Print Print

Allergic to eggs? Watch out for this sorbet…

Posted on May 9th, 2011 by Alison Read 3 Comments - Add Your Own »

I thought all sorbet was safe for my egg-allergic daughter, until we were at my friend Kelly’s house for dinner and discovered otherwise. Kelly had thoughtfully purchased sorbet to serve for dessert, knowing it was gluten-free and dairy-free, and didn’t even think to check the ingredients for eggs. I only looked at the label out of habit, and certainly didn’t expect to find eggs in sorbet either!

chocolate-sorbetSure enough, the Chocolate Sorbet made by Haagen Dazs has egg whites in it! I knew to watch out for Haagen Dazs ice cream — I think every flavor contains egg yolks, but the Chocolate Sorbet is the only sorbet flavor that contains eggs.

If you are looking for chocolate sorbet without eggs, try Ciao Bella Dark Chocolate Sorbet, Double Rainbow Chocolate Sorbet, or Sharon’s Dutch Chocolate Sorbet. Honestly, I think Haagen Dazs is the only sorbet made with eggs.

I love these choices also for dairy-free and egg-free chocolate frozen desserts:
Coconut Bliss Dark Chocolate Bars
So Delicious Organic Minis Fudge Bar

Let this article serve as a reminder to always read labels! (Whew — that was a close one!)

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments

  1. My son’s current favorite is the the Purely Decadent Chocolate Obsession soy “ice cream”. He likes it better than chocolate sorbet.

  2. I was looking for a gelato I could make without eggs and with coconut milk. I came across a web site called SheSimmers. It is Thai Home Cooking. Suggest you also use the Thai brand coconut milk.

    Unfortunately, I gave away my ice cream maker and don’t want to buy another one to try this. Maybe there is a gelato in the market I can use that doesn’t have dairy in it.

    I someone does try this recipe, please post your comments.

    Sandy

  3. Unfortunately, all of the sorbets you list are made on shared equipment with wheat, egg, dairy, and other ingredients with no claims, as I could see, of testing to assure their product is free of those ingredients. My experience has taught me that although this time I may “get away with it,” next time I might get a contaminated container-full from a batch that was made just after a gluten and egg containing batch of something else.

Post a Comment