’t see it on the list or in the comments.

  43. Would you be kind enough to tell me if you know this? My daughter and I were in Los Angeles and we ate a hot dog at the famous ‘Pinks’ in Hollywood. So they are famous for fixing the hot dogs all different ways. And to be truthful, we did splurge in a few of their fries. That evening we both started feeling symptoms of sinus and sore throat problems. The next day my daughter was bed ridden and extremely sick. We both avoid dairy and she NEVER has dairy because of this. (chronic sore throat etc. all her life) We went over what we ate the last few days and it was all perfectly ‘legal’. But we wondered if the ‘Pinks’ hot dog could have had dairy in it?? Would you please let me know your thoughts on this. Thank you so much. (I would like to get her tested for allergies but don’t know of anyone who knows what they’re doing here on West Coast- and costly for tests (since they don’t accept insurance). I looked up functional doctors and they’re all in middle US. ?? Thanks again.

  44. I am curious if when you say “dairy-free” you include that it is also casein-free.

  45. Are Deutschmacher franks gluten free? Thank you.

  46. I contacted farmer john about their Louisiana Links and they too do not contain soy according to an email they replied to with my inquiry

  47. I contacted BallPark today, the woman i spoke with said the company is regulated by the FDA and is required to state on every package if it contains any of the top 8 allergens. So as long as the package doesnt state it contains dairy it’s okay because they’re legally bound to make allergy statements.

  48. Ballpark hot dogs do not have anything dairy in their ingredients list but they still make me sick (i am super lactose intollerant). I think the “natural flavors” contain a lactose ingredient beacause nothing else on the list should make me ill